Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2009, 06:39 PM   #1
Mark
Senior Member
 
Mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 251
Default "cannot open file, data is invalid" ????

Hi folks.

I've been trying to open a number of my video files that I had downloaded and edited in Edius, but I keep on getting the message - "cannot open file, data is invalid." Does anyone know what I may have done please?

Thanks
Mark
Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 06:53 PM   #2
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

Are these AVI files? Could it be that you lost the codec that is needed to open the files? GSpot would be able to tell you what codec is needed and whether it is installed.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 08:45 PM   #3
Mark
Senior Member
 
Mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 251
Default

Forgive my ignorance, but how does one loose a codec? I have not had this problem before and the last few projects I've downloaded seem to be fine???
Thanks for you help!

Mark
Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 09:16 PM   #4
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

Through a System Restore, missing or corrupted DLL, trialware expiration, or any number of other causes.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 12:21 AM   #5
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark View Post
Hi folks.

I've been trying to open a number of my video files that I had downloaded and edited in Edius, but I keep on getting the message - "cannot open file, data is invalid." Does anyone know what I may have done please?

Thanks
Mark
if you accidentally select an audio waveform file alongside the video, you will get the above error

this is why waveform files should never be stored in the folder that stores video, but this is how Edius works
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 11:02 AM   #6
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,713
Default

And if you have your windows set to not show file extensions (which windows does as a default) you will see in windows explorer:
clip01
clip01.avi.

So you automatically clip on the thing that says avi. When in fact the files are:

clip01.avi (the video)
clip01.avi.ewc - the waveform cache.

So very easy to confuse.
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 02:31 PM   #7
johnsirb
Senior Member
 
johnsirb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 326
Default

I'm running into this same problem with files on a drive the somehow got it's MFT messed up. a data recovery on the drive only resulted in a 15% recovery and a number of files that display this error.

would a reinstall of Edius possibly correct some of the issues?
__________________
John Sirb
Lake Breeze Video Lorain,OH
--------------------
SYS 1: Edius 9, Vistitle 2.5, Boris Red,Neat Video, Gigabyte Z170x G5, I7 6700K 4.0Mz Skylake, G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB x2, NVIDIA QUARTO 2000



JVC HM-100,JVC HM-700, JVC HM-600, Canon 80D
johnsirb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 06:29 PM   #8
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

If your drive had its MFT demolished, it's highly unlikely that a reinstall of EDIUS will do anything to change things as the files are corrupt on the filesystem itself.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 07:15 PM   #9
johnsirb
Senior Member
 
johnsirb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 326
Default

Thanks Brandon
figured I ask since I've never seen that error before this. stange thing is some older (6mos.) M2T files would play but zero HQ files.
this one was stumping the Data recovery guys

john
__________________
John Sirb
Lake Breeze Video Lorain,OH
--------------------
SYS 1: Edius 9, Vistitle 2.5, Boris Red,Neat Video, Gigabyte Z170x G5, I7 6700K 4.0Mz Skylake, G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB x2, NVIDIA QUARTO 2000



JVC HM-100,JVC HM-700, JVC HM-600, Canon 80D
johnsirb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:56 PM   #10
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

I'd load EDIUS Demo on another rmachine and see if any of the HQ files work there. If they do, then it's something messed up with the HQ codec on the machine in question.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EDL CMX3600 problem with TIFF file open button greyed out ciptamutu Editing with EDIUS 16 04-05-2009 07:58 AM
No Data in AC3 File Bob Nilsen ProCoder 6 03-05-2008 01:47 AM
What this ? "DV Reader: file fomat invalid" vincej ProCoder 17 06-15-2007 10:11 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.