Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2014, 10:14 PM   #31
jimstamos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: houston
Posts: 850
Default

ive never done, thus the question.
so based on my specs, will 256 b good or 512 necessary
jimstamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 10:41 PM   #32
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

The price difference between a 256GB and 512GB drive is not that large, especially if you take advantage of Fourth of July deals that are still going on.

I would play it safe and go with a drive that allows room for some growth. Additionally, the drives with a higher storage capacity tend to be somewhat faster because they typically have more dies (NAND chips), so the controller in the SSD can better parallelize the I/O operations -- it is somewhat analogous to RAID0.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 11:08 PM   #33
Geoff_C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warwick UK
Posts: 456
Default

Recently used Anton’s method (post 15) and it worked perfectly. Initial HDD was 330Gb.
Cleaned out general rubbish using 'Ccleaner' (free), also cleared out a load of old restore points using the same tool (left last 4) and then defragged the drive. After applying ‘shrink’ the partition shrank to 1266Gb which is an easy fit onto a 256Gb SSD.

After the initial first boot some drivers were added automatically and a reboot message came up. After that it was just a fast boot every time

Don’t forget that you still have your original system disc and a separate disc image should things should go wrong.
__________________
Sys1: Gigabyte Z370 HD3 i7 8086K(4.3Ghz), 16Gb ram, 256Gb SSD system + 2x2Tb video drives, Graphics: nVidia 1060 (W10 Pro) E8v3
Sys2 :Clevo i7 6700HQ 3.5Ghz,16Gb ram 2565Gb SSD + 1Tb (W10 Pro)
Software: E8v3 WG; Sony Vegas Pro13; DVD Architect 5.2
Geoff_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 02:26 AM   #34
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimstamos View Post
ive never done, thus the question.
so based on my specs, will 256 b good or 512 necessary
I can answer that as soon as you tell me how far the C drive shrinks in diskmanangement, you can check without comitting
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 03:26 AM   #35
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

You don't need to shrink the partition in order to clone it with Acronis TrueImage. It will adjust the size(s) of your partition(s) during the clone operation, accounting for both larger and smaller drives. Moving to a smaller drive just requires enough space for the actual used portion of the source drive.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 03:47 AM   #36
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,060
Default

that is correct, no need with Acronics (not free)

however, if using the free Win7 image tool, he needs to shrink the volume (takes 2 seconds)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 10:22 PM   #37
jimstamos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: houston
Posts: 850
Default

normal space anton was i had 393 out of 465 free, so most of it.
when i shrunk it, i was using 72 out of 191
jimstamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 02:49 AM   #38
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimstamos View Post
normal space anton was i had 393 out of 465 free, so most of it.
when i shrunk it, i was using 72 out of 191
can you just give me one figure, what is the size of the C after shrinking in disk management (not interested in used space)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 06:02 AM   #39
jimstamos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: houston
Posts: 850
Default



263 is the size
jimstamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 06:23 AM   #40
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimstamos View Post


263 is the size
in that case you need to get a 500GB SSD if you want to use the Win7 image tool

luckily 500GB SSD got a lot cheaper now
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hybrid drives and Samsung SSD? John Hooper EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 2 12-16-2013 01:08 AM
change to SSD henry poon Editing with EDIUS 20 12-15-2012 01:43 PM
SSD for video drives burnandreturn EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 3 04-29-2012 10:29 AM
SSD hybrid rando EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 12 11-10-2011 02:40 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.