Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2020, 10:54 AM   #1
Olaf
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands (UK) (pal)
Posts: 131
Default Re-installing Edius

I'm going to try and keep this as brief as possible:

I had a HP z800 machine - windows 7 (because I used Avid MC).
I think this history is correct:
I bought Edius 5 - still have the disc and serial number (think this also has usb fob....which I still have)
I then bought upgrade - Edius 6 - still have disc and serial number.
I think I recall some 'issues' about the serial number and it not working but anyway, David Clark (from whom I purchased) resolved everything.
I then think I did upgrades by downloading upgrades - can't remember. But, I got to Edius 8 something or other.

My Z800 refused to work. I tried replacing the power unit and other things. No joy. Would not boot. Then there was a bang and a flash...very dramatic.

So, I now have another z800. This has windows 10. I have all my old drives from the old z800 including the 'c' drive on which Edius and all other program files are stored.

I tried loading Edius on the new machine. I started with 5, upgraded to 6...but at this point it says I only have 30 days in which to use it and I must insert the usb key. I never had to do that? Anyway, I only have one usb key and that's for E5 I think??? So, I uninstalled.

Then I inserted by old C drive and tried to run Edius 8 from that. I just get messages like, d3dx9_43.dll not found.

My serial numbers are logged on Edius ...but I'm just stuck. Why can't I get Edius to run off that old C drive?

Can anyone help?
__________________
Edius 8 / Avid Media Composer 5
HP Z800 Workstation
Intel Xeon x5675 6 Core @ 3.07Ghz
176GB Ram
nVidia Quadro K4200 4gb
HP DVD writer
LG Bluray writer
WD Internal HD @ 4TB (x4)
Lacie External HD @ 500GB (x3)
Win 10
Olaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 04:06 PM   #2
Olaf
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands (UK) (pal)
Posts: 131
Default

UPDATE....

I have managed to actually re-install Edius and it's working!!!
__________________
Edius 8 / Avid Media Composer 5
HP Z800 Workstation
Intel Xeon x5675 6 Core @ 3.07Ghz
176GB Ram
nVidia Quadro K4200 4gb
HP DVD writer
LG Bluray writer
WD Internal HD @ 4TB (x4)
Lacie External HD @ 500GB (x3)
Win 10
Olaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing intensity pro 4k after installing edius 9 noafilm EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 8 11-30-2017 01:26 PM
Installing Edius 7 matlock Editing with EDIUS 17 08-10-2015 01:05 PM
Installing Edius 8 owens Editing with EDIUS 1 07-04-2015 02:05 PM
Installing Edius 5 chris19347 Editing with EDIUS 6 09-07-2010 08:52 AM
Installing Edius 4 then next Ingwe Editing with EDIUS 2 10-12-2007 05:18 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.