Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2018, 01:32 AM   #1
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,427
Default Edius Stabilizer Question

Hello,

I use Edius 8.53 and have a question about the Stabilizer effect. If I have a 1080p project but use 4k footage on the timeline, how does the stabilizer interact with this footage?

Do we get the benefit of the 4k resolution on the 1080p timeline when the image is zoomed for the effect or does the stabilizer only work with the resolution of the project resulting in some blurriness?

If Edius's effect only uses the project settings does Mercalli do the same?

Thanks!
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.6GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 8.53.2808WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 01:46 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,068
Default

since the stabilizer is automatically placed above layouter, it will apply to the whole 4k clip

you can achieve the same with mercalli if you drag it above layouter in info palette
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 05:10 AM   #3
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,427
Default

Thanks. Just wanted to make sure the way it was written is beneficial to shooting in higher resolutions.
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.6GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 8.53.2808WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 04:27 PM   #4
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,427
Default

Follow up Anton...

So I guess the Layouter represents the downconversion point when working with higher resolution footage?

Does this mean that anything that would benefit from being applied to a 4k clip on a 1080p timeline should be put above the layouter?

So a good approach might be to put the layouter last in a stack of color correction and sharpness for example? Or chromakey etc...

Thanks.
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.6GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 8.53.2808WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 06:44 PM   #5
kpot
Senior Member
 
kpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WN, Austria
Posts: 993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassman View Post
Follow up Anton...
So I guess the Layouter represents the downconversion point when working with higher resolution footage?
Does this mean that anything that would benefit from being applied to a 4k clip on a 1080p timeline should be put above the layouter?
So a good approach might be to put the layouter last in a stack of color correction and sharpness for example? Or chromakey etc...
Thanks.
If you have e.g. an UHD clip in the timeline: Take a look in the layouter (size) - it shows a percentage which corresponds to the project-settings:
- Project = UHD: Layouter shows 100%.
- Project = FHD: Layouter shows 200%.

If the layouter shows for a 4k-clip 100% then you can place your effects anywhere (some exceptions as e.g. the stabilizer effect, NeatVideo, Mercalli etc.) which must/should reside on top of the effect stack.
Regards kurt
__________________
Intel core i7-6700K / ASUS Z170A / 32 GB RAM / Intel HD Graphics 530 / SSD Systemdrive / Gigabyte GeForce GT 1070 / Win-10/64 Pro (V-1809) / EDIUS-9.51 WG / Mercalli V2 and V4 Plugin (64bit) / Zonealarm(Firewall etc) / ImgBurn / PhantomDrive / PowerDVD etc.
// Read > Test > Understand
kpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 12:48 AM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,068
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassman View Post
Follow up Anton...

So I guess the Layouter represents the downconversion point when working with higher resolution footage?

Does this mean that anything that would benefit from being applied to a 4k clip on a 1080p timeline should be put above the layouter?

So a good approach might be to put the layouter last in a stack of color correction and sharpness for example? Or chromakey etc...

Thanks.
I always place the Robuskey chroma keyer above the layouter as this then allows me to move and size the vision with the layouter without any side effects

color correction filters don't need to be above
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 04:03 AM   #7
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,427
Default

Thanks. Well, if everything above the layouter is at its true resolution, then all filters would benefit from being applied to a larger frame before downsampling.

I never knew the filter stack had access to the original file. I thought the project settings forced everything down to their size and only the layouter itself had access to the original file info for scaling.

Can you confirm this technically?
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.6GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 8.53.2808WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 04:06 AM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,068
Default

yes, everything above layouter accesses the original res file
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 04:16 AM   #9
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,427
Default

Great. Thank you. I learn something new about this software all the time!
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.6GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 8.53.2808WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 02:00 AM   #10
Steady Hand
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassman View Post
(...)If I have a 1080p project but use 4k footage on the timeline, how does the stabilizer interact with this footage?(...)
AFAIK, there is one advantage: Usually the stabilizer zooms the image to create some extra border to be cut away when moving the original frames within the resulting frame (avoiding black borders). That creates somewhat blurred videos (looking less sharp). With a higher resolution EDIUS never has to upscale the video for the stabilizer, and your videos should look good.
Steady Hand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 8 stabilizer vs Mercalli zvit Editing with EDIUS 1 03-28-2016 11:33 AM
Mercalli or Edius stabilizer? Cobra427 EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 9 10-08-2015 03:54 PM
Edius 7.31 stabilizer Khoi Pham Editing with EDIUS 14 08-07-2014 01:22 AM
Edius Stabilizer enhancement? mattie Editing with EDIUS 3 12-07-2012 06:59 PM
Edius 6.5 video stabilizer zvit Editing with EDIUS 29 07-30-2012 05:52 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.