Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2019, 10:04 AM   #1
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,133
Default Use of video filter : stabilizer and rolling shutter

Hello Ediusers,

One of my activities is "Digitilizing" old films (8 and S8) and video's. Clients are 90 % amateurs.... and the stability of the pictures is one of the weak point.

The video filter "stabilizer and rolling shutter" helps a lot. Applying the filter shows a message on screen during the calculation...and the result is visible only at the end of the procedure, of course. This needs a certain time .... and you may imagine how long for a complete film in 8 or S8 (generally about 30 minutes). Practically, I don't need to see the final result that is always much more better that the genuine take.

Here are my questions to "experienced users of these filters" to use it properly :

1) What filter to use : with or without "rolling shutter" ? Honestly I don't understand what means "rolling shutter"...

2) May I export "directly" to DVD or MP4 BEFORE process is visible (when message of calculation is still visible). Will Edius apply this filters silmutaneously during exportation ?

3) Will Edius memorize de correction when saving the project ? ... Or will Edius re-calculate the stabilization each time I re-open it ?

You may imagine that I want to spare time and avoid waiting the result, avoid exporting in HQX before editing (to prepare the final cut dedicated to DVD or MP4).

Thanks for your precious advices
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 10:30 AM   #2
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 480
Default

If I have to use the (Mercalli) stabiliser filter this is done on a per clip basis, which with DV is only a second or two. This initial stabilise render is held by Edius and no re rendering is needed when reopening the project later. Peter
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 12:48 PM   #3
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peterjames View Post
If I have to use the (Mercalli) stabiliser filter this is done on a per clip basis, which with DV is only a second or two. This initial stabilise render is held by Edius and no re rendering is needed when reopening the project later. Peter
Thanks. But nothing in the video effects inform or Mercalli stabilizer. May be it is, may be not. The one I use is in the default list of video filters. If I remember well, Mercalli was an ad-don from ProDad..
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 12:58 PM   #4
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 480
Default

Yes Mercalli is a paid for stabiliser plugin. Works similar to the Edius stabilise filter.
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 10:34 PM   #5
AJL14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,227
Default

Durieux - No need to use "rolling shutter" at all. This setting only pertains to cameras which have a CMOS video capture chip in the camera which scans the picture from top to bottom - thereby giving a "rolling" effect to moving objects. Film (such as 8/Hi8,VHS,Beta) does not exhibit this effect, therefore no need to turn it on.

Until the stabilizer has completed it's work, and shows up on the timeline, you cannot transfer the timeline to DVD with stabilizing. Takes a little patience - and I know of no other stabilizer that works instantly without analyzing and then applying - such as Mercalli. The one in EDIUS has proven to be pretty good, and faster than the Mercalli edition.

Good luck,
Alan
__________________
Alan J. Levi
Director

SYSTEM: ASUS P8Z77-VPro mobo, Intel 3770K CPU, 16 Gig Crucial 1866 RAM, Antec 1000W PS, EVGA nVidia 560Ti 1Gig Video, CoolerMaster CPU cooler, LG GGW-H20L BluRay DVD, SPARK card w/23" Samsung 1920x1080 Monitor, OCZ 240GB SSD boot in Swapable Tray & 3 WD Enterprise 1TB video RAID 5 HDD's. 4.5TB RAID 1 Outboard backups, Behringer2000 Audio Fader/Controller
AJL14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 09:09 AM   #6
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJL14 View Post
Durieux - No need to use "rolling shutter" at all. This setting only pertains to cameras which have a CMOS video capture chip in the camera which scans the picture from top to bottom - thereby giving a "rolling" effect to moving objects. Film (such as 8/Hi8,VHS,Beta) does not exhibit this effect, therefore no need to turn it on.

Until the stabilizer has completed it's work, and shows up on the timeline, you cannot transfer the timeline to DVD with stabilizing. Takes a little patience - and I know of no other stabilizer that works instantly without analyzing and then applying - such as Mercalli. The one in EDIUS has proven to be pretty good, and faster than the Mercalli edition.

Good luck,
Alan
Thank you Alan for your advice. It confirms others. I have to calculate a raisonnable price to add this stabilizer that is really necessary for a major amateurs films....
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 09:21 AM   #7
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,133
Default

Another question about stabilization....

After applying the filter on, let'say, a reel of 30 minutes....and waiting for the result... What happend if I begin to edit... cuting bad zones, doing dissolve...

Will all these new segments (clip) hold the stabilization precalculate.

In other words will these new segments stay with this stabilization filter calculated as they hold other filters such as colors corrections, sharpness, etc...
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.

Last edited by Haddock; 02-11-2019 at 09:43 AM.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 12:18 PM   #8
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,417
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haddock View Post
Another question about stabilization....

After applying the filter on, let'say, a reel of 30 minutes....and waiting for the result... What happend if I begin to edit... cuting bad zones, doing dissolve...

Will all these new segments (clip) hold the stabilization precalculate.

In other words will these new segments stay with this stabilization filter calculated as they hold other filters such as colors corrections, sharpness, etc...
I'm pretty sure you will have to re-calculate stabilization after making edits, since the cuts will alter the tracking data that the stabilizer generates.

You could always try it in a small piece first to confirm though.
__________________
Edius WG 9.40.5106, various 3rd party plugins, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).

Last edited by BernH; 02-11-2019 at 02:47 PM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 12:48 PM   #9
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
I'm pretty sure you will have to re-calculate stabilization after making edits, since the cuts will alter the tracking data there the stabilizer generates.

You could always try it in a small piece first to confirm though.
Thanks for this advice. So I should first edit... and then add the "stabilizer" to all clips created in the timeline....
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 04:26 PM   #10
Geoff_C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warwick UK
Posts: 453
Default

Are you aware that you can apply Mercalli to clips and leave 'analysis required' to say a coffee break. At that point go to tools Mercalli batch analysis and start a batch process.
If you have applied Mercalli to any clips it is well worth while going to 'Tools' before rendering.

Geoff
__________________
Sys1: Gigabyte Z370 HD3 i7 8086K(4.3Ghz), 16Gb ram, 256Gb SSD system + 2x2Tb video drives, Graphics: nVidia 1060 (W10 Pro) E8v3
Sys2 :Clevo i7 6700HQ 3.5Ghz,16Gb ram 2565Gb SSD + 1Tb (W10 Pro)
Software: E8v3 WG; Sony Vegas Pro13; DVD Architect 5.2
Geoff_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filter Stabilzer and rolling shutter Haddock Editing with EDIUS 3 09-20-2018 02:21 PM
Stabilizer and rolling shutter - what's RS? zvit Editing with EDIUS 4 11-25-2012 05:38 PM
Rolling shutter Pete Editing with EDIUS 3 05-22-2012 01:18 AM
E6 and Blue Rolling Shutter Filter John Lewis Editing with EDIUS 8 11-16-2010 05:09 PM
Is there a fix for CMOS rolling shutter issue GuyS Editing with EDIUS 8 09-19-2009 10:43 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.