Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2016, 07:49 PM   #11
Roland Schulz
Senior Member
 
Roland Schulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 232
Default

Anyone else also using a DJI Phantom 4 Pro now?!
This codec drives me crazy, clunky like a rotten, broken motorbike!!!
In proxy mode without generating proxies the performance is a little better, but still night and day to comparable 25p/UHD/100Mbps Sony or Panasonic recordings.
Still wondering if it´s an EDIUS problem or if the DJI codec is s***. EDIUS even freezes and crashes sometimes!
I never had such strange problems with recordings from my P3 Pro before.

Wonder if I´m the only one who uses this combination, the DJI copters themselves are quite popular, but the P4 Pro now seems to have a new SoC for video compression (should be Ambarella H2).
__________________
Intel i9 9900K@5.0GHz/XPX LC, ASUS MAXIMUS HERO X Z370, 32GB RAM, Samsung 850PRO 512GB/850EVO 1TB, 18TB RAID1/10, EVGA GTX1070 FTM, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, EIZO CG276, EIZO CS240, SONY KD-65ZD9, SONY PXW-X70(4K), SONY a6500, SONY RX100M5a, 2x SONY FDR-X1000, SONY FDR-AX53, DMC-LX100, GoPro HERO6, 2x GoPro HERO7 Black and HERO5 Session, DJI Ronin-S, MOZA Air Gimbal, Nikon D4, DJI, Mavic 2 Pro, DJI Phantom 4 Pro
EDIUS 9.3WG, NB Titler Pro 5, Neat Video, NB FX, Adobe CC2018

Last edited by Roland Schulz; 12-29-2016 at 08:06 PM.
Roland Schulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 12:24 AM   #12
Roland Schulz
Senior Member
 
Roland Schulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 232
Default

Things are becoming worse - even EDIUS proxy files contain some blank frames (white in editor, green on the IP4K) "sometimes". After deleting a proxy of one file and generating it again it´s ok... curious!!
__________________
Intel i9 9900K@5.0GHz/XPX LC, ASUS MAXIMUS HERO X Z370, 32GB RAM, Samsung 850PRO 512GB/850EVO 1TB, 18TB RAID1/10, EVGA GTX1070 FTM, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, EIZO CG276, EIZO CS240, SONY KD-65ZD9, SONY PXW-X70(4K), SONY a6500, SONY RX100M5a, 2x SONY FDR-X1000, SONY FDR-AX53, DMC-LX100, GoPro HERO6, 2x GoPro HERO7 Black and HERO5 Session, DJI Ronin-S, MOZA Air Gimbal, Nikon D4, DJI, Mavic 2 Pro, DJI Phantom 4 Pro
EDIUS 9.3WG, NB Titler Pro 5, Neat Video, NB FX, Adobe CC2018
Roland Schulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 08:54 PM   #13
Victor237
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Uccle
Posts: 8
Default

Sorry for my English ;-) I've read somewhere there is an issue with the codec h264 from the video of the DJI Phantom or Inspire somewhat little pulsing of flickering. Perhaps it's caused by codec created by DJI, not the standard.
Try to convert your rushes from Dji movies in Grass Valley HQ codec in your timeline.
Victor237 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 09:29 PM   #14
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

I understand the DJI codec is problematic on all edit platforms.
Have you tried converting to GV-HQX?
Perhaps your only saving grace.
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 11:27 AM   #15
Roland Schulz
Senior Member
 
Roland Schulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 232
Default

The DJI/Ambarella codec, including the older ones from the Phantom 3... seem a bit "complicated", but, if I let EDIUS generate proxys (without parrallel editing!!), work with them and render the final clip everything is ok without glitches.
Only editing with the native files gives problems I do not have with other vendors clips, non smooth timeline playback and even freezes and crashes of EDIUS.
I'm there that the codec "may" be not perfect, but why are there only problems while editing and not in the final rendered clip?

Maybe there's something wrong also in EDIUS, maybe there has happened a "debugging" and optimizing for more popular clips like from Sony and Panasonic before but not for Ambarella/DJI yet. Maybe GV could have another look in this to fix this problem. These DJI copters are quite popular these days...
__________________
Intel i9 9900K@5.0GHz/XPX LC, ASUS MAXIMUS HERO X Z370, 32GB RAM, Samsung 850PRO 512GB/850EVO 1TB, 18TB RAID1/10, EVGA GTX1070 FTM, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, EIZO CG276, EIZO CS240, SONY KD-65ZD9, SONY PXW-X70(4K), SONY a6500, SONY RX100M5a, 2x SONY FDR-X1000, SONY FDR-AX53, DMC-LX100, GoPro HERO6, 2x GoPro HERO7 Black and HERO5 Session, DJI Ronin-S, MOZA Air Gimbal, Nikon D4, DJI, Mavic 2 Pro, DJI Phantom 4 Pro
EDIUS 9.3WG, NB Titler Pro 5, Neat Video, NB FX, Adobe CC2018

Last edited by Roland Schulz; 01-01-2017 at 11:36 AM.
Roland Schulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 12:40 AM   #16
Roland Schulz
Senior Member
 
