Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2007, 04:53 AM   #1
3chip
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Victor, Montana
Posts: 98
Default Normalizing Audio

I can't seem to find a way to normalize (keep the same audio level) an entire project. Is there a way to do this in 4.5+?
3chip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 01:21 PM   #2
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Export the audio out to WAV. Then use Sound Forge or some other audio editors to normalise the audio. You will get a much better job that way than to do that within EDIUS.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 11:17 PM   #3
beachside
Member
 
beachside's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Around the bend
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3chip View Post
I can't seem to find a way to normalize (keep the same audio level) an entire project. Is there a way to do this in 4.5+?
Edius does not have a Normalising function built in. The only way it can be done is by using a VST audio plugin. However VST support has always been unstable and unreliable and many users have reported this but it has never been fixed after many years.

Or export the audio to a audio package as has been suggested.
beachside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 11:46 AM   #4
Marc44
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: France - Nantes
Posts: 655
Default

You can use this VST : Classic Master Lmiter
Very helpfull and very low ressources
Perfect and free !

Marc
__________________
System : W7 Ultimate - MB: Asus Z170 - I7 6700K - Ram 16 Go - SSD1 256 Go (OS/log) - SSD2 1To (rushes) - HDD 4To (save) - Nvidia Asus GTX970 - HDspark - Edius WG 9 - Vistitle 2.6 - Robuskey - Mercalli4 - Neat video - Ignite - Hitfilm4Pro - AV : Eset Nod32 - Others : Moniteur Sony 32-EX500 - Cam : Sony EX1-R - 2 x Sony PXW-X70 - 1 x Pana GH5
Edius in France
Marc44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 12:23 PM   #5
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,782
Default

But as has already been pointed out - VST's are unstable in Edius - all the Classic range of great VST's cause very loud clicks on entry to the clip or clips onto which the VST has been applied.

This is probably the longest running and poorest Canopus/ Grass Valley unfixed issue that still remains in Edius. No attemps have been made to fix it, even though Soundsoap VST was bundled with Edius - and fails to work properly - one of the reasons Edius will never compete well with some of the more established NLE's.

Maybe by Edius 6 the VST thing will be sorted, but somehow I don't think audio is considered to be of importance by GV - if it was, it would have been fixed.

Happy New Year All

Paul
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

System 1: Edius 7.5 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX1070Ti Decklink HD Extreme. 3X Sony AX53 Sony AX700

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 12:59 AM   #6
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

I would do all audio outside of Edius in applications such as Audition or Sound Forge.

If you really want to do it in Edius, then you have to do it manually...probably with the mixer window. There are a few other ways as well.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 07:53 AM   #7
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,782
Default

AAF export the audio and video to Vegas 8 pro, and you get the project laid out much the same, easy to do all your audio tweaking that way - very fast to export, and you can have Vegas and Edius open at the same time without problems.

Paul
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

System 1: Edius 7.5 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX1070Ti Decklink HD Extreme. 3X Sony AX53 Sony AX700

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 04:48 PM   #8
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

I can second that.
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 09:39 PM   #9
medeamajic
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: michigan
Posts: 102
Default

I would like to think it would be added by now. Premiere Pro 1.0 had this. Audio is half the equation of video prodcution. It is a simple mouse click with Premiere Pro.
medeamajic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 01:37 PM   #10
johannesj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Iceland
Posts: 471
Default

I hope it will be there some time, soon i hope.


Feature Requests
http://ediusforum.grassvalley.com/fo...ead.php?t=3651
__________________
JoiCam´s
Edit station1: i7 6700K 4 ghz, 32gb ram, Edius 9 Workgroup, Davinci Resolve studio 14.x , 8GB GPU & Intensity Pro 4K
2: 17" Laptop i7 w: Edius 9 Workgroup
3: HPxw8600 dual 3ghz Xeon, STORM 3G, , Edius 7, 32 GB ram.
4: Edius 7, Supermicro x7da8 dual 3ghz Xeon.
Audio: Protools & Nuendo, M-Audio and Presonus interfaces, control surfaces and preamps, dual 3ghz Xeon. 16gb Ram.
Studio monitoring: Mackie 1402-VLZ Pro mixer and Mackie HR824 Spk. Panasonic surround system.
And more
johannesj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the difference between AV12 and Canopus DV and Microsoft DV ? diner19GV ProCoder 5 08-07-2007 06:39 AM
ADVC 110 no audio JSD Prod ADVC 3 08-03-2007 10:48 PM
Background music in EDIUS? tingsern Editing with EDIUS 18 07-19-2007 05:56 PM
No Audio showing on timeline skier-hughes Editing with EDIUS 18 06-08-2007 10:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.