Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2018, 10:23 PM   #191
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,576
Default

That is a lot faster than mine as one would hope. The trancode in the bin was close to realtime for me. So what one would expect from a cpu with 4 times the cores !!!

Will have to look at the new cpu's when they come out in the next few months. Threadripper 2 or the new i9 9900K. The Intel solution would be less expensive and have QS too and with the 1080Ti would be good I think. Will see.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K,

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.5WG


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 05:41 PM   #192
IVPR
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: SA
Posts: 48
Default

For what it is worth, I disconnected my third monitor yesterday to disable QS totally and since then I have had no 'flashing' frames during timeline playback and the few mpeg2 (SD)exports I have done since yesterday are glitch-free.

I was experiencing exactly what Ron was experiencing in that frames from a second or two earlier where seen in my mpeg2 (SD) exports. I also sometimes had gliches/flashes while playing (avchd) footage on timeline. I never connected the two, but Ron, at one time, mentioned this. The glitches/flashes (which I now believe to be an errant frame popping up a second or two later) never really bothered me, but seemed to be getting more frequent and I believe QS is also supposed to help playback on the timeline. Although I mostly export to SD mpeg2 and QS is not part of that process, it is still 'active' on my system, having it available with a third (TV) monitor which is seldom on. From Ron's musings it came to me yesterday (rightly or wrongly) that QS assists with playback and also assists with export, albeit only with mp4. Somehow QS may be interfering with messing with the normal way Edius does things. It's too early to say that it has solved my problem for good, but a bit of food for thought. One must also take into account that Ron's system specs are way different to mine except we had only E8 and QS in common, I believe. I'm not sure whether Noa has QS, but his problem is also slightly different.

A month ago I loaded E7.53 and that definately solved the problem, but that is not a satisfactory, long-term solution. I then did a clean install of windows 7 Pro and that did not solve the problem. In desperation I upgraded to 9.2WG and that did not solve the problem. So here I am, hopefully errant-frame free, after unplugging an unused monitor! I must also add I do not mess with, or change, drivers. All my drivers are stock-standard and I try to keep it that way. Assuming QS is the problem, drivers could be the solution but will rather have no QS than trying to find drivers to solve the problem. I seldom made use of QS, anyway.

Hope this helps somebody.
__________________
Colin

Edius 9.20.3340 WG / Edius 7.53 (same drive) - HD Spark - on Win7 Pro 64 bit SP1 - Gigabyte Z77-D3H -Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - 32 GB Dual Channel DD3 @ 667MHz - 2048MB NVIDIA GeForce GT640 - Pioneer BD-RW BDR-206 and LG Optical Drives - VisTitle 2.5 - NeatVideo4 - TMPAW6 - TMPMW5 -TMPG mpeg plug-in(Edius 8) - Also Edius 6.08 on XP
IVPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 10:43 PM   #193
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,576
Default

I am not sure how EDIUS deals with multiple GPU's and wondered if the combination of iGPU and GTX was a problem, though Noa only has a GTX in his Threadripper with EDIUS 9. Removing one seems to effect the issue. In my case the GTX. Will try the monitor removal too later.

I do not appear to have any of these problems on my second PC, WIn7, i7 3770K with both iGPU and GTX660 working with EDIUS 7.5
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K,

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.5WG


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 04:23 AM   #194
IVPR
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: SA
Posts: 48
Default

Nor do I have the issue on the same PC with Edius 7.53....
__________________
Colin

Edius 9.20.3340 WG / Edius 7.53 (same drive) - HD Spark - on Win7 Pro 64 bit SP1 - Gigabyte Z77-D3H -Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - 32 GB Dual Channel DD3 @ 667MHz - 2048MB NVIDIA GeForce GT640 - Pioneer BD-RW BDR-206 and LG Optical Drives - VisTitle 2.5 - NeatVideo4 - TMPAW6 - TMPMW5 -TMPG mpeg plug-in(Edius 8) - Also Edius 6.08 on XP
IVPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 02:01 AM   #195
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,576
Default

Played a little and disconnected the monitor from the motherboard so QS does not work. However the iGPU is still used for timeline playback decode. Looking at TASK Manager both iGPU and 1080Ti run at about 35% for timeline playback. Source is GH5 UHD 60P in a 1920x1080 interlaced project so lots of scaling .

