Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2016, 05:23 AM   #1
psheaffe
Junior Member
 
psheaffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5
Default Audio drift issue, audio out of Sync on playback

Hi,

We're using Edius 8.11 . This is our first project since upgrading to Edius 8.10.

Whenever we playback any file or timeline in Edius, the audio drifts out of sync within 30 seconds. It starts off in synced correctly then drifts out of sync, if you pause and restart playback, it starts in sync and drifts out again.
We've tried, using a different sound cards, making sure the file and the project were both 48Khz, playing files locally and off the NAS, using different files formats, but the issue remains.
__________________
Paul Sheaffe
Pauls Productions

Edius 9.2.
1. ASUSTek Sabertooth X79, i7-3930K 3.2GHz 6-core, 12GB RAM, GeForce GTX970. SSD + RAID

2. Gigabyte H81M-S2PV, i7-4790 4-core, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 750 Ti. SSD + RAID
psheaffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 06:19 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,063
Default

this usually happens when you have variable bitrate mp3 on the timeline, if yes, convert them to wav 48k
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 02:23 AM   #3
psheaffe
Junior Member
 
psheaffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
this usually happens when you have variable bitrate mp3 on the timeline, if yes, convert them to wav 48k
We used the same camera footage on another machine with Edius and didn't have the issue.
__________________
Paul Sheaffe
Pauls Productions

Edius 9.2.
1. ASUSTek Sabertooth X79, i7-3930K 3.2GHz 6-core, 12GB RAM, GeForce GTX970. SSD + RAID

2. Gigabyte H81M-S2PV, i7-4790 4-core, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 750 Ti. SSD + RAID
psheaffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 02:26 AM   #4
psheaffe
Junior Member
 
psheaffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
this usually happens when you have variable bitrate mp3 on the timeline, if yes, convert them to wav 48k
The issue is only on this particular machine. We tried another computer with Edius 8.1 using the same camera footage and didn't have the issue.
__________________
Paul Sheaffe
Pauls Productions

Edius 9.2.
1. ASUSTek Sabertooth X79, i7-3930K 3.2GHz 6-core, 12GB RAM, GeForce GTX970. SSD + RAID

2. Gigabyte H81M-S2PV, i7-4790 4-core, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 750 Ti. SSD + RAID
psheaffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 02:34 AM   #5
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,756
Default

Then I would import the profile and project preset from the good machine to the bad one
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 07:16 PM   #6
moxi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: sacramento
Posts: 1
Default

This worked for me... uninstall anything associated with Edius (Canopus, Grass Valley, and Edius) using IOBit uninstaller (freeware). Make sure to delete the registry using IOBit too. And then go into regedit and delete all associated registry from there. Restart computer and reinstall Edius. If that doesn't work then also download K-Lite codec pack.
moxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 09:50 PM   #7
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moxi View Post
This worked for me... uninstall anything associated with Edius (Canopus, Grass Valley, and Edius) using IOBit uninstaller (freeware). Make sure to delete the registry using IOBit too. And then go into regedit and delete all associated registry from there. Restart computer and reinstall Edius. If that doesn't work then also download K-Lite codec pack.
I would not use K-Lite as it has been known to cause problems with EDIUS.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Audio Playback - audio meter present and working XyLiOS Editing with EDIUS 4 06-12-2013 03:33 AM
audio/video sync issue Hutch TV Editing with EDIUS 19 05-03-2013 12:18 AM
Audio out of sync dreaux Editing with EDIUS 3 04-28-2011 04:33 AM
Audio Sync Drift MPEG to Quicktime Greg750 ProCoder 9 07-18-2007 11:03 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.