Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2012, 07:11 AM   #1
henry poon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: hong kong
Posts: 161
Default change to SSD

Hi, I am going to change my sys HD to SSD and intall the Edius 6.5 PRO in it, any caution? advice?
henry poon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 07:25 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,927
Default

make sure all other drives are disconnected while installing Windows

make sure Bios is set to AHCI for all available controllers prior to installing Windows

what is your current EDIUS version?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 07:32 AM   #3
henry poon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: hong kong
Posts: 161
Default change to SSD

thx for your prompt advice.
I am using EDIUS 5.5 with canopus card. Win7 pro/CPU i980X/ 24G RAM/ 2G display
henry
henry poon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 07:36 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,927
Default

well, you could create a Win7 Image with the built in tool and then restore onto the SSD (takes 20min all up)

then uninstall EDIUS5 and install 6.5
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 07:42 AM   #5
henry poon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: hong kong
Posts: 161
Default

yes, thx for your smart advice
henry poon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 07:46 AM   #6
henry poon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: hong kong
Posts: 161
Default limlited I/O times?

btw, someone mentioned before that SSD had a limited I/O operation times ( less that 20,000 time?), since the Edius is going to be installed in this SSD, would that be a problem since during editing with Edius, numerous if I/O will be performed?
henry poon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 09:11 AM   #7
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

Do a search on google on setting up SSD Drives for best performance, there is quite a few settings in Windows to change.

Steve
__________________
Main system, Supermicro X8DAH+,Dual Xeon X5680 cpu's 24 cores,2x1400watt power supplys,SC747TG-R1400B-SQ Case,192GB 1333mhz ECC Registered ram,8 x 480GB Intel 520 SSD drives,Windows 7 64 bit ultimate, GTX 670 4GB ,2 x Sony BWU300S Blu-Ray burners, 1x Sony DVD burner,LSI 9266 Raid Controller with Cache vault & fast path Lic, ESI MayaE Audio,HD Spark,Blackmagic intensity Pro,TMPGenc 5,Episode Pro 6,Sorenson 9 Pro,Alcohol 120 V2, Edius 6.53,Dell 27"LCD,HD Spark, Powershield 3000VA UPS.
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 09:35 AM   #8
BillShedoudy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 139
Default

I use an SSD for my system drive. Can't really notice a significant difference as far as Edius is concerned. Where you will see a difference is boot up time and opening certain programs such as Photoshop.
BillShedoudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 02:28 PM   #9
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,554
Default

I go one extra step, that isn't a necessity, but I feel better doing it. I build the system with a mechanical drive. That way, if anything has to be removed and reset, all of that work is done prior to the implementation of the the SSD.
This is when I change certain folders to shortcuts and move the actual storage location off of the C drive and onto wherever I want to store it.
This keeps the writing and re-writing down to a minimum.

I then clone the mechanical drive information to my SSD and I am off and running. As I said, this is just a step that I prefer to do to keep any undue use to a minimum.

As far as drive recommendation, I am an Intel guy all the way. I have two Intel's and I plan on picking up a 240gb version next month.
I did buy a Vertex 4 to put into a machine that is a gift. For my friend, it will be like nothing he has ever used. But I was not overly impressed with the drive, or the support software. The support software is where Intel really shines.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 03:25 PM   #10
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

I agree Jerry the Intel software is great, but does not work through raid controllers, I run 8 520 series 480GB SSD intels in a Raid array and the Intel software doesn't see the drives, waiting for Intel to sought it out which they say is in the near future.

Steve
__________________
Main system, Supermicro X8DAH+,Dual Xeon X5680 cpu's 24 cores,2x1400watt power supplys,SC747TG-R1400B-SQ Case,192GB 1333mhz ECC Registered ram,8 x 480GB Intel 520 SSD drives,Windows 7 64 bit ultimate, GTX 670 4GB ,2 x Sony BWU300S Blu-Ray burners, 1x Sony DVD burner,LSI 9266 Raid Controller with Cache vault & fast path Lic, ESI MayaE Audio,HD Spark,Blackmagic intensity Pro,TMPGenc 5,Episode Pro 6,Sorenson 9 Pro,Alcohol 120 V2, Edius 6.53,Dell 27"LCD,HD Spark, Powershield 3000VA UPS.
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
480GB SSD suggestions? Landon EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 20 11-17-2012 01:18 PM
SSD for video drives burnandreturn EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 3 04-29-2012 09:29 AM
Intel SSD 520 shueardm EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 0 01-24-2012 10:49 PM
SSD hybrid rando EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 12 11-10-2011 01:40 AM
SSD ExpressCards for editing shueardm EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 5 10-17-2010 03:21 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.