Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2012, 04:36 PM   #21
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Those random pop-ups really sound like the device is being detected, then later lost.
Which is usually indicative of either an intermittent connection or a lack of adequate power. Pretty much confirms the earlier diagnosis that the Firewire card is either bad, having a resource conflict, or need additional power.

Some cards have a 4-pin floppy style power connection on the card that can be connected directly to the power supply - sometimes they also have a jumper to choose between Internal and External power - if external power is connected, change it to External (all while the system is unplugged from power, of course).

It could also be some kind of intermittent short. Either way, probably better and faster to simply replace the card. :)
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 07:39 AM   #22
doclee
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks, Brandon.

Will do and let you know what happens.

Tony
doclee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capture stops in minutes, defective ADVC110, or what? Mazb ADVC 7 08-20-2008 06:09 AM
Watch Folder Stops Working Greg750 ProCoder 2 07-17-2007 03:45 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.