Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2011, 06:50 PM   #1
Barry Wilkes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 137
Default Slow motion with shutter

I have filmed some footage with the shutter at 100/sec and when i use slow motion it jerks. Is there a way round this. Thanks for your help.
Barry Wilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 08:04 PM   #2
mattie
Senior Member
 
mattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 991
Default

what was the original frame rate? Progressive or interlaced?

what slow mo speed are u trying to achieve?

shutter speed isnt as important as frame rate

to sloow shutter and u get blurring too much as u get stutter/flicker

1/100 s is about right for 25 or 50 fps
mattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 11:10 PM   #3
Barry Wilkes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 137
Default

Footage was interlaced i need around 33% normally this is great but is jerky now!
Barry Wilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 12:49 AM   #4
jaegersing
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lipa City, Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 252
Default

If the shutter speed is too high for the frame rate, you can try adding a small amount of motion blur. This should simulate a slower shutter.

Richard
jaegersing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 01:36 AM   #5
Red Union Films
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,029
Default

Hi Barry.

No matter what you do, you will not get anything to give you a smooth slow motion. Your shutter speed will not be of any help either, although it will make a difference to your normal speed. Edius can not do slow motion effects. Like you would get with say Avid or something else that either has filters or plugs that do proper motion adaptive frame interpolation.

I have used an Avid finishing system that does do compensated slow motion, it can look very good depending on how far you push it and the motion content of the frames. Aside from that, you want to look into exporting your clip from Edius, process it externally, and bring it back into Edius. Barring the obvious codec and bit depth issues, this is easily done.

You should maybe try altering how the speed control is dealing with the frame structure first, nearest frame etc. Altering these settings will give you obvious changes to the motion, that may be all you need, motion blur etc. is of no use to you.

Hope this helps.

Cheers.

Dave.
Red Union Films is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 05:15 AM   #6
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

Barry

Do what Dave said and use the options to get the best effect
If you have E6 select the "Field option" button
Select "None" for Processing option
and "Use nearest neighbor"

Wont be pristine but is the best I can achieve

Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 05:29 AM   #7
Khoi Pham
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,071
Default

De interlace it and use AE with frame blending set at pixel or dedicated slomo software if you must have good slomo.
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 07:36 AM   #8
Barry Wilkes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 137
Default

Thank for the help so far can you reccomend a external programe to process it in it is in HD thanks
Barry Wilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 03:27 PM   #9
Khoi Pham
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,071
Default

Twixtor will give you killer slomo. But no plugin for Edius :-( so you must use it with another program.
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:13 PM   #10
Barry Wilkes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 137
Default

There is no stand alone with this programme is ther another slo motion stand alone program i can use with hd thanks for the help so far.w
Barry Wilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow Motion / edius parameters vgtah Editing with EDIUS 17 07-15-2011 12:31 PM
Slow Motion Question mark williams Editing with EDIUS 4 06-05-2011 12:57 AM
Slow motion software Khoi Pham Editing with EDIUS 7 03-29-2011 06:18 AM
slow motion 5dmkii deebee69 Editing with EDIUS 2 09-07-2010 08:43 PM
poor slow motion with 4.6 foundy Editing with EDIUS 26 07-09-2008 02:11 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.