Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2019, 11:14 PM   #1
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 480
Default Win 10 1709 upgrade to 1809 with E8.5 WG

I am considering upgrading my Win 10 Pro edit PC from version 1709 to 1809. I will probably do this using an ISO downloaded from MS and use to upgrade and tick the box to 'Keep personal files and Apps'

Will Edius 8.5 WG still run okay after the upgrade or will it lose the activation data and need reactivating or will the upgrade not interfere with Edius?

The edit PC is normally offline so I do not want to deactivate and reactivate unless absolutely needed. I originally activated Edius 8 WG offline but not sure if it can be de activated offline?

Full system backups/images will be made before upgrading windows just in case there are problems. Thanks Peter
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 01:17 AM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,634
Default

Since you have been running 1709(October 2017) for a while, I would suggest waiting until 1903 is released. This should happen between now and the end of April. I would also suggest doing a clean install of 1903 instead of an upgrade.

Over time, Windows stores files to which you do not have access. These build up and can 'bogg down' your system. I'm running 1803 and was going to do a clean install with 1809. With 1809 having major issues I decided to hold off.

The one thing I will also suggest, is to clone your system. Having a clean clone not only gives you the best Virus and Maleware protection, it also allows you to update your system without risk, and using it to clone your system drive will keep the drive clean of those pesky built up files.

This is computer maintenance 101.

Drives are cheap. I bought a Samsung EVO 860 500GB SSD for $77 and a Crucial 500GB SSD for $57. I've been using the Samsung Migration software to clone my drive when the destination SSD is a Samsung. This works quite well. I'll be doing a clean install when 1903 is officially released using these drives.

I know this sounds like a lot of work and it is, but doing a clean install from time to time is an excellent option to keep your system working smoothly, IMHO.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 11:20 AM   #3
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,728
Default

I have been using 1809 for ages and only had one minor problem related to it - with a laptop where the power saving software would not dim the screen on batteries with 1809 and it did with 1803.

I must say, I do edit with EDIUS 9 all the time, rather than EDIUS 8.

Although, with a new one round the corner it is probably best to wait as Jerry suggests.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 11:43 AM   #4
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 480
Default

Thanks to Jerry and David for your helpful advice.

My system has a 250GB Samsung 960 M.2 NVMe fitted to the Motherboard for the OS, not sure how to clone that. I have cloned my previous systems with SSD drives quite easily. Will do some research on the Samsung site. The PC is only used for editing so may decide to leave it on 1709 and upgrade later. Peter

Edit: My Asus TUF X299 Mk2 MB has a spare M.2 socket. Just need to order another Samsung M.2 drive and clone. Should I keep to exact same model and size of drive to avoid any activation problems with software etc ?

Edit Update; Have decided to play safe and order same model 960 M.2 as currently installed.

Last edited by Peterjames; 03-19-2019 at 05:35 PM.
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 02:29 PM   #5
Geoff_C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warwick UK
Posts: 455
Default

Peter;
The 'clone' drive is external to the donor pc. Windows does not seem to like having two identical versions of the OS on the same pc. Best to deactivate Edius before cloning otherwise you can loose an activation.
After cloning I normally swap the drives and test the clone. Reactivate Edius.
Assuming all is well I leave the clone in place, then label and stored in a safe place.
G
__________________
Sys1: Gigabyte Z370 HD3 i7 8086K(4.3Ghz), 16Gb ram, 256Gb SSD system + 2x2Tb video drives, Graphics: nVidia 1060 (W10 Pro) E8v3
Sys2 :Clevo i7 6700HQ 3.5Ghz,16Gb ram 2565Gb SSD + 1Tb (W10 Pro)
Software: E8v3 WG; Sony Vegas Pro13; DVD Architect 5.2
Geoff_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 02:36 PM   #6
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 480
Default

Thanks Geoff.
I was only planning to fit the 2nd M.2 NVMe drive for cloning and then remove the original drive and fit the new drive in its place. Peter
__________________
i9-7900X OC, Asus TUF X299 Mk2 MB, 32GB Mem, 250GB Samsung 960 Evo M,2 NVMe for OS, HDDs for work files, GTX1080Ti 11GB, Win10 Pro 1809, Edius 8.5 WG, Sony FS7 main camera
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 06:56 PM   #7
JohnnyD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 717
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peterjames View Post
My system has a 250GB Samsung 960 M.2 NVMe fitted to the Motherboard for the OS, not sure how to clone that. I have cloned my previous systems with SSD drives quite easily.
currently installed.
I bought a M.2 adapter to SSD SATA Enclosure . Works good. Cheap.

