Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2020, 01:16 PM   #1
rudyds10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 14
Default Only audio output via BM intensity 4K PRO

Hello dear forum members,

I recently upgraded my Edius editing PC to AMD Ryzen 3900x with 32GB Ram and GeForce 2070 with 8Gb for editing in 4K.
I also bought a Blakmagic Intensity 4K Pro to preview editing on external TV screen and to capture older tapes via the component input. The capturing is working fine but I am not able to get video output from my PC to the external TV.
Via the BLackmagic media express app I can get video input via HDMI on my PC screen and if I ask the intensity pro card to link that directly to the HDMI output on the card, than it shows on my TV screen. Also the video capturing via the component input can be routed directly to the HDMI output on the card and also shows up on my TV screen.
If I want to output an imported video in the BM Media express app or want to preview video from the Edius timeline on the TV screen, I only get audio out. The image remains black.
So, if I route video input on the intensity pro card directly to the HDMI output it works. If I want to route video from the PC via the intensity pro card, I only get audio no video.
I also already switched the intensity pro card in different PCIe slots as I found this tip on this forum but without any result.
ANy other suggestions of what I may try ?
Thanks,
rudyds10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 02:16 PM   #2
rudyds10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 14
Default and some version information

Edius in on latest version : 9.52
Intensity pro drivers on latest version : 11.5
rudyds10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 05:20 PM   #3
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,708
Default

What framerate and resolution are you trying to output?
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.6153, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 06:40 PM   #4
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,177
Default

As Bern says what frame rate and resolution. It is important that both EDIUS and the IP4KPro software are compatible. The IP4K desktop software can both convert input and export formats and these will have to be correct for EDIUS and the TV to work correctly.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 06:43 PM   #5
rudyds10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 14
Default

I have tried different frame rates. My TV is only HD so maximum was 1080p25. I also checked whether the frame rates of the timeline and the settings in the BM video set up are the same. I also tried with 720i50 and other settings but nothing worked. It also doesn't work when I try to output via the BM media express app. Therefore I think the problem is not only related to edius but probably linked to a configuration/setting in my W10 PC.
__________________
____________________________________________
Rudy

Edius 9, msi amd x470 Motherboard, Ryzen 9 3900x, 32 GB, GeForce 2070 8Gb, Dark Power Pro 11 750W be quiet, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K
rudyds10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 06:46 PM   #6
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,431
Default

...and dont forget that BM 4K has to be selected in Edius settings as a Preview device.
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 06:53 PM   #7
rudyds10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 14
Default

also done Dave. I can select IP4K as preview device. When I go into settings you than get the color bars but they are not displalyed on the external TV. On the bottom line of edius there is the symbol that says that it is monitored on the external TV and the good frame rates are indicated but I only get audio and no video on the TV
__________________
____________________________________________
Rudy

Edius 9, msi amd x470 Motherboard, Ryzen 9 3900x, 32 GB, GeForce 2070 8Gb, Dark Power Pro 11 750W be quiet, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K
rudyds10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 01:22 AM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,609
Default

are you plugged in to the correct HDMI port, one is for in and one is for out, you need the out port

also make sure project setting is on 8bit in case the TV does not support 10bit

you can also go to system settings, preview device and tick the option for the BM card to convert to a format supported by the TV
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro

Last edited by antonsvideo; 03-27-2020 at 01:30 AM.
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 01:42 AM   #9
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudyds10 View Post
Edius in on latest version : 9.52
Intensity pro drivers on latest version : 11.5
Try an older driver version. The recommended one for Edius is 11.4.1.0, as per this post http://www.edius.net/blackmagic-i-o-...ic-driver.html

It wouldn't be the first time the "latest" driver had issues.
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.6153, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 10:16 AM   #10
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,787
Default

You said you tried different frame rates but one of them was 720i50 which is an odd frame rate. Where did you change the frame rate? By changing the EDIUS project or changing the setting in the BM control panel? Changing the setting in the BM panel does not do anything to the EDIUS output, you have to change the EDIUS project setting to change the output.

Did you definately try a 1920 50i project?


I have just had a problem with someone who was using a 1920 25p project and had audio but no video. It turned out his TV did not support 25P but would support 50i. If you have this problem you should be able to tick "use pull down when available" in the hardware settings and get output from an 25P project, however, if you do this in EDIUS 9.52 EDIUS will probably crash.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BM Intensity Pro 4K video Spec. Hawke EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 7 11-10-2016 06:13 PM
BM Intensity Pro 4K Driver John Hooper EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 16 08-01-2016 12:37 PM
Edius 8 Workgroup & BM Intensity Pro 4K Audio Problem BernH EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 4 11-18-2015 03:56 PM
BM Intensity Pro 4K? Drbgaijin EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 72 06-24-2015 06:44 AM
BM Intensity Pro 4k Installation trinitytv EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 1 04-03-2015 02:13 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.