Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2018, 02:00 PM   #11
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassman View Post
Must be that AMD chip causing all of the issues! :)
I hope not :), with windows 7 you at least could turn off updates but with win 10 you can only delay.
__________________
Threadripper 1950x 10% overclocked, Edius 8+9, Asus PRIME X399-A, 32GB 3200-16 Vengeance LPX running @ 3200mhz, Palit 6GB GTX 1060 StormX, Enermax LiqTech TR4 240 watercooling, Antec EDGE 750 powersupply, Intensity pro 4K, 250GB 960 EVO for OS, 1TB 960 EVO and 6TB WD black drive for editing, Fractal D. Define XL R2 case, win 10 pro and a Steinberg ur22mkII audio interface with rokit5 krk studiomonitors
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 02:03 PM   #12
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,237
Default

Yes, the overlords have set the course for our computing. I just ask that they are kind to us.
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.6GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX670 - Edius 8.5WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 02:06 PM   #13
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 10,625
Default

I don't tweak Windows 10 using Windows. I use UWT4.
I can disable the downloading of the updates which basically takes care of it for me. I do however, have them still active.
It's all in learning the OS and how to tweak it.
Disable Windows Update Downloads.png
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro (v.1607) Tweaks for Edius 8 users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20v.1.5.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2017, GTX 980ti Classified.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 780, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 02:25 PM   #14
bobbyd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 341
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noafilm View Post
I figured it out, I found a similar problem in this forum where it was adviced to make a new administrator account which I just did and now I can open my projects again but all my configurations are gone, not only in Edius (which I can recover) but any windws tweaks are gone as well, sigh, I hate windows 10...
There is a program out there you can buy it's called "windows 10 update blocker". Do a search.
bobbyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 09:24 AM   #15
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,272
Default

When ever I get permissions problems I use the attached registry change. You install it and in Windows explorer you get an extra option on a right click "take ownership". You can do it to a folder or a file. It changes the permissions so you own the file.

If you get back in this situation again you could try this and see if it works. For me I have mainly had to use it after reinstalling from scratch.

I have not had the problem with Windows update that you have. Did you just let Windows update do it or download an ISO and install it manually?

Do you have a Microsoft account or a local one? On most of my machines I have a Microsoft account and that saves a lot of settings which is why I have maybe not had this problem. MS is getting quite "aggressive" about you having a Microsoft account in the latest update I have noticed.

The other annoying thing is that on install you can say no to practically every thing except the last question of "do you want to send info to Microsoft" to which you can only say "send everything" or "send basic stuff"
Attached Files
File Type: zip TakeOwnership.zip (622 Bytes, 3 views)
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 3.7Ghz Coffee Lake processor, 32GB RAM, ATI 7800 GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:14 AM   #16
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 503
Default

Thx, will try these suggestions, for the meantime I have posponed updates for a month which you can set in windows 10 pro so I can finish my current projects.

The microsoft account I had was a local one so that might have caused the issue, I just let windows do the update when I got the message that a new update was ready to be installed.
__________________
Threadripper 1950x 10% overclocked, Edius 8+9, Asus PRIME X399-A, 32GB 3200-16 Vengeance LPX running @ 3200mhz, Palit 6GB GTX 1060 StormX, Enermax LiqTech TR4 240 watercooling, Antec EDGE 750 powersupply, Intensity pro 4K, 250GB 960 EVO for OS, 1TB 960 EVO and 6TB WD black drive for editing, Fractal D. Define XL R2 case, win 10 pro and a Steinberg ur22mkII audio interface with rokit5 krk studiomonitors
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:12 AM   #17
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,272
Default

I did upgrade one machine with a personal account and it did not have this problem for me either. Putting off the update and finish project is definitely the best idea.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 3.7Ghz Coffee Lake processor, 32GB RAM, ATI 7800 GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putting a shortcut into the Open Projects sidebar? Kboren Editing with EDIUS 3 01-11-2018 07:39 PM
Edius 6 won't open projects tdadvertising Editing with EDIUS 7 04-11-2016 01:14 AM
not open Edius 5 projects into 6.3 Jony Editing with EDIUS 0 07-20-2013 06:39 AM
Open not finished projects from 4.6 in 5 pehrbau Editing with EDIUS 7 09-19-2008 07:16 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.