Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2007, 10:53 PM   #1
MandelVideo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 18
Default Grass Valley Sales & ProCoder Complaints

I've been on board with Canopus / Grass Valley / Edius platform since the beginning and have been fairly happy up until now. A few complaints. One is that I wasn't happy that my ProCoder 2 didn't work "within" Edius version 4 and had to use Express. Why would Grass Valley design an upgrade that made previous software obsolete? Second I had to pay to upgrade from ProCoder 1 to ProCoder 2 and now they are allowing version 1 owners to pay the same amount as me to upgrade to version 3. That's not fair! It should be less for us who already own version 2. I've been calling Grass Valley now for 3 days trying to buy ProCoder 3. I've left messages and have gotten no return calls. How can you sell a product if you don't answer the phone or return calls? I think that Grass Valley needs to review their sales practices.
MandelVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 11:03 PM   #2
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,089
Default

Quote:
A few complaints. One is that I wasn't happy that my ProCoder 2 didn't work "within" Edius version 4 and had to use Express.
Just look in the download section:

> ProCoder 2.0 Timeline Export Plug-in for EDIUS v4 Released: 08/04/2006
> This file allows you to export EDIUS Pro and EDIUS Broadcast v4 projects
> with ProCoder 2.0 software.
Zorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 11:08 PM   #3
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MandelVideo View Post
IOne is that I wasn't happy that my ProCoder 2 didn't work "within" Edius version 4 and had to use Express. Why would Grass Valley design an upgrade that made previous software obsolete? review their
Strange I have used PC2 without problems in Edius 4.
Many user also. Some still use it in 4.51.

Do you own a special version of Procoder2 that does not work with Edius 4?
Because it works for most of us

SR
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 11:13 PM   #4
MandelVideo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 18
Default Using ProCoder 2 within Version 4

After getting Procoder version 2 and couldn't figure out how to use it I called tech support and they told me they they realized this problem and told me they had received many calls about this and then told me to wait until version 3 came out and hope for the best! I'm now reading a post telling me that a fix for this was available in August of 2006? Wow!
MandelVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 11:21 PM   #5
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

Why would you talk to sales with a technical problem?
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 11:31 PM   #6
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MandelVideo View Post
After getting Procoder version 2 and couldn't figure out how to use it I called tech support and they told me they they realized this problem and told me they had received many calls about this and then told me to wait until version 3 came out and hope for the best! I'm now reading a post telling me that a fix for this was available in August of 2006? Wow!

There has been a forum available since I purchased in late 1996. Also,
the cow forum has a Canopus section.
I feel for your plight, however, a little more detailed search could have solved your problem a year ago.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2007, 03:54 AM   #7
GrassValley_MD
Mike Downey... The Jollymon
 
GrassValley_MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lehi, Ut
Posts: 968
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MandelVideo View Post
After getting Procoder version 2 and couldn't figure out how to use it I called tech support and they told me they they realized this problem and told me they had received many calls about this and then told me to wait until version 3 came out and hope for the best! I'm now reading a post telling me that a fix for this was available in August of 2006? Wow!

I am sorry that you were given that information!! NEVER talk to sales about tech stuff :)

You have found us here at the forums so please come back as often as you like so you can get all of your questions... ok, almost all of them answered when you need them :)


Mike
GrassValley_MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProCoder 3 Product miniFAQ (updated 2008/02/25) GrassValley_KH ProCoder 0 05-12-2007 01:57 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.