Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2007, 06:48 PM   #1
gemmtn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Picture Controller Preview

ADVC300. Component video from ADVC output to TV. Firewire PC-ADVC (6-pin). S-video input from satellite rcvr or VHS. ADVC DIP switches off except for: (SW1) 5 [7.5 IRE] and 8 [PC]; (SW2) 2 [Chroma Filter 2.0 MHz]. Windows XP Home w/svc pak 2 installed. Dell 8300 w/LCD display (calibrated by Spyder).

Problem: The PC300 Preview window shows an exremely bright video with the default settings. The TV monitor view is ok. Playing around with the video settings never seems to approach a quality picture in the preview window and quality is worse on the TV monitor. The default settings give the best TV monitor picture.

Another interesting item is that the capture window in Premier 2.0 also shows the same extremely bright video but once saved and brought into Premier for editing, those monitors show the video like it appeared on the TV monitor. In addition, if the captured AVI video is played on say Windows Media Player, it looks like the extremely bright video; however, if the captured video is written to a DVD and played on the TV, it looks ok. Makes no difference if the input is from VHS player of satellite recvr.

Picking on the PC300 since it is the first place in the recording line that the problem appears.

Any ideas? Right now it is useless to use the PC300 preview window for video (audio no problem) adjustments.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 07:10 PM   #2
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

Your hardware video overlay's gamma setting is messed up.

What video card / integrated graphics controller do you have? Try opening the Control Panel and Display applet, and see what controls are there. Also consider installing the latest WHQL-certified drivers if you haven't updated in a while, that will usually reset things to usable defaults as well.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 01:02 AM   #3
gemmtn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Graphics Card is NVIDIA GeGorce FX5200, 128 MB memory, 1024x768 pixels, 32 bit color quality.

Have a question into the NVIDIA forum regarding this question. Was placed yesterday....no reply yet. Did bring up the NVIDIA control panel but have no idea what to look for as a potential solution.

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 03:58 AM   #4
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

Depending on the version of the ForceWare drivers, there should be a Video Overlay Settings group somewhere. Once you click on that, click on the Adjust Colors button, and then Restore Defaults.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Picture Controller Application for ADVC-300 visual.eyes ADVC 17 07-21-2011 02:15 AM
ADVC 300 Picture Controller Utility Aristotelis ADVC 12 06-13-2010 11:36 AM
Edius missing picture in preview and recorder Tobe Editing with EDIUS 5 10-16-2008 05:48 AM
Turn picture controller settings off to get best conversion? mason ADVC 1 09-26-2008 03:49 AM
ADVC Picture Controller interface horse ADVC 2 08-25-2008 11:59 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.