Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2009, 03:10 PM   #11
bdr13278
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 26
Default

Dave, would I have to use the HQ Canopus codec out of Edius? I know you said I could use Canopus Lossless but the files might be too big I'm thinking. How is Edius by itself without Squeeze or ProCoder3? Does it encode files well?

Also, in regards to Squeeze, does it properly create the MP4 files (metadata) so they will play right away for progressive download? I will be using Flowplayer for my videos on the web.
bdr13278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 12:08 AM   #12
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,572
Default

I guess it depends on the volume you are doing.....you could still capture/edit in canopus HQ and then just export to LossLess for the transcoding.

Squeeze seems to pick up the fact that the HQ file comes in upside down and will flip it rightside up for playback and transcode to a single preset, which is fine.....but this does not work with the watch folder or multiple output presets for a single file.....so if you will be working with only a handfull of files at a time then this should be fine, but multiple files and outputs are another story.

The Edius exporter is a very capable tool but it does have some limitations....Squeeze will take care of your web files re progressive download or streaming server....I do not know Flowplayer.

Squeeze is also not yet 64bit compatible according to thier support guys.

Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 01:13 AM   #13
bdr13278
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 26
Default

Hey Dave. Thanks for replying! My company is considering purchasing Edius and a Panasonic AG-HPX300. So just trying to figure out the best workflow for HD editing and then transcoding to the Internet for progressive download.

So overall, would you buy ProCoder 3 or Sorenson Squeeze 6?
bdr13278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 01:19 AM   #14
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,610
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdr13278 View Post
Hey Dave. Thanks for replying! My company is considering purchasing Edius and a Panasonic AG-HPX300. So just trying to figure out the best workflow for HD editing and then transcoding to the Internet for progressive download.

So overall, would you buy ProCoder 3 or Sorenson Squeeze 6?
I would buy TmpgEnc 4 Xpress, much faster and sharper than the others
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 12:52 PM   #15
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,572
Default

Just when you thought you only had 2 to choose from.

We use Procoder3 but as time goes by less & less....re lack of modern format support & Flash to name a few.

I like the whole 360 and review thing with Squeeze 6 and the notifications....this is a great concept for fast review and approval....but whilst Squeeze 6 does a great job, the killer for us right at this moment is lack of 64bit support.

I cannot coment on TMPEG xpress as I have not used it for a few years now....but you can download a trial version to play with.

I dont think any of them will do every transcode/re-purpose job you may need to get done.

You wont regret your move to Edius though.

Best....Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com

Last edited by NakedEye; 11-29-2009 at 08:44 PM.
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 05:59 AM   #16
bdr13278
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 26
Default

Thanks Dave. I appreciate it. I guess the biggest thing for us would be having the MP4 file play right away for progressive download, which for my understanding ProCoder 3 is not supporting that at the moment. Have you talked with the Sales team at GV? Are they going to fix that?!!??

By the way, are you exporting out of Edius into Squeeze in HD yet? Making any HD web videos? If so, please send me a link to any that you have posted. I would really like to see them.
bdr13278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 07:20 AM   #17
HamonSerrano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 208
Default

You can make MP4 files progressive download capable with free programs such as MP4box or qt_faststart.
HamonSerrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 11:10 PM   #18
bdr13278
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 26
Default

Yeah I tested a product called "MP4 FastStart" and it seems to work with fixing MP4 files. My MP4 files are encoded using Sony Vegas v7 at the momemt.

HamonSerrano - do you use ProCoder 3? Do you like it? Is it better than Sorenson Squeeze 6? Is there only the one issue (MP4 file metadata in the wrong place) within ProCoder 3 or are there more?

Dave feel free to chime in.
bdr13278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 10:35 AM   #19
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,572
Default

OOOps missed this one.

We still use ProCoder 3 for some stuff mainly MPEG2 DVD encoding @ mastering quality with I frame creation for chapter markers to use in Encore.....I cannot comment on the MP4 stuff....we did create some mp4 stuff with PC3 quite some time ago for QT web distribution and those files were instantly playable.

I have not spoken to anyone at Canopus regards PC3....general concensus seems to be that it may not get further development going forward since the development team have moved on.

Most of the stuff we do for the web has to be Flash and currently Adobe Media Encoder and Flash serve our purposes.

Squeeze 6 has some very appealing features including the batch and publish options, also the whole review thing with 360 is a great concept.

I would download the trial and evaluate it for yourself....also try TMPEG as mentioned by Anton.

Regards

Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 06:03 PM   #20
HamonSerrano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 208
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdr13278 View Post
Yeah I tested a product called "MP4 FastStart" and it seems to work with fixing MP4 files. My MP4 files are encoded using Sony Vegas v7 at the momemt.

HamonSerrano - do you use ProCoder 3? Do you like it? Is it better than Sorenson Squeeze 6? Is there only the one issue (MP4 file metadata in the wrong place) within ProCoder 3 or are there more?

Dave feel free to chime in.

Sorry, I don't really know Sorenson, so can't compare it tp PC3.
But I find it a very useful and reliable software. There are 3 problems with it for me:

-When encoding to WAV, the source timecode is not transfered to the encoded file(no Bwav support).

-No subtitle burning option

-The de-interlacer filter is not good enough
HamonSerrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EDIUS 4.6 upgrade and Sorenson Squeeze 4.5 tingsern Editing with EDIUS 145 02-20-2009 02:06 AM
Sorenson Squeeze 5.0 pjsssss Editing with EDIUS 0 11-27-2008 02:43 PM
Sorenson Squeeze Plugin? BillBarrett Editing with EDIUS 3 10-04-2008 08:57 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.