Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2016, 11:46 AM   #1
Andre129130
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Belarus
Posts: 35
Default Davinci Resolve and EDIUS Pro 8.1

What codec output with Resolve, a further work in EDIUS? I tried the output QuickTime DNxHD 10 bit, but does not see EDIUS. Output with DaVinci, but codec Glass Valley HQX 10 bit have no DaVinci. What to do?
Andre129130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 05:10 PM   #2
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre129130 View Post
What codec output with Resolve, a further work in EDIUS? I tried the output QuickTime DNxHD 10 bit, but does not see EDIUS. Output with DaVinci, but codec Glass Valley HQX 10 bit have no DaVinci. What to do?
If Resolve and Edius are on the same computer, HQX should work as long as you are using quicktime MOV wrappers. If they are on different machines, you will have to install the HQ/HQX codecs on the Resolve system.

If you wish yo use DNxHD, you will once again need to intall the Avid codecs on the system.

Resolve doesn't have the HQ/HQX codecs built into it, and Edius doesn't have the DNxHD codecs built into it. In either case, the quicktime MOV wrapper is used for tranfer between them, and consequently, the codecs need to appear in the list of quicktime's available codecs.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 04:37 PM   #3
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by More4K View Post
There is news about it:

"The Grass Valley codec on OSX only supports the legacy 32-bit Quicktime framework, which Resolve no longer supports as the QuickTime SDK used with Resolve has changed.
As such there is no support for the Grass Valley codecs on Mac OS X installations of Resolve currently."
I wonder when will they stop support for 32bit QT API on Windows systems?
It seems to be the moment to provide a AVFoundation codec or the native code to interested companies for native implementation?
Otherwise HQ/HQX will be still a great codec that no one is interested in the industry.

Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 05:17 PM   #4
Adbear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by More4K View Post
There is news about it:

"The Grass Valley codec on OSX only supports the legacy 32-bit Quicktime framework, which Resolve no longer supports as the QuickTime SDK used with Resolve has changed.
As such there is no support for the Grass Valley codecs on Mac OS X installations of Resolve currently."

No more HQX on Mac in Resolve ( I assume from ver 12). I think it still works fine on PC side.
You missed off the last line of the quote
Quote:
I am still trying to clarify whether we would be able to support these codecs or whether the Grass Valley codec package would need to be updated in order to be supported within Resolve.
So it may come back if they decide to support it or if GV make them a 64 bit version for the Mac. I don't think anyone at BM realized it wasn't working until I emailed them about it as most people on the BM forum never contact support.
__________________
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 6.05 and Davinci Resolve 11 Jeordie Editing with EDIUS 9 11-18-2015 05:41 PM
Davinci Resolve AVI files import in Edius olliemacks EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 0 06-19-2015 07:38 PM
Edius 7 (.31) and Davinci Resolve 11 workflow robilonk EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 1 09-03-2014 06:30 PM
Edius 6.5 with DaVinci Resolve 10 Lite -. Workflow istvan Editing with EDIUS 7 11-27-2013 02:37 PM
What workflow Edius 7.20 EDL round trip Davinci Resolve robilonk Editing with EDIUS 3 10-08-2013 02:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.