Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2008, 06:36 AM   #1
basak.santanu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: India
Posts: 10
Default How improve picture quality

I capture my footage with canopus ACEDVIo card and I export with procoder 2.0
in VCD or DVD format. If I capture from a DV source can I say that I am getting Best picture from that source.

If not please mention the card,and software from which I can get best picture if I capture from same DV source.

Previously I get your help. Now I need some more help

Thank you.
basak.santanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 09:59 AM   #2
Shakeel
Member
 
Shakeel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: India
Posts: 64
Default

If your footages on DV tape then yes! capturing from DV source will provide you best picture quality with no generation loss. And for this purpose ACEDVio is sufficient for you.

Last edited by Shakeel; 10-25-2008 at 10:06 AM.
Shakeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 06:23 AM   #3
basak.santanu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: India
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for your reply

From my thought the picture quality in DV camera and capture quality are not same.
Is it possible capture same quality as give DV camera.

AND After export in VCD with procoder 2.0, I getting pixel some times(its look like boxes) How I can remove that. OR how get better quality picture after export.
basak.santanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 01:39 AM   #4
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

How do you come to the conclusion that it is not the same? It's how you watch the result that can make you form an opinion that may not be correct.

Of course VCD is never going to look great because it's highly compressed Mpeg 1.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 06:20 AM   #5
basak.santanu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: India
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks
one things I have ACEDVIo card, this is not a direct mpeg capture card.
But by software I can capture directly in vcd format.(Ulead 8.0)

Can you say from which software I can get a good quality vcd and dvd capture footage directly from source.

If I capture from canopus Mpeg capture then how?
basak.santanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 04:41 PM   #6
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Wait, in your original post you say you capture with ACEDVio and then export with ProCoder 2.0?

Are you capturing with Ulead first? That would mean 2 x MPEG-1 compression. Or am I missing something?
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 10:18 AM   #7
basak.santanu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: India
Posts: 10
Default

Actually Some time I also capture footage directly in VCD or DVD format.
then I used ulead
But when capture in DV format used edius or premiere.

So I wanted to know ACEDVIo not support Canopus mpeg capture software(If possible please mention how?) . So i capture with ulead directly in vcd or dvd format.
pls mention from which software i can get better picture when directly capture in vcd or dvd format.
basak.santanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 04:53 PM   #8
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

MPEGcapture won't work with ACEDVio.

Ideally, the best method is to capture as DV, and then compress with ProCoder 2.0, using the highest allowable bitrate, and mastering quality settings. You can't get much better results than that...at least from ProCoder.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 10:52 PM   #9
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

While i never really tried often- from memory, back in the days when VCD was something- people in the forum were always saying that ProCoder 1.0 did not give good results in Mpeg 1 for VCD.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 05:14 AM   #10
basak.santanu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: India
Posts: 10
Default

One things I have to clarify again.
I live in India(Kolkata). The local Canopus Dealer tell that from EDIUS NX, I can get better picture quality after capture than ACEDVIo, If I capture from a same DV source.
Is it correct? mind it that I capture from a DV source(not Analog or HDV)

They tell me you can get uncompressed capture from DV source with Edius NX
that is better than ACEDVIO capture.
Pls give me idea about that.
Previously I get information from you that if I capture from a DV source, capture quality will be same.

second things
Can I get same Capture quality like ACEDVIO or Edius NX with a normal firewire card, if I capture from a same dv source.
basak.santanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC-110 picture quality and IRE issues frenchFry ADVC 3 04-20-2009 05:50 PM
Turn picture controller settings off to get best conversion? mason ADVC 1 09-26-2008 02:49 AM
3D Picture in Picture with transitions Kristen12 Editing with EDIUS 13 08-26-2008 12:33 AM
Can't figure out how to create higher quality QT mov in PC3. lalittle ProCoder 12 10-18-2007 04:00 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.