Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2020, 11:48 PM   #31
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladiciu View Post
Otherwise the alternative would be to switch to edius 9 where I can convert, edit, and export in prores and it would be excellent, but for now I don't want to spend money, prefer to wait for the release of edius 10 pro and see what news there will be.
when you buy EDIUS9 now, you get EDIUS 10 for free
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 10:57 AM   #32
Vladiciu
Senior Member
 
Vladiciu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italia
Posts: 157
Default info

OK I was already told this but does it make sense to switch now to edius 9 pro?
what more would i have than edius 8? just the ability to use pro res and that's it, so I prefer to convert my GH4 files to grass valley HQX and work like this for now.
When Edius 10 pro comes out, let's see what it offers more than now, what news they will put and then, if anything, I will go directly to edius 10.
__________________
I7 4790K-32 gb RAM-RX580 8gb-SSD 256gb-Windows 10 pro-Edius8.5-HD Sata 2 TB-SSD 1 TB file video for edius 8 e projects-Lumix GH2 Moon T8-Lumix GH4R-Monitor 22 preview" AOC-Monitor 24 timeline" BENQ-
Vladiciu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 11:03 AM   #33
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladiciu View Post
OK I was already told this but does it make sense to switch now to edius 9 pro?
what more would i have than edius 8? just the ability to use pro res and that's it, so I prefer to convert my GH4 files to grass valley HQX and work like this for now.
When Edius 10 pro comes out, let's see what it offers more than now, what news they will put and then, if anything, I will go directly to edius 10.
why convert your gh4 footage to HQX to edit?? just so its easier to edit??? your not gaining anything in the long run.

iam using edius 7 and I dont need to convert any mp4 to hqx.
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 11:11 AM   #34
Vladiciu
Senior Member
 
Vladiciu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italia
Posts: 157
Default info

I have not tried it yet, but look at my pc in signature, do you think I can edit the GH4 100 MB / s files in 4K 4096x2160 24p natively, ie the original files without converting them to HQX on edius 8.5 ??
would be good news thanks.
__________________
I7 4790K-32 gb RAM-RX580 8gb-SSD 256gb-Windows 10 pro-Edius8.5-HD Sata 2 TB-SSD 1 TB file video for edius 8 e projects-Lumix GH2 Moon T8-Lumix GH4R-Monitor 22 preview" AOC-Monitor 24 timeline" BENQ-
Vladiciu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 11:19 AM   #35
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,598
Default

with the Pro version of EDIUS you will struggle, the WG version should have no issue
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 11:39 AM   #36
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladiciu View Post
I have not tried it yet, but look at my pc in signature, do you think I can edit the GH4 100 MB / s files in 4K 4096x2160 24p natively, ie the original files without converting them to HQX on edius 8.5 ??
would be good news thanks.
yes u can! my pc was built in 2013. I have no isses
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 12:13 PM   #37
Vladiciu
Senior Member
 
Vladiciu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italia
Posts: 157
Default thank

I thank you for the good news, I built my pc in 2014 and then I will try it again thanks friend.
Greetings from Trieste Italy.
__________________
I7 4790K-32 gb RAM-RX580 8gb-SSD 256gb-Windows 10 pro-Edius8.5-HD Sata 2 TB-SSD 1 TB file video for edius 8 e projects-Lumix GH2 Moon T8-Lumix GH4R-Monitor 22 preview" AOC-Monitor 24 timeline" BENQ-
Vladiciu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 04:10 PM   #38
Vladiciu
Senior Member
 
Vladiciu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italia
Posts: 157
Default info

One question, will final cut pro x on mac be able to import and process Canopus HQX 4k files generated by edius8?
__________________
I7 4790K-32 gb RAM-RX580 8gb-SSD 256gb-Windows 10 pro-Edius8.5-HD Sata 2 TB-SSD 1 TB file video for edius 8 e projects-Lumix GH2 Moon T8-Lumix GH4R-Monitor 22 preview" AOC-Monitor 24 timeline" BENQ-
Vladiciu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 04:25 PM   #39
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,166
Default

Why would you send a HQX file to a Mac user from EDIUS 9 when you could send a ProRes file ?
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 04:27 PM   #40
Vladiciu
Senior Member
 
Vladiciu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italia
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
Why would you send a HQX file to a Mac user from EDIUS 9 when you could send a ProRes file ?
Sorry I corrected later, I meant edius 8.
thank you
__________________
I7 4790K-32 gb RAM-RX580 8gb-SSD 256gb-Windows 10 pro-Edius8.5-HD Sata 2 TB-SSD 1 TB file video for edius 8 e projects-Lumix GH2 Moon T8-Lumix GH4R-Monitor 22 preview" AOC-Monitor 24 timeline" BENQ-
Vladiciu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EDIUS 7.51 support ProRes 422 codec tingsern Editing with EDIUS 9 01-17-2016 06:04 AM
Edius and Apple Prores 422 vgtah Editing with EDIUS 3 08-14-2012 11:10 AM
Edius 6.07 + Apple Prores 422... panosole Editing with EDIUS 4 06-03-2012 04:51 PM
ProRes 422 Counterpart in Edius haitham786 Editing with EDIUS 1 12-20-2011 07:57 PM
Prores 422 Files in Edius 6.06 X-trem production Editing with EDIUS 21 12-11-2011 04:39 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.