Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2018, 09:49 PM   #1
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default reinstalling edius 9wg on new SSD

I want to upgrade my 256GB SSD that holds my OS and programs to a 512GB SSD, I am planning to do a fresh install of windows 10 on that new disk but just to be sure I don't mess up my edius 9WG activation what is the best way to do this?
Should I do a online deactivation?
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 10:15 PM   #2
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,535
Default

Yes. Deactivate before replacing the drive. Reactivate after re-installing.

You may have to do the same for other software too, so make yourself a list of anything that used an online activation process and look into those applications also.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 08:55 AM   #3
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

Thx for the info, it's only edius which leaves me in doubt everytime I re-install, never experience that with any other software I"m using because those just require entering a serialnr.
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 10:15 AM   #4
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,749
Default

I actually reinstall machines all the time and the EDIUS' activation is not a problem provided you remember that you only get two activations and can only deactivate twice in a month. If you are just reinstalling this should not be a problem unless something goes horribly wrong and you have to reinstall a few times so I make sure I have Windows up and running without issues before activating EDIUS.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 09:44 PM   #5
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

Thx, good to know.
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 9WG uses multicores better noafilm EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 54 01-07-2018 08:43 PM
Problem reinstalling Edius 6.5 unikam Editing with EDIUS 3 12-08-2017 11:39 PM
hd spark not compatible with amd platform and edius 9wg? noafilm EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 2 11-26-2017 11:09 PM
Reinstalling edius 8 problem Fotopyrczak Editing with EDIUS 1 04-21-2017 06:13 PM
Need help reinstalling Edius v7 Harro Editing with EDIUS 27 01-19-2015 08:15 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.