Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2010, 04:51 PM   #1
Fred Dwyer
Senior Member
 
Fred Dwyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Connecticut, U.S.A.
Posts: 540
Default SATA 2, or SATA 3 drive?

Just about to order a WD Caviar black, 1 tb drive. That seems easy enough, but now there are two versions, a SATA 2 (300 Gb/s) with a 32 MB cache and a SATA 3 (600 Gb/s) with a 64 MB cache. The choice seems obvious, take the faster drive with the bigger cache. Of course since I am not running a SATA 3 (600 Gb/s) controller, I should not expect data transfer rates any greater than 300 Gb/s. I am running the SATA drives under a DELL SAS controller. I would think though that the larger cache would be of some benefit.
So much for my guesses. Is there any reason I should buy the SATA 2 drive rather than the new, latest and greatest SATA 3 version?
__________________
Fred D
Win 7 Pro-64 bit, EDIUS Workgroup 8.5, Intel Ivy Bridge i5, ASUS P8Z77-V-LK, 8GB Kningston DDR3, Pioneer BDR-209UBK, EVGA NVIDEA GEForce GT630, Corsair TX750M 750w Power Supply, 4 WD Black HDD for 3.15TB, ACEDVIO, Spark HD, eSATA controller, ANTEC 300 case.
Fred Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 03:18 AM   #2
Fred Dwyer
Senior Member
 
Fred Dwyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Connecticut, U.S.A.
Posts: 540
Default

Well, since no one had any additional thoughts about this one, I have ordered the SATA 3 version of the WD Caviar black 1 TB drive. If it proves to be anything other than satisfactory I'll let you know. Oddly, BUY.COM is selling this SATA 3 version for a few dollars less than the SATA 2 version. BUY.COM was not the lowest price vendor, but I had a good sized credit there from using their VISA card. That card is being discontinued and holders have a limited time frame in which to redeem such credits.
__________________
Fred D
Win 7 Pro-64 bit, EDIUS Workgroup 8.5, Intel Ivy Bridge i5, ASUS P8Z77-V-LK, 8GB Kningston DDR3, Pioneer BDR-209UBK, EVGA NVIDEA GEForce GT630, Corsair TX750M 750w Power Supply, 4 WD Black HDD for 3.15TB, ACEDVIO, Spark HD, eSATA controller, ANTEC 300 case.
Fred Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 03:32 AM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,037
Default

what are you using it for

I always get the WD BYS 24/7 enterprise sata 2 drives, they are dearer but more reliable
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?DriveID=503
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 04:11 AM   #4
Fred Dwyer
Senior Member
 
Fred Dwyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Connecticut, U.S.A.
Posts: 540
Default

Anton:
Just need a little more space for video files. I have 3 WD Caviar Black 640 GB drives one of which holds my OS. Then there are 4 other drives, one with a second OS installed, and two of which are only USB connected (not good for much other than backup). I have 3 projects in the system, and I've just about max'ed it out. I'll probably replace a 250 GB drive with the new one, or maybe add another eSata dock for it. Just need to reorganize my files. This is a part time retirement business for me. I certainly understand your practice of using the enterprise drives, and I would do the same if I did the volume of business I expect you do. Thanks for your note.
__________________
Fred D
Win 7 Pro-64 bit, EDIUS Workgroup 8.5, Intel Ivy Bridge i5, ASUS P8Z77-V-LK, 8GB Kningston DDR3, Pioneer BDR-209UBK, EVGA NVIDEA GEForce GT630, Corsair TX750M 750w Power Supply, 4 WD Black HDD for 3.15TB, ACEDVIO, Spark HD, eSATA controller, ANTEC 300 case.
Fred Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:05 AM   #5
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Just an FYI. My first foray into SATA 6Gb/s was a disaster.

