Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2018, 05:04 PM   #1
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,197
Default Best procedure to use photo or graphic files

This question is to give Edius the lightest job possible in managing files and memory.

Introducing a photographic image in a HD project can be done just by charging the desired files in the Bin and then add it on the timeline.

Generally in jpeg the dimensions can go up to 5472 x 3648 wich is too much for an HD project.... except if you want to zoom in.

Personnaly, as professional producer and director I don't like to use each image as it is.

1st step : so, via a photo editor I first finalize the image for a perfect balance of color, framing, sharpening...) and save it TIFF as original for all other use.

Using this original in HD is also heavy and needs anyway to frame for 16:9 with the F7 tool

So again, during the first step and after save in Tiff, I go on and crop the view in 16:9 then reformat in 1920*1080 and save it in TGA especially for Edius.

All these operations are programmed in a macro to spare time and focus my attention on the important points. But anyway it takes time.

Result on HD video screen via Edius are very close when I compare Tiff full resolution of 5472*3648 and TGA 1920*1080 ... but generally beter with TGA HD (Edius don't have to recalculate all points). TGA files take less place and the speed of Edius is generally faster.

This method, I have set-up years ago when Edius and computer were slower because memory, processors, windows....

My two last project (historical narration) are more then 1000 files pictures.

So finally my question. Reducing 80% of pictures immediately in HD does it still worth it or are they other procedure to lighten or relieve the jobb and speed of Edius ?

Thanks for advice
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 01:04 AM   #2
Drbgaijin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Kumamoto, Japan
Posts: 424
Default

If I was working on projects with up to 1000 images I would not use EDIUS alone.
I would use Proshow Producer to make the parts with the 1000 images and either edit in the video parts from EDIUS.
Or do the video parts in EDIUS and edit in the image parts from Proshow.
Regards
Douglas
__________________
Creator of Video Tutorials for mere mortals at https://www.gaijin-eyes.com

Main System: EDIUS WG 9, Asustek Intel Z370, i7-8700K @ 3.70GHz, 32GB RAM, GTX-1080Ti, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Windows 10 Pro
Drbgaijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 09:24 AM   #3
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drbgaijin View Post
If I was working on projects with up to 1000 images I would not use EDIUS alone.
I would use Proshow Producer to make the parts with the 1000 images and either edit in the video parts from EDIUS.
Or do the video parts in EDIUS and edit in the image parts from Proshow.
Regards
Douglas
Thanks to have follow. But I am very satisfy with Edius thanks that it can use a lot of graphic format and manipulate every clip (foto, video, title) in the Layout F7 with 2D and 3D. Moreover with dynamic key points to introduce movment.
In fact, the evolution of the layouter between Edius 5.51 and 8 was my main motivation to upgrade.

My question was to know if it was still interesting to decrease the formats of each image to relieve Edius....
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 10:54 AM   #4
kpot
Senior Member
 
kpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WN, Austria
Posts: 995
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haddock View Post
Thanks to have follow. But I am very satisfy with Edius thanks that it can use a lot of graphic format and manipulate every clip (foto, video, title) in the Layout F7 with 2D and 3D. Moreover with dynamic key points to introduce movment.
In fact, the evolution of the layouter between Edius 5.51 and 8 was my main motivation to upgrade.

My question was to know if it was still interesting to decrease the formats of each image to relieve Edius....
Not sure if I understand your question correct:
One of my "Pre-Edit"-Tasks is to convert all necessary still-assets into tiff-format. I use ""Movavi Video Converter 18 Premium" (Video, Audio, stills etc.).
So my projects consists all of only tiff-stills.
Regards kurt
__________________
Intel core i7-6700K / ASUS Z170A / 32 GB RAM / Intel HD Graphics 530 / SSD Systemdrive / Gigabyte GeForce GT 1070 / Win-10/64 Pro (V-1809) / EDIUS-9.51 (5619)-WG / Mercalli (V2, V4 and V5 Plugin/64bit) / Resolve-16.1.1 Studio / Zonealarm(Firewall etc) / ImgBurn / PowerDVD etc.
// Read > Test > Understand
kpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 01:16 PM   #5
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpot View Post
Not sure if I understand your question correct:
One of my "Pre-Edit"-Tasks is to convert all necessary still-assets into tiff-format. I use ""Movavi Video Converter 18 Premium" (Video, Audio, stills etc.).
So my projects consists all of only tiff-stills.
Regards kurt
I will precize.... in place of inserting directly in Edius a photo file of 20 millions pixels that is around 5472*3648 pixels in 58 Mg in tiff... I resize it after cropping in 16:9 in 1920*1080 pixels in 6 Mg in TGA and then insert in Edius.

