Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2015, 02:26 PM   #1
roxynik
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 60
Default HQX is not progressive from Davinci to Edius?

Hi guys i'm using Davinci to grade my shots in progressive from the Bmpcc and then export the clips from Davinci in HQX for Edius 7.4. but when i import the clips in Edius and go to see the info screen ov the file its not progressive? why?is it a bug of Edius?
thanks.
roxynik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 02:49 PM   #2
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,934
Default

At what frame rate are you working?
On one hand Edius has issues on detecting the right field order of MOV clips at 25 fps.
On the other hand may DaVinci does not set the right field order?

Andreas

Last edited by Andreas_Gumm; 01-11-2015 at 02:59 PM.
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 03:03 PM   #3
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,934
Default

HQX AVI export is not possible in DaVinci.
It supports QuickTime codec only on export.
That's why Edius became a native HQX MOV export.

Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 03:19 PM   #4
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by More4K View Post
Ok, but it does import?
I don't think so, not care about it.
It's equal, he stated that field order is not recognized when it comes back to Edius.

Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 02:01 AM   #5
Woody Sanford
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 118
Default

It's Resolve I beleive. If you drop clips in resolve to grade then export and load in Edius you will get "Upper Field". If you export .aaf from Edius for a round trip and copy clips to HQX during the export, Then export HQX and the .aaf of the resolve project and then open that in Edius it will read "Progressive" in the filed properties.

I don't use Resolve for trimming or setting up my rough edit so I always start in Edius anyway. Resolve doesn't seem to like it when I try to feed it linear pcm either but will take the pcm wav from the Edius copy just fine. So copy clips during the Edius .aaf export solves it all for Resolve. Grading I do for others that I start in resolve I don't bring into Edius so I couldn't say I've seen anything about the clips that read as "Upper Field" really have anything wrong with them or if its just metedata mixup.

The only way I've seen Resolve export proper HQX progressive is if that's what you feed it.
Woody Sanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 09:24 AM   #6
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,571
Default

If you check! Your files are actually progressive and Edius is simply not detecting them correctly. Change the clip properties in Edius and all is well. At least that has been our experience. Our work flow starts with raw dng in resolve and goes to hqx conform for post then back to resolve for finish with final grading taking place on the raw.

HTH
Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 12:32 AM   #7
roxynik
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 60
Default

My project in Davinci and in Edius is progressive 25p, i do a test after all your replay thank you, and made an export from davinci with the AAF file now when i import the AAF project in Edius in the window info it says that its progressive but if i click on a single clip on the timeline it's not progressive but superior field so i think it's a problem in edius.
roxynik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 01:33 AM   #8
Woody Sanford
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 118
Default

Well its certainly not just Resolve. Just on a whim I ran the same clip through Resolve, After Effects and Sony Vegas 12. All progressive and exporting QT HQX. They all read as "Upper Field" under the properties in Edius. I know when I export .AAF from Edius and then back again from Resolve, it shows proper progressive but I also know the exports were progressive from other software. The clips are progressive but for some reason it's just not reading it so.

Edit: Tried a .AVI out of AE in HQX and it showed as "Upper Field" as well.

Last edited by Woody Sanford; 01-13-2015 at 01:55 AM.
Woody Sanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 01:05 PM   #9
Woody Sanford
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 118
Default

Prior to the .avi, the files I exported out of resolve, AE and Vegas were QT HQX .MOV files and they read as upper field.

Last edited by Woody Sanford; 01-13-2015 at 05:35 PM.
Woody Sanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 11:09 AM   #10
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,571
Default

Hi Guys!

It has been this way I think since HQ/HQX QT codecs came out, there used to be a footnote highlighting the known issue. I think it only affects certain framrates. Be good if they fix it.

Best
Dave
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 7 (.31) and Davinci Resolve 11 workflow robilonk EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 1 09-03-2014 06:30 PM
Edius 6.5 with DaVinci Resolve 10 Lite -. Workflow istvan Editing with EDIUS 7 11-27-2013 02:37 PM
RED, Davinci, EDIUS workflow GrassValley_PS Editing with EDIUS 1 11-04-2013 11:23 PM
What workflow Edius 7.20 EDL round trip Davinci Resolve robilonk Editing with EDIUS 3 10-08-2013 02:43 PM
Edius 7 and Davinci Lite Alpha Video Editing with EDIUS 7 08-26-2013 03:12 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.