Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2007, 10:34 AM   #1
Edipus Rex
Junior Member
 
Edipus Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brighton
Posts: 18
Default Odd Insert Edit Behaviour in Edius

If you send the audio from a stereo clip to 2 monaural audio tracks - and then do an insert Edit with audio patched to a different track - it does not insert the audio.

Steps to recreate problem

1. Set up track patching to monaural 1 and Monaural 2
2. In Insert mode attempt an Insert Edit - (In insert mode - using the E Shortcut) Inserting a clip _patched to a different Audio track._
3. Watch as a gap isn't made in audio on the audio tracks - rather missing the point of insert editing.

Is there some setting I'm missing?
Edipus Rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 04:36 PM   #2
GrassValley_MD
Mike Downey... The Jollymon
 
GrassValley_MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lehi, Ut
Posts: 968
Default

If you are not pushing over the audio on the first two tracks with the other audio then it is not giong to push anything over.

Solution?

Set Ripple mode on

That should take care of it.


Mike
GrassValley_MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 04:48 PM   #3
Edipus Rex
Junior Member
 
Edipus Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brighton
Posts: 18
Default

Ripple mode makes no difference. Nor Sync Mode.

More info.
First set up a sequence with one V track and 4 Audio
1. Set up track patching to monaural 1 and monaural 2
(The 2 mono audio tracks stays locked to Video as you would expect)
Then patch the audio to a different track
2. In Insert mode attempt an Insert Edit - (In insert mode - using the E Shortcut) Inserting a clip _patched to a different Audio track._
3. Watch as a gap isn't made in audio on the audio tracks - rather missing the point of insert editing.

The insert works on the video track but not on the audio tracks. Edius is ignoring the fact the Audio and the video are linked. Avid, Liquid and Premiere would not behave like this.

The editor who brought this to my attention works for BBC South East in the UK and he is used to Avid Newscutter. He has excellent reasons why he wants to work in this way.

If you razor the monaureal audio tracks at the insert point it behaves as it should but you should not really have to do this.

Last edited by Edipus Rex; 05-10-2007 at 04:58 PM.
Edipus Rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 06:36 PM   #4
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

The audio insert on mapped tracks works. I have tested this a lot of ways.
Maybe I'm not really getting what is needed.
Can you post a screen grab of what you are trying to achieve?

I have tested this with v track va track on and video insert and audio insert.
It works here.
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 11:40 PM   #5
mavnick
Junior Member
 
mavnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 27
Default Same proble

Strangely enough I am encoutering the same issue as EdipusRex. This just started a couple of weeks ago, unless it was going on and I had not noticed.
mavnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 03:25 AM   #6
GrassValley_MD
Mike Downey... The Jollymon
 
GrassValley_MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lehi, Ut
Posts: 968
Default

Ok... You need to cut the clip and the audio by placing the cursor where you are going to insert the clip and then use the "C" key to cut the clip.

When you insert the video it will ripple now.

The problem you were running into was that you audio was all one clip and so couldn't ripple.

Try using the C key before you insert and I think it will fix your problem :)


Mike
GrassValley_MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 09:16 AM   #7
Edipus Rex
Junior Member
 
Edipus Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brighton
Posts: 18
Default

I know you can cut it, but thats another step when ever you wish to do this sort of edit, and you shouldn't relly have to cut it, should you.
Edipus Rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 10:57 AM   #8
GrassValley_MD
Mike Downey... The Jollymon
 
GrassValley_MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lehi, Ut
Posts: 968
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edipus Rex View Post
I know you can cut it, but thats another step when ever you wish to do this sort of edit, and you shouldn't relly have to cut it, should you.

Well, Since you are telling the computer that you do not want to cut into the original audio it is just doing what you are telling it to do.

Mike
GrassValley_MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.