Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2009, 06:51 PM   #1
gerbow
Senior Member
 
gerbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 116
Default FCB is amazing but flawed!

Just installed my new FCB into my MacPro. A 1 hour canopus HQ file that took nearly 7 hours to encode to h.264 is estimated to take 37 minutes from the edius timeline! I hope the quality is good too.
__________________
Mac Pro (mid-2010) 2.8GHz quad Xeon, Ati 5770 graphics card, 12gb ram 4 x 1TB HDD plus external eSata
MacBook Pro Retina (2014) 2.3GHz Nvidia 650M, 512 SSD, 16GB Ram external HDD on USB3 and thunderbolt.

Last edited by gerbow; 05-16-2009 at 01:16 PM.
gerbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 10:30 PM   #2
gerbow
Senior Member
 
gerbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 116
Default

Quality is excellent. Very pleased.
__________________
Mac Pro (mid-2010) 2.8GHz quad Xeon, Ati 5770 graphics card, 12gb ram 4 x 1TB HDD plus external eSata
MacBook Pro Retina (2014) 2.3GHz Nvidia 650M, 512 SSD, 16GB Ram external HDD on USB3 and thunderbolt.
gerbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 11:18 AM   #3
gerbow
Senior Member
 
gerbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 116
Default

Now I have hit problems! Encore does not accept the files! DVD Architect accepts the video but wants to reecode the audio! What a let down. This is going to have to go back! What a shame! I'm going to have to look at an alternative like the new matrox h.264 encoder! This could have been a real winner!
__________________
Mac Pro (mid-2010) 2.8GHz quad Xeon, Ati 5770 graphics card, 12gb ram 4 x 1TB HDD plus external eSata
MacBook Pro Retina (2014) 2.3GHz Nvidia 650M, 512 SSD, 16GB Ram external HDD on USB3 and thunderbolt.
gerbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 12:27 PM   #4
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

I hear you, others hear you- but the most important people aren't listening.

A workaround for your issue is posted http://ediusforum.grassvalley.com/fo...ead.php?t=9010
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 01:15 PM   #5
gerbow
Senior Member
 
gerbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 116
Default

Thanks for the link. I don't believe workarounds should be necessary for a product such as the FCB. I also believe that Grass Valley should be more explicit in its promotion of the product by stating that it has issues with two of the most popular pro-level authoring apps (Adobe Encore and DVD Architect). It seems to be aiming it at consumer level apps like DVD Movie Factory.
__________________
Mac Pro (mid-2010) 2.8GHz quad Xeon, Ati 5770 graphics card, 12gb ram 4 x 1TB HDD plus external eSata
MacBook Pro Retina (2014) 2.3GHz Nvidia 650M, 512 SSD, 16GB Ram external HDD on USB3 and thunderbolt.
gerbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 01:55 PM   #6
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

The workaround works very well, it does not take too long and so it is a valuable product to have when you use these thrid party programs. But I totally agree, it's a very poor implementation of a standalone product that should be kicking $ goals for Grass Valley.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 04:55 PM   #7
gerbow
Senior Member
 
gerbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 116
Default

The problem is that the whilst the workaround works well at the moment, it does involve a third party piece of software, namely tsmