Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2013, 03:13 PM   #1
Badger499
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1
Default ADVC-300 Instal with Windows 8

Hello

I have bought a secondhand ADVC-300 device which came with an original Canopus ADVC-300 Installation CD V1.0 which I have loaded onto a Windows 8 64 bit computer. On the computer it has installed itself in the folder - Program Files (x86)\Canopus\Picture Controller 300. The only files in the folder are PCtrl300.exe and a readme.txt file.

When I try to run the file PCtrl300, all I get is ‘ADVC-300 cannot be found. I have tried uninstalling and re-installing but I get the same message.

I have tried opening the file with the ADVC-300 switch on (blue fast flashing light on Analog In) and connected to an anaolog Sony Hi8 CCD-TRV91E camera which is connect is on and connected via a and on. My computer is an Intel i7-2700CPU @ 3.40GH, 16 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti – so it should be more than capable of dealing with the video capture. I am intending using Adobe Premiere Element 11 to carry out the editing.

I cannot see any new devices in Device Manager or any conflicts.

How do I get my ADVC to be recognised?

Also I have downloaded Picture Controller Utility for ADVC-300 but this appears only to be compatible with Windows XP/2000. Is there any utility compatible with Windows 8? If not what do I do?

Many thanks
Badger499 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 06:07 PM   #2
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

You don't need Picture Controller. The same adjustments can be made using the controls on the unit.

The fact that you're not seeing a new device in Device Manager is concerning though.
You should see an AV/C-compliant 1394 camera/deck or something similar.

Do you have another machine (preferrably not Windows 8) you can try the setup on?
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 02:02 AM   #3
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,875
Default

What is your IEEE1394 port?

Does Win 8 have the same IEEE 1394 driver version issue that Win 7 has?
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC-300 deliver no audio in Picture Controller 300 software Mejnour ADVC 5 09-26-2011 08:56 PM
ADVC-300 Windows Vista compatibility nula ADVC 5 07-06-2011 01:11 AM
ADVC 1000 or ADVC 300 for old VHS tapes. Max001 ADVC 3 05-17-2011 02:35 PM
Picture Controller can't find ADVC-300 in Windows 7 bastinado ADVC 3 12-01-2009 08:12 PM
ADVC 55+TBC or ADVC 300? cmt100 ADVC 5 02-05-2009 03:34 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.