Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2007, 12:28 PM   #1
pehrbau
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Skanoer, Sweden
Posts: 83
Default Edius Pro versus Avid Media Composer

Does anybody have any idea how the Layout tool in Edius Pro 4 measures up against that of Avid. I mean the immage quality loss in a software conversion from 4:3 to 16:9 using full width (picture gain of 133%).

I am aware of possible copyright issues and immage compostion issues.
__________________
Peter
Skanoer, Sweden

Edius Pro 8, Imaginate 2, Intel i7 950 , 12GB DDR3, 5 TB, Windows Pro 10 Creative, 64bit, Encore CS5
pehrbau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 04:46 PM   #2
Khoi Pham
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,071
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pehrbau View Post
Does anybody have any idea how the Layout tool in Edius Pro 4 measures up against that of Avid. I mean the immage quality loss in a software conversion from 4:3 to 16:9 using full width (picture gain of 133%).

I am aware of possible copyright issues and immage compostion issues.

Don't know what the Avid would look like, but with Edius to me it is not good, I recently have to fix a video for a client where they shoot 1 camera in 16:9 and the other in 4:3 and when you go back and forth between the 2 camera you see a big drop in quality, I told my client about it but they still want 16:9 and so I did it but they are perfectly happy with it, so I guess to us it is not good but in the eyes of the consumer it is ok.
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 09:39 AM   #3
biopic
Senior Member
 
biopic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pehrbau View Post
Does anybody have any idea how the Layout tool in Edius Pro 4 measures up against that of Avid.
I can't say I have done a side-by-side comparison with the same material on both systems, but in using both I don't get the feeling that one is any worse than the other. Like you said, you are zooming up the 4:3 source material to 16:9 and the image quality is bound to degrade whatever software you use. There are interpolating techniques that attempt to clean up the picture, but these are really intended for stills, and would probably introduce other nasty artefacts with video.
__________________
Andrew Pinder
www.wideangles.tv
Edius 6.07 with SP/HDV Hardware; Windows 7 (64 bit Pro)
Supermicro X8SAX, i7-950 CPU, 12GB RAM
BFG Nvidia GeF 9600GT graphics, RME Fireface800 audio,
SATA RAID
biopic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 09:58 AM   #4
pehrbau
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Skanoer, Sweden
Posts: 83
Default

Thank you for response.
I guess DV25 (PAL) is too poor to use as source for this. Pity though as I have over a hundred cassettes with source material that cannot be used unless it is displayed with black boarders on each side or perhaps with some other kind of frame.
__________________
Peter
Skanoer, Sweden

Edius Pro 8, Imaginate 2, Intel i7 950 , 12GB DDR3, 5 TB, Windows Pro 10 Creative, 64bit, Encore CS5
pehrbau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 10:05 AM   #5
biopic
Senior Member
 
biopic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 160
Default

There are a few tricks that are often used that might be appropriate for you.
You could zoom to 14:9 and have thinner black borders on either side (this is what the BBC does with its analogue transmissions). Alternatively you could zoom to 14:9 and then horizontally stretch to 16:9 if you see what I mean. This is a bit of a compromise: the picture will be slightly anamorphic, but depending on the subject it may not be noticeable.
__________________
Andrew Pinder
www.wideangles.tv
Edius 6.07 with SP/HDV Hardware; Windows 7 (64 bit Pro)
Supermicro X8SAX, i7-950 CPU, 12GB RAM
BFG Nvidia GeF 9600GT graphics, RME Fireface800 audio,
SATA RAID
biopic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 03:31 AM   #6
jeauk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London
Posts: 11
Default

i have same problem i am editing wedding video where they shoot 1 camera in 16:9 and the other in 4:3 how to slove this probelm? i am new to edius .

thanx
jeauk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 04:42 AM   #7
Khoi Pham
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,071
Default

Highlight your clip and hit Alt+L, (layout tool) then click on preset and choose fit width, this will zoom in to fit the width of 16:9, you will lose some quality, another way is not to fit width but change the transparancy in the Fill color box to 0 %, this will gives you black bars on the side, if you don't want black bar, put this clip above a 16X9 graphic or the same clip but with the clip below do use fit width and add soft blur to it that clip, this will give you soft blur on the edge instead of black bars.
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 08:19 PM   #8
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Layout is F7 is you're in v4... Alt-L is lock.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 09:11 PM   #9
Khoi Pham
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,071
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_BH View Post
Layout is F7 is you're in v4... Alt-L is lock.

Oh yeah forgot about that, I change it back cuz I don't like you guys keep changing shortcut on me.
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 09:29 PM   #10
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khoi Pham View Post
Oh yeah forgot about that, I change it back cuz I don't like you guys keep changing shortcut on me.
Trust me, I don't like it either. The first demo of EDIUS v4.0, I kept thinking I locked it up.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem with Edius DVX and edius pro 3.6. bahar Editing with EDIUS 1 01-03-2008 05:25 PM
Edius NX Express VS Avid Express Pro with MOJO manbart Editing with EDIUS 3 10-03-2007 05:27 PM
Edius 4.5X or PRE PRO 2X Imagine Video Editing with EDIUS 4 09-24-2007 02:46 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.