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...4505-_-Product
__________________
Edius7, 4790K, 16G, Win7, GTX970ti MatroxLE
2nd Sys.,Edius5.51, 2700K, 16G, GTX1060, Win7
Atari 400
JohnFellersProd
JohnnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 08:56 PM   #8
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyD View Post
I bought a M.2 adapter to SSD SATA Enclosure . Works good. Cheap.

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...4505-_-Product
Thanks for your input John.
As I said in my earlier post I found my motherboard has a 2nd M.2 NVMe socket so I can use that for cloning, however some boards only have one M.2 socket so your alternative could be useful. There are also other makes of PCIe to M.2 adaptors available for people with a spare PCIe x4 slot on their MB. Peter
__________________
i9-7900X OC, Asus TUF X299 Mk2 MB, 32GB Mem, 250GB Samsung 960 Evo M,2 NVMe for OS, HDDs for work files, GTX1080Ti 11GB, Win10 Pro 1809, Edius 8.5 WG, Sony FS7 main camera
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 12:18 AM   #9
Geoff_C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warwick UK
Posts: 455
Default

Not sure that PC will boot if two identical instances of windows installed on PC. PC will boot if copy/clone is connected via external data.

Geoff
__________________
Sys1: Gigabyte Z370 HD3 i7 8086K(4.3Ghz), 16Gb ram, 256Gb SSD system + 2x2Tb video drives, Graphics: nVidia 1060 (W10 Pro) E8v3
Sys2 :Clevo i7 6700HQ 3.5Ghz,16Gb ram 2565Gb SSD + 1Tb (W10 Pro)
Software: E8v3 WG; Sony Vegas Pro13; DVD Architect 5.2
Geoff_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 12:06 PM   #10
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff_C View Post
Not sure that PC will boot if two identical instances of windows installed on PC. PC will boot if copy/clone is connected via external data.

Geoff
Geoff, as I said in post 6 above I was only planning to fit the 2nd M.2 NVMe drive for cloning and then remove the original drive M.2 and fit the new drive in its place on the MB.

This is my intended procedure.
When I fit the new 2nd M.2 drive to the MB it will not have any data or OS on it. I will then boot up as normal and use Samsung migration tool to clone to the new drive. Then I will shut down the PC and remove the original M.2 drive and relocate the new cloned M.2 drive in its place. The original M.2 will be stored away from the PC in case needed in future. I will then reboot the PC (using the new M.2 drive) and then upgrade Win10 and software as required.

I am rather confused as I thought this procedure should work okay. I have used a similar method with SATA drives without issue. Perhaps you can enlighten me where I may be going wrong? thanks Peter
__________________
i9-7900X OC, Asus TUF X299 Mk2 MB, 32GB Mem, 250GB Samsung 960 Evo M,2 NVMe for OS, HDDs for work files, GTX1080Ti 11GB, Win10 Pro 1809, Edius 8.5 WG, Sony FS7 main camera
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 8 and Win 10: after Win 10 update I got a worry with NX PCI Express card Ulisse Editing with EDIUS 8 09-26-2018 06:05 AM
Forgot to Deactivate 8.22 Before Clean Install Upgrade to Win 10 Alter Ego Editing with EDIUS 6 10-18-2016 03:24 PM
E8.11 WG and multicam (slow-down) Marc44 Editing with EDIUS 30 05-24-2016 05:19 PM
E8.1WG and Win 10 64pro wihe Editing with EDIUS 13 05-16-2016 09:50 PM
E8 WG and the bin DigitalDave Editing with EDIUS 4 08-04-2015 09:14 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.