Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2007, 06:27 PM   #1
Anne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default ADVC110 and Mac - won't work

HI,
Just bought the ADVC110 to transfer old vhs tapes to dvds. Hooked up the vcr to the advc with the yellow/white/red connectors and the firewired to my mac (OS X 10.4 version.) After that I don't get anything. Where do I go from here?
Thanks in advance for any help you can give... :)
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 08:32 PM   #2
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

The ADVC looks like a DV camcorder or deck (in most case you shouldn't choose "media converter" as the device type - choose a Sony camera).

You capture from, and output to it, just like you would from/to a DV camcorder.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 06:36 PM   #3
cmac2020
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Same PROBLEM HERE! ADVC110 Inoperative on Mac.

Can the previous"Headmaster",subscriber to this thread, please elaborate.

I too have a problem in connecting and activating a successful link between my VHS player the ADVC!!) and my Apple Mac.

CJ
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 12:17 AM   #4
GrassValley_CP
Grass Valley
 
GrassValley_CP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Jose
Posts: 358
Default

I believe The Headmaster was referring to the option in Final Cut Pro that allows you to choose your input device. There is (or was, the last time I used FCP) an option to select "Digital Video Converter" (or something similar) as your DV input device. As mentioned, the ADVCs behave and are seen more like DV cams and decks, so you should not select that option. Instead, there should be an option for "DV Camera" or "Sony Camera" or "DV Deck" which should solve that particular issue.

But, for those not using FCP, and are using, say, iMovie, that doesn't apply. iMovie and Final Cut Express can be a little more fickle and tricky, and may require you to try a few different methods of connection, disconnection, starting/quitting applications in the right order, etc., in order to get it properly recognized.

Bottom line though, if you're having a problem, call Tech Support!
GrassValley_CP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC110 Switching modes (analog to digital) PeterS ADVC 2 09-17-2007 10:25 PM
ADVC110 and mac osx 10.4.9 tourujoh ADVC 2 05-22-2007 08:59 AM
ADVC 110 Win XP vs MAC OSX adspencer ADVC 2 05-17-2007 04:13 AM
Mac to ADVC110 timbmac ADVC 2 05-13-2007 10:08 PM
ADVC110 and a Mac rando ADVC 1 05-11-2007 05:22 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.