You may want to see if that is the same for you too IVPR. Encoded a HQ files from the timeline of about 1 hour and does not seem to have any defects as far as I can see. Will test again this way on the next project the end of August.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K,

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.5WG


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 07:02 AM   #196
IVPR
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: SA
Posts: 48
Default

Ok Ron, will check with task manager etc when I export again. Have exported 6x SD (switch to SD project settings) mpeg2 files since removing the monitor that enables QS. No issues.

My footage is avchd, some use of layouter and no use of PCC, in case I have to revert to E7 to do the export, which doesn't have PCC, but really feel confident that my issue is resolved. Time will tell.
__________________
Colin

Edius 9.20.3340 WG / Edius 7.53 (same drive) - HD Spark - on Win7 Pro 64 bit SP1 - Gigabyte Z77-D3H -Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - 32 GB Dual Channel DD3 @ 667MHz - 2048MB NVIDIA GeForce GT640 - Pioneer BD-RW BDR-206 and LG Optical Drives - VisTitle 2.5 - NeatVideo4 - TMPAW6 - TMPMW5 -TMPG mpeg plug-in(Edius 8) - Also Edius 6.08 on XP
IVPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 07:13 AM   #197
IVPR
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: SA
Posts: 48
Default

Sorry, forgot to mention that the reason I am confident, is that the random flashes while playing back on the timeline, are completely gone since disabling QS. It was your (Ron) mention of them that made me connect that with the export issue. So should the playback issue return, I will surely be in trouble again!
__________________
Colin

Edius 9.20.3340 WG / Edius 7.53 (same drive) - HD Spark - on Win7 Pro 64 bit SP1 - Gigabyte Z77-D3H -Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - 32 GB Dual Channel DD3 @ 667MHz - 2048MB NVIDIA GeForce GT640 - Pioneer BD-RW BDR-206 and LG Optical Drives - VisTitle 2.5 - NeatVideo4 - TMPAW6 - TMPMW5 -TMPG mpeg plug-in(Edius 8) - Also Edius 6.08 on XP
IVPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 02:24 PM   #198
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,576
Default

There is clearly a difference between iGPU decode and encode ( QS ). To be really sure one would need to ensure iGPU is not enabled in bios. Maybe yours is automatic if a monitor is not connected but I have mine set to always be active in bios.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K,

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.5WG


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 04:23 PM   #199
IVPR
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: SA
Posts: 48
Default

I'll check that when I get the chance.
__________________
Colin

Edius 9.20.3340 WG / Edius 7.53 (same drive) - HD Spark - on Win7 Pro 64 bit SP1 - Gigabyte Z77-D3H -Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - 32 GB Dual Channel DD3 @ 667MHz - 2048MB NVIDIA GeForce GT640 - Pioneer BD-RW BDR-206 and LG Optical Drives - VisTitle 2.5 - NeatVideo4 - TMPAW6 - TMPMW5 -TMPG mpeg plug-in(Edius 8) - Also Edius 6.08 on XP
IVPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 07:59 PM   #200
IVPR
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: SA
Posts: 48
Default

Seems the iGPU is set to 'Auto' in the bios.
__________________
Colin

Edius 9.20.3340 WG / Edius 7.53 (same drive) - HD Spark - on Win7 Pro 64 bit SP1 - Gigabyte Z77-D3H -Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - 32 GB Dual Channel DD3 @ 667MHz - 2048MB NVIDIA GeForce GT640 - Pioneer BD-RW BDR-206 and LG Optical Drives - VisTitle 2.5 - NeatVideo4 - TMPAW6 - TMPMW5 -TMPG mpeg plug-in(Edius 8) - Also Edius 6.08 on XP
IVPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dragging In and Out Point Segment Into Sequence Issues, Previous Frame Appears tuamater Editing with EDIUS 3 07-27-2017 01:09 AM
First frame not black on fade-in apply EDIUS 8.5 zvit Editing with EDIUS 16 05-09-2017 03:20 PM
Exporting Video with First and Last Frame of Black jwhite Editing with EDIUS 8 07-12-2011 09:51 PM
black point for export latcho Editing with EDIUS 9 10-21-2008 01:28 AM
Black Thumbnails in DVD Menu Export NakedEye Editing with EDIUS 7 06-11-2008 11:29 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.