Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2020, 07:07 PM   #41
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 888
Default

Each of these tools serves something. You are afraid of 8 bit and 3-way is better for you. I know that 8 bit doesn't hurt me (remember I shoot in 12 bit RAW) and 3-way limits me so ... Chrominance is better for me.

But of course, as Anton mentioned, it would be nice to have a new Chrominance with 10 bit support and HUEvs curves ....
Cheers :)
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski
Seemedia is offline  
Old 03-10-2020, 07:19 PM   #42
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seemedia View Post
Each of these tools serves something. You are afraid of 8 bit and 3-way is better for you. I know that 8 bit doesn't hurt me (remember I shoot in 12 bit RAW) and 3-way limits me so ... Chrominance is better for me.

But of course, as Anton mentioned, it would be nice to have a new Chrominance with 10 bit support and HUEvs curves ....
Cheers :)
not afraid of 8bit... just using a better tool for what I need. and the Chrominance tool is way out of date.
and to be honest the Chrominance and 3-way does the same thing basically but the 3 way does it better.

thanks
cya
ulyssesvideo is offline  
Old 03-10-2020, 07:30 PM   #43
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 888
Default

I absolutely disagree with you. I'll tell you why.

1. 3-way doesn't have key blur. So there are visible artifacts in motion.

2. If you use the 3-way key, you can only make 3-way changes. You cannot add any filter. You can't add an effect outside the key.

3. 3-way is a great tool and I love it but the changes are minimal and gentle and it cannot replace PCC (RGB).

4. Chrominance is not old at all. The keys are more perfect than in Resolve (did you even look at the presets I shared?). You can add multiple filters inside, on the edge and outside.

So no :) For me it's just correction of e.g. lips, red cup, etc. Nothing professional.

Let's finish this idle discussion. Let's focus more on what we can do in Edius on the model of more precise in terms of color grading and editing softwares. Thank you.
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski

Last edited by Seemedia; 03-10-2020 at 08:22 PM.
Seemedia is offline  
Old 03-10-2020, 10:14 PM   #44
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seemedia View Post
I absolutely disagree with you. I'll tell you why.

1. 3-way doesn't have key blur. So there are visible artifacts in motion.

2. If you use the 3-way key, you can only make 3-way changes. You cannot add any filter. You can't add an effect outside the key.

3. 3-way is a great tool and I love it but the changes are minimal and gentle and it cannot replace PCC (RGB).

4. Chrominance is not old at all. The keys are more perfect than in Resolve (did you even look at the presets I shared?). You can add multiple filters inside, on the edge and outside.

So no :) For me it's just correction of e.g. lips, red cup, etc. Nothing professional.

Let's finish this idle discussion. Let's focus more on what we can do in Edius on the model of more precise in terms of color grading and editing softwares. Thank you.
the blur function is great but it does soften the image to a degree. i don't see any visible artifacts in motion when Iam using the 3 way.

Chrominance is not old??? really??? I have edius 3 on a laptop still.. its on that!

yes.. 3-way is a great tool and I love it but the changes are minimal and gentle and it cannot replace PCC (RGB). ** i never said it did.**


anyway each to their own... I am done with this idle discussion.. thanks for the chat.
cheers!

Last edited by ulyssesvideo; 03-10-2020 at 10:21 PM.
ulyssesvideo is offline  
Old 03-11-2020, 10:30 AM   #45
kpot
Senior Member
 
kpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WN, Austria
Posts: 1,056
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ulyssesvideo View Post
the blur function is great but it does soften the image to a degree...
cheers!

Isn't that the purpose / goal of Blur?
__________________
Intel core i7-6700K / ASUS Z170A / 32 GB RAM / Intel HD Graphics 530 / SSD Systemdrive / Gigabyte GeForce GT 1070 / Win-10/64 Pro (V-1809) / EDIUS-9.52 (6031)-WG / Mercalli (V2, V4 and V5 Plugin/64bit) / Resolve-16.2.2 Studio / Zonealarm(Firewall etc) / ImgBurn / PowerDVD etc.
// Read > Test > Understand
kpot is offline  
Old 03-11-2020, 02:28 PM   #46
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpot View Post
Isn't that the purpose / goal of Blur?
NO. the blur softens out the what you have selected and reduces the artifacts, but It can also soften the image, and for some people that's not what you want.
ulyssesvideo is offline  
Old 03-15-2020, 10:21 PM   #47
Marc Hens
Member
 
Marc Hens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boom
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
In certain light conditions and materials, deep red gets produced as orange. In my case costumes on stage as the actor walks across stage and passes different lights their costume ( like a dark royal red costume ) changes from the real red colour to orange. Can also get this trying to shoot a dark red ( like old UK telephone box colour ) in sunlight. Changing WB has no effect. Effect is on GH5 and GH5S.
I have experienced something similar between some camera's. White balance was set manually, but the camera's did not agree on red vs orange. What is the best technique in Edius to get the recorded material to have matching colors?

Marc Hens
__________________
--------------------------------------------------
Edius 9.51 - Panasonic AG-AC90
desktop: Windows 10 64 bits - Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake - 32 GB RAM - nVIDIA Geoforce GTX1070 ti (8GB) - 2 TB M.2 SSD for video - 256GB M.2 SSD for software - 4 TB SATA for other data
laptop: Windows 10 64 bits - Intel i7 6700 - 32 GB RAM - nVIDIA Geoforce GTX1060 - 256 GB m2 SSD + 500 GB Sata-SSD + 1 TB SATA
Marc Hens is offline  
Old 03-15-2020, 10:39 PM   #48
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 888
Default

Just put the first clip to above track and use Crop in Layout. Look at the Vectorscope and Waveform to find the sweet spot.
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski
Seemedia is offline  
Old 03-15-2020, 10:52 PM   #49
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Hens View Post
I have experienced something similar between some camera's. White balance was set manually, but the camera's did not agree on red vs orange. What is the best technique in Edius to get the recorded material to have matching colors?

Marc Hens
if you dont have time, u can use newblue FX colorfast 2 (10bit plug in) to try to correct the images by clicking on something that you know was white in both clips to get a good colour match. its a good tool to have. but if you have loads of time, you can use scopes and filters (edius or third party) to correct the clip. do what you feel is comfortable.
If your filming with 2 or more cameras.. its a good practice to film a colour chart or a white sheet of paper so you can refer to that to colour/white balance and match your clips with edius if the cameras don't match for some reason.

Last edited by ulyssesvideo; 03-16-2020 at 09:13 AM.
ulyssesvideo is offline  
Old 03-15-2020, 11:50 PM   #50
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 888
Default

Everyone thinks "Edius doesn't have a proper color grading tools. But yes, it has... Ybcbr Space. It's the best we have. No other NLE has it. So we have unlimited possibilities for color grading. Why? Because 99% of the videos is YUV. Not RGB.
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski

Last edited by GrassValley_PS; 03-16-2020 at 03:03 AM.
Seemedia is offline  
Closed Thread
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 things I love about Edius alanlacey Editing with EDIUS 0 02-14-2013 10:10 AM
Love E6 - it just doesn't love me! AJL14 Editing with EDIUS 58 03-17-2011 08:15 PM
One of the many things I LOVE about Edius plasma_video Editing with EDIUS 15 05-19-2009 05:14 AM
Love Edius 5 (upgrade from 4 on its way!) gerbow Editing with EDIUS 0 09-27-2008 02:14 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.