Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2008, 10:37 PM   #1
rando
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 2,307
Default Monitor question

I was thinking I need a new monitor, why shouldnt(cant I) buy a 37 inch full blown HD set to edit on vs say 2 19" pc monitors? would it look good? enough destop space? etc? also can I just get one with a HDMI and convert my DVI?

Randy
rando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 11:17 PM   #2
Geoff
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Reading,UK
Posts: 161
Default

No reason why you couldn't, but I would suggest that you should try looking at such a large screen from a distance that you would use if were on your desktop. For some people a larger screen can can cause more muscular fatigue than a smaller one where you have a smaller angle of vision.

Geoff
Geoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 12:14 AM   #3
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

I don't know........ I always find that text looks crappy.
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 12:40 AM   #4
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Resolution is key. The max a LCDTV can do is 1920x1080. A 20" (much cheaper) wide LCD can do 1680x1050 per monitor. Or a 30" Dell/Apple Cinema Display that does 2560x1600.

I recommend getting 2 x 20" Wide Samsungs (or whatever you want, but I like Samsungs) and a 32" LCDTV 1080p so you can preview on your desktop or do what I did and mount a 40" LCDTV on the top and use 2x20" LCD's for the computer.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 01:02 AM   #5
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

I use 2 acer 1680x1050 for my pc.
For video monitoring I now have a 37' Samsung LCDTV to the wall.
it is a 1080p display , blue only mode for adjusting .

But I always have my trusty Broadcast monitor handy when I cc.

Steve
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 04:37 AM   #6
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

I upgraded from 2x17" to 2x22" wide and have to say, besides turning your head a bit more from left to right, it actually improves my editing speed.

Much more to see at all times but the change from CRT to LCD takes a while to get used to, as a good CRT is smoother (fonts) and the LCD's are very bright at first, for long hours viewing I tend to like CRT's more.

Mine are not very high end once's just 1650 x 1080 HDMI, but Edius does look good on it, I still use an old 32" CRT TV for final output, as most my work is still SD.

My advise would be if you go to wide screen LCD's nothing smaller than 22" preferable 24" as they tend to go up a lot in resolution (and price)

For video output, if you don't have a good unit you will regret it, as the image on lower end LCD or plasma's it quite rough and the colors also are not natural at all (graphic's will look the worst).

I did use a (low end) Sony Bravia LCD TV for a short while but it was just horrible, after a few day's I changed back to CRT.
Buy quality or stick with low tech CRT if your budget will burst.

Just my 2 Cents.
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 10:14 PM   #7
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Also color gamut is different between TVs and computer monitors. And... you might find that the "rules" your TV has in terms of what it will accept on DVI/HDMI/VGA for computer signals may be different that what it accepts for video signals.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 11:11 PM   #8
johannesj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Iceland
Posts: 484
Default

Hi there
I use 3x 22 Widescreen on my main edid station, just testing and i like it, 42 plasma for prewiew but i use my 15" Brodcast monitor when doing collorcorrection and other things i would like to have 17 or 20" brodcast monitor for that.
I always do a calibration on monitor there i will be using for ediding and the pasma wich i do not use for ediding.

Using those 3x 22Widescr i see i am gona need betther videocard then this one i am using for sore, but this is working for me so i am gona get one.

My best
Johannes
__________________
JoiCam´s
Edit station1: i7 6700K 4 ghz, 32gb ram, Edius 9 Workgroup, Davinci Resolve studio 16, 8GB GPU & Intensity Pro 4K
2: 17" Laptop i7 w: Edius 9 Workgroup
3: HPxw8600 dual 3ghz Xeon, STORM 3G, , Edius 7, 32 GB ram.
4: Edius 7, Supermicro x7da8 dual 3ghz Xeon.
Audio: Protools & Nuendo, M-Audio and Presonus interfaces, control surfaces and preamps, dual 3ghz Xeon. 16gb Ram.
Studio monitoring: Mackie 1402-VLZ Pro mixer and Mackie HR824 Spk. Panasonic surround system.
And more
johannesj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.