Roland Schulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by More4K View Post
It's more likely DJI streams than Edius AVC decoder.
Yes, it seems to be somewhat "different". But why are there only problems in editing performance and not in the final rendered clip?!
__________________
Intel i9 9900K@5.0GHz/XPX LC, ASUS MAXIMUS HERO X Z370, 32GB RAM, Samsung 850PRO 512GB/850EVO 1TB, 18TB RAID1/10, EVGA GTX1070 FTM, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, EIZO CG276, EIZO CS240, SONY KD-65ZD9, SONY PXW-X70(4K), SONY a6500, SONY RX100M5a, 2x SONY FDR-X1000, SONY FDR-AX53, DMC-LX100, GoPro HERO6, 2x GoPro HERO7 Black and HERO5 Session, DJI Ronin-S, MOZA Air Gimbal, Nikon D4, DJI, Mavic 2 Pro, DJI Phantom 4 Pro
EDIUS 9.3WG, NB Titler Pro 5, Neat Video, NB FX, Adobe CC2018
Roland Schulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 02:13 PM   #17
AlbertGS
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Africa
Posts: 39
Default

Hi Roland,
I'm getting a Mavic Pro and have heard similar complaints before.
What does MediaInfo say?
What are your Mavic settings? Codec should be H.264 mp4 AVC.
Thanks,
Al
AlbertGS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 08:07 PM   #18
X-trem production
Senior Member
 
X-trem production's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austria
Posts: 205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roland Schulz View Post
The DJI/Ambarella codec, including the older ones from the Phantom 3... seem a bit "complicated", but, if I let EDIUS generate proxys (without parrallel editing!!), work with them and render the final clip everything is ok without glitches.
Only editing with the native files gives problems I do not have with other vendors clips, non smooth timeline playback and even freezes and crashes of EDIUS.
I'm there that the codec "may" be not perfect, but why are there only problems while editing and not in the final rendered clip?

Maybe there's something wrong also in EDIUS, maybe there has happened a "debugging" and optimizing for more popular clips like from Sony and Panasonic before but not for Ambarella/DJI yet. Maybe GV could have another look in this to fix this problem. These DJI copters are quite popular these days...

Roland, I am using Phantom 3 pro files without any problems in Edius 8.2 the last month. I updated now to Edius 8.31 (today) and checked the Phantom 3 files. Works also here for me. Maybe this Information helps you a Little bit.

Werner
__________________
Werner Weißböck
[SIZE="2"]X-trem production, Austria
X-trem production is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 11:07 PM   #19
Roland Schulz
Senior Member
 
Roland Schulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 232
Default

Hi Werner,
also had a P3 Pro before with only few issues. Editing also was not that smooth as with Sony or Panasonic stuff but MUCH better than with files from the P4 Pro.
The curious thing is, that while editing with the original files performance becomes clunky with even freezes and crashes sometimes. Letting the system generate proxies without interacting or rendering the final clip shows no problems. So I see some problems on both sides optimizing their en- or decoders.

Where may I send some testfiles to at GV?! I remember I also had some problems some time ago and searched for hell to find a contact form.
__________________
Intel i9 9900K@5.0GHz/XPX LC, ASUS MAXIMUS HERO X Z370, 32GB RAM, Samsung 850PRO 512GB/850EVO 1TB, 18TB RAID1/10, EVGA GTX1070 FTM, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, EIZO CG276, EIZO CS240, SONY KD-65ZD9, SONY PXW-X70(4K), SONY a6500, SONY RX100M5a, 2x SONY FDR-X1000, SONY FDR-AX53, DMC-LX100, GoPro HERO6, 2x GoPro HERO7 Black and HERO5 Session, DJI Ronin-S, MOZA Air Gimbal, Nikon D4, DJI, Mavic 2 Pro, DJI Phantom 4 Pro
EDIUS 9.3WG, NB Titler Pro 5, Neat Video, NB FX, Adobe CC2018
Roland Schulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 11:09 PM   #20
Roland Schulz
Senior Member
 
Roland Schulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbertGS View Post
Hi Roland,
I'm getting a Mavic Pro and have heard similar complaints before.
What does MediaInfo say?
What are your Mavic settings? Codec should be H.264 mp4 AVC.
Thanks,
Al
I have a P4 Pro, not the Mavic and use H.264 in mp4 containers at UHD/25p/100Mbps.
__________________
Intel i9 9900K@5.0GHz/XPX LC, ASUS MAXIMUS HERO X Z370, 32GB RAM, Samsung 850PRO 512GB/850EVO 1TB, 18TB RAID1/10, EVGA GTX1070 FTM, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, EIZO CG276, EIZO CS240, SONY KD-65ZD9, SONY PXW-X70(4K), SONY a6500, SONY RX100M5a, 2x SONY FDR-X1000, SONY FDR-AX53, DMC-LX100, GoPro HERO6, 2x GoPro HERO7 Black and HERO5 Session, DJI Ronin-S, MOZA Air Gimbal, Nikon D4, DJI, Mavic 2 Pro, DJI Phantom 4 Pro
EDIUS 9.3WG, NB Titler Pro 5, Neat Video, NB FX, Adobe CC2018
Roland Schulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
movie look for Gimbal / DJI Osmo Captain Editing with EDIUS 0 11-01-2016 11:55 AM
DJI aliasing when played in Edius 8 ph19 Editing with EDIUS 21 07-11-2016 04:09 AM
DJI Osmos in Edius 8 Johann Editing with EDIUS 19 01-18-2016 09:32 PM
Phantom Audio Tracks DigitalDave Editing with EDIUS 3 09-28-2014 08:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.