Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2019, 09:34 PM   #1
kt1709
Junior Member
 
kt1709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 10
Default Video Clip Transition not Working with V 9.51.5532

Before I upgraded, I highlighted two clips, pressed Ctrl-P and the Video transition worked fine (i.e. I got a 1-second Dissolve between the two clips - Default Video transition). See attachment labeled Pre Update.PNG. Since the upgrade, I am getting a Fade-In on the Mix track only on the 2nd clip, but no transition on the Video track or Fade-Out on the 1st clip. See attachment labeled Post Update.PNG. Additionally, I can delete the final frame on the 1st clip, and the transition works properly. Anyone else seeing this same issue?
Attached Images
File Type: png Pre Update.png (29.9 KB, 22 views)
File Type: png Post Update.png (33.1 KB, 22 views)
__________________
Tim

EDIUS 9.51.5532
OS: Windows 10 (Build 1909)
Processor: Intel i9-9900K 3.6 GHz (10.0.18362.387)
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 Designware
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB
Graphics: Intel UHD 630 (26.20.100.7262)
Capture: Blackmagicdesign Intensity Pro 4K (10.11.4.0)
CDR: Pioneer Internal Blu-ray Burner BDR-2209
Storage: Samsung SSD 970 PRO 512GB, Samsung 970 EVO SSD 1TB, 2 Swappable Samsung SSD 860 EVO 2.5TB
kt1709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 04:19 AM   #2
Tobe
Senior Member
 
Tobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Glenford, NY
Posts: 991
Default

In the 2nd file I see the two clips meet at the end frame of clip one and the beginning frame of clip two. You need to make room on the clips for the effect to take place. Trim back from end of clip one by 1/2 second and trim in to beginning of 2nd clip by 1/2 second and you'll have room for a 1 second dissolve.
__________________
Documentaries and Art Projects
Hudson Valley, NY

i7 8700K @ 3.70 Ghz/16 gb RAM
windows 10
284 gb SSD boot drive
1 TB work disc
2TB storage disc
EDIUS 9.31
Many external project hard drives
Tobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 01:30 PM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,207
Default

or without trimming, you can go to application settings and disable the option as seen in attached
Attached Images
File Type: png Anton-00258.png (21.7 KB, 34 views)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 870 Pro NVMe M.2 for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 02:43 PM   #4
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
or without trimming, you can go to application settings and disable the option as seen in attached
I suspect your's is kept ticked Anton?
I have never unticked that as it can "screw up" other tracks further down the timeline. If you are only working on one track then it is not an issue but that is a big NEVER for me. I guess it is down to the type of projects you work on.
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 06:33 PM   #5
kt1709
Junior Member
 
kt1709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 10
Default Problem solved.

The "extend clips" (among other settings) got changed in the upgrade. Appreciate all the help, folks.
__________________
Tim

EDIUS 9.51.5532
OS: Windows 10 (Build 1909)
Processor: Intel i9-9900K 3.6 GHz (10.0.18362.387)
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 Designware
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB
Graphics: Intel UHD 630 (26.20.100.7262)
Capture: Blackmagicdesign Intensity Pro 4K (10.11.4.0)
CDR: Pioneer Internal Blu-ray Burner BDR-2209
Storage: Samsung SSD 970 PRO 512GB, Samsung 970 EVO SSD 1TB, 2 Swappable Samsung SSD 860 EVO 2.5TB
kt1709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 09:40 PM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,207
Default

yes, mine is always ticked because I never use untrimmed clips, I am from old school where the camera rolls for a few seconds before the desired action starts and keeps rolling for a few seconds after it ends
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 870 Pro NVMe M.2 for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 07:14 AM   #7
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
yes, mine is always ticked because I never use untrimmed clips, I am from old school where the camera rolls for a few seconds before the desired action starts and keeps rolling for a few seconds after it ends
Old school is better. You don't let dumb computers do your thinking for you.

I'm old school too in this regard.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 9.51.5532 and Blackmagic Intensity Pro panosole EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 7 12-02-2019 07:12 PM
Edius 9.51.5532 GrassValley_SL Editing with EDIUS 1 11-19-2019 11:59 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.