It takes time to prepare each image so : My question is to know if it is still interesting to decrease the formats of each image to relieve Edius....
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 01:25 PM   #6
Drbgaijin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Kumamoto, Japan
Posts: 424
Default

If you resize your pictures to 1920x1080 pixels and use them at that size or smaller, as you move them around, there should be no problem.
But if you are going to zoom into them, you will begin to notice the pixels.
If you want to zoom as part of the effect you need pictures which are larger than 1920x1080. to keep the sharpness when you zoom.
Regards
Douglas
__________________
Creator of Video Tutorials for mere mortals at https://www.gaijin-eyes.com

Main System: EDIUS WG 9, Asustek Intel Z370, i7-8700K @ 3.70GHz, 32GB RAM, GTX-1080Ti, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Windows 10 Pro
Drbgaijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 02:07 PM   #7
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drbgaijin View Post
If you resize your pictures to 1920x1080 pixels and use them at that size or smaller, as you move them around, there should be no problem.
But if you are going to zoom into them, you will begin to notice the pixels.
If you want to zoom as part of the effect you need pictures which are larger than 1920x1080. to keep the sharpness when you zoom.
Regards
Douglas
I know that it will be no problem...(and more, image can be beter)... but will it be helpfull for Edius ?

Of course as I have written in my first post
Quote:
Generally in jpeg the dimensions can go up to 5472 x 3648 wich is too much for an HD project.... except if you want to zoom in.
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 02:50 PM   #8
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,687
Default

I'm with Douglas on this one. If you are doing a montage of 1000 images, having the correct tool will save you a lot of time. I wouldn't attempt to do a 1000 image montage in Edius using layouter. Mainly, because it would be waaaaaaay too much work. Proshow Producer will also accept 4K video and allow you to create titles.

I would at least download the Proshow Producer 9 trial and give it a try.
http://www.photodex.com/try

If you do these types of projects regularly, the software will pay for itself, in time saved alone.

As far as converting the files, I would get a batch converter or if you have Photoshop or Lightroom, use them. I wouldn't take the resolution all the way down to 1920x1080 though. Around 3K'ish should be good for performance and zooming.

I get the impression you are more interested in adjusting everything for the best Edius performance. That's all fine and dandy, but project quality should be considered first.

Edius is just one tool to use.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 02-08-2018 at 03:04 PM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 06:52 AM   #9
Drbgaijin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Kumamoto, Japan
Posts: 424
Default

For anyone not realising just how much difference a dedicated slideshow application makes to the time needed to create a compilation that can be used inside of EDIUS (or any other NLE) I have made the following short demonstration.
https://vimeo.com/254979758
Regards
Douglas
__________________
Creator of Video Tutorials for mere mortals at https://www.gaijin-eyes.com

Main System: EDIUS WG 9, Asustek Intel Z370, i7-8700K @ 3.70GHz, 32GB RAM, GTX-1080Ti, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Windows 10 Pro
Drbgaijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 10:10 AM   #10
alanlacey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Essex Coast, UK
Posts: 698
Default

Very interesting discussion. But no one has addressed the original question (as I see it anyway) Is there a 'preferred' still format that minimizes the internal processing required by Edius to insert these stills? I've never used so many stills as to warrent another application to handle them but I would always go through a bitmap editor (PS or Affinity these days) to prepare them for their intended use in Edius (zooming, moving etc)
__________________
Alan.

More or less retired now. Still on the Essex(UK) coast. Edius 8.2wg all sorts of other, more or less redundant kit - production & Post.
alanlacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost graphic files in timeline Jim N Editing with EDIUS 12 07-02-2016 11:33 AM
i cant import Graphic Files don.jallad Editing with EDIUS 2 07-28-2009 05:48 PM
Edius doesn't import graphic files ciroricci Editing with EDIUS 5 12-11-2008 05:28 PM
5.0 up grade procedure RonnieMartin Editing with EDIUS 3 11-16-2008 08:24 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.