Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2020, 03:13 PM   #21
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,703
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
the reason for this failure is an old one that has been reported since EDIUS7

your file is 704x576 instead of 720x576, install mediainfo, it will give you the real facts

I reported this issue a long time ago because EDIUS fails to open mpeg files created by standalone DVD recorders or Settop boxes, because many of these also record 704x576 such as Panasonic DMR20
I don't agree with that point Anton. It may have been an issue years ago, but doesn't seem to be the issue here. The re-wrap I did using Xmedia Recode, did not change the resolution of the file, just wrote a new wrapper, and that file imported fine. The resolution before and after re-wrap are both 704 x 576.

Because it was just a re-wrap I did, all audio and video content and attributes remain unchanged. It is just the container/wrapper that has changed.

A re-wrap is also very fast, since there is no transcoding happening, just a stream copy.
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.5886, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).

Last edited by BernH; 03-29-2020 at 05:32 PM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 12:45 AM   #22
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
I don't agree with that point Anton. It may have been an issue years ago, but doesn't seem to be the issue here. The re-wrap I did using Xmedia Recode, did not change the resolution of the file, just wrote a new wrapper, and that file imported fine. The resolution before and after re-wrap are both 704 x 576.

Because it was just a re-wrap I did, all audio and video content and attributes remain unchanged. It is just the container/wrapper that has changed.

A re-reap is also very fast, since there is no transcoding happening, just a stream copy.
in that case, EDIUS is a bit too fussy, because if media players can play the file, so should EDIUS
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro

Last edited by antonsvideo; 03-29-2020 at 02:05 AM.
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 01:46 AM   #23
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
in that case, EDIUS is a bit to fussy, because if media players can play the file, so should EDIUS
Tend to agree with Anton. Nero will play it, VLC will play it, Window Media Player, even Sound Forge will open and play it ( picture and sound ). Seems just the so called Pro NLE's other than Vegas will not play it.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 02:05 AM   #24
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,599
Default

I can confirm that doing a direct mpeg2 copy in xmedia recode solves the issue and it only takes 1 sec to process this 30 sec file

quality is unchanged of course
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 03:18 AM   #25
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,703
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
Tend to agree with Anton. Nero will play it, VLC will play it, Window Media Player, even Sound Forge will open and play it ( picture and sound ). Seems just the so called Pro NLE's other than Vegas will not play it.
I donít disagree that edius should play it, but it doesnít. I can also say the same for premiere and resolve as per Jerryís post above. That said, one thing to keep in mind is that many media players are consumer grade products, while edius, premiere, resolve, media composer, etc. are professional products, and as such are probably being stricter about container matadata than a consumer player. Vegas seems to be the exception based on Ronís observations.

The differential between pro and consumer is not a new thing. Just think back to something like VHS vs. Betacam. Both can receive and output a composite video signal, but the betacam is a lot stricter on the quality of the input signal, sync pulse shape and width, etc. I know we are not talking about decks, but I just wanted to point out that the pro/consumer difference is not new, and you canít assume that just because the consumer product does something that a pro product should also do it.
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.5886, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 03:39 AM   #26
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,166
Default

Yes I understand BernH. I would accept that exported files should be to the spec for the pro systems but reading them is different in my mind. I too verified that Adobe and Resolve in particular does not even see the file for import. So playing it is out of the question if it can't even see it in the file list. EDIUS claim of editing anything becomes a little weak when free programs can see and play the file as well as audio editing programs like Sound Forge. A good reason to have more than one tool in your tool box.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 05:37 AM   #27
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,703
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
Yes I understand BernH. I would accept that exported files should be to the spec for the pro systems but reading them is different in my mind. I too verified that Adobe and Resolve in particular does not even see the file for import. So playing it is out of the question if it can't even see it in the file list. EDIUS claim of editing anything becomes a little weak when free programs can see and play the file as well as audio editing programs like Sound Forge. A good reason to have more than one tool in your tool box.
Yes, more than one tool is important, and understanding the difference between containers and codecs, and understanding how to rewrap is important also, as I think I have illustrated here.

For what it's worth, I have encountered similar issues before, particularly with files made by this kind of off-brand hardware recorder or camera, and I have encountered it on systems a lot more expensive than Edius, Premiere, Resolve, Media Composer, Vegas, etc. (By more expensive, I mean $120k+ just for the software, let alone the hardware to run it on)

One other point to throw out there is that playing a file and editing a file are not necessarily the same thing. I agree that the edit anything slogan is not factual when looked at in context of files like this, but personally, I never take a slogan as gospel.

A lot of straight up players look to the container to get the codec ID, but then simply ignore the container since the rest of the container data is not needed for playback, and just proceed to decode the media stream. Depending on the metadata in the container and what the editor is looking for, the editor may need to continue to reference it for timecode, or other ancillary data streams like closed captions, and AFD flags, that a lot of players don't decode, so for an editor, a container that adheres to a standard configuration is very important.
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.5886, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).

Last edited by BernH; 03-29-2020 at 05:31 PM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 08:24 AM   #28
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 470
Default

I have AVS video converter to resolved these type of videosso I can play/edit on edius.
I have 2 pvr's, an akai pvr which I can play the files on edius. the other is pvr built into the teac tv. and I have to convert those files.
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 05:09 PM   #29
Thor
Senior Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 798
Default

FWIW, the sample file clip would not open in Edius 6, either.

Procoder 3.0 opened it, and easily transcoded it into a standard PAL mpeg 2 file, as well as a NTSC standard file.

Edius 6 then opened it.

Cheers!
__________________
Regards,

Jon

#1: Iwill DK8N, 2 x 270 Opterons, 2 Gb RAM, WinXPPro-32, Edius 5.51, NX PCI-X & HDV Expansion, ProCoder 3, Imaginate 2, Sony WV-DR9, Sony EDV-9500, Sony GV-D200.
#2: Asus P5E, Q9400, WinXPPro-32, Edius 6.07, HD Spark
#3: Edius SP with Breakout Box, Win10, Edius 7.53
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MPG Video Importing With No Audio MWSimon Editing with EDIUS 7 12-03-2019 09:53 PM
Importing from video player Steven polanski Editing with EDIUS 6 09-24-2009 02:44 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.