There is no native Windows 7 drivers for SATA 6Gb/s so if you wish to load Windows to one such drive on a compatible controler you do need to load the driver at Windows install. However, the suplied driver by Gigabyte just did not work and Windows install went nowhere.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 02:34 PM   #6
Fred Dwyer
Senior Member
 
Fred Dwyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Connecticut, U.S.A.
Posts: 540
Default

Oh Mark! With that kind of information I would have ordered the SATA 3Gb/s version. Were you setting it up on a 6Gb/s controller? Did you try setting up the drive to run at 3Gb/s? Do I understand correctly that you were trying to use this drive as your OS drive (C:)? Guess I'll just have to live in "worry" mode for a few days till the drive gets here. Thanks for your info. If it won't work I'll at least have an idea why that is.
__________________
Fred D
Win 7 Pro-64 bit, EDIUS Workgroup 8.5, Intel Ivy Bridge i5, ASUS P8Z77-V-LK, 8GB Kningston DDR3, Pioneer BDR-209UBK, EVGA NVIDEA GEForce GT630, Corsair TX750M 750w Power Supply, 4 WD Black HDD for 3.15TB, ACEDVIO, Spark HD, eSATA controller, ANTEC 300 case.
Fred Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:08 PM   #7
Blast1
Senior Member
 
Blast1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
I would have ordered the SATA 3Gb/s version
The SATA 6G are backward compatible with SATA 3G hardware, I just dropped one into a 3G docking station and off it ran as a 3GB/s
__________________
GA-EP45C-DSR3,Core2Q3ghz,8gig1066,260GTX,2x 20"AOC,22"Vizio1080pTV, Edius5/HDspark,PC3,Imaginate, CS5ProdStudio/IntensityPro,Win7_64
HPdv7t 17"notebook,8gig,2 IntHD,9600GT512M,17"extmon, Edius4.61,CS4Prodstudio.Win7_64,MX02Mini
DAW,HPdv9000,x2Turion,4Gig,2IntHD,Audition3,Cubase 4,XPpro,Alessis F/Wmixer,M-Audio F/Wmixer,BCF2000, BehringerMixers, Fender sound sys
Numerous Ext eSATA drives & Raids shared between systems
Blast1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 10:44 PM   #8
Fred Dwyer
Senior Member
 
Fred Dwyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Connecticut, U.S.A.
Posts: 540
Default

Brian, thanks for the note. That's what I expected when I ordered it, but was looking for confirmation. Sometimes "backward compatible" comes with a few "if's."
[/worry]
__________________
Fred D
Win 7 Pro-64 bit, EDIUS Workgroup 8.5, Intel Ivy Bridge i5, ASUS P8Z77-V-LK, 8GB Kningston DDR3, Pioneer BDR-209UBK, EVGA NVIDEA GEForce GT630, Corsair TX750M 750w Power Supply, 4 WD Black HDD for 3.15TB, ACEDVIO, Spark HD, eSATA controller, ANTEC 300 case.
Fred Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 04:19 AM   #9
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Sorry if I lacked detail Fred.

Basically it would not work as an operating system drive on the 6Gb/s controller. I had to move it to the 3Gb/s controller to install Windows (which worked fine). I am sure it would have been Ok as a video drive on the 6Gb/s controller because the driver could be loaded after Windows... so no need to worry if it's going on a normal controller.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 01:03 AM   #10
Fred Dwyer
Senior Member
 
Fred Dwyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Connecticut, U.S.A.
Posts: 540
Default

Just to wrap it up ------------- I've installed the 6Gb/s drive on my 3Gb/s controller with no problems. In fact I've installed it on both the SATA and the SAS controllers and it works fine on either one.

And a big thank you to you, Anton, Mark, and Brian. Your contributions much appreciated.
__________________
Fred D
Win 7 Pro-64 bit, EDIUS Workgroup 8.5, Intel Ivy Bridge i5, ASUS P8Z77-V-LK, 8GB Kningston DDR3, Pioneer BDR-209UBK, EVGA NVIDEA GEForce GT630, Corsair TX750M 750w Power Supply, 4 WD Black HDD for 3.15TB, ACEDVIO, Spark HD, eSATA controller, ANTEC 300 case.
Fred Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need another sata socket tony EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 25 05-19-2009 07:23 PM
Sata III redgum EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 20 04-29-2009 01:41 AM
Sata vs eSata Gunn Editing with EDIUS 1 02-10-2008 09:10 PM
Six Sata connectors Gunn Editing with EDIUS 2 02-04-2008 12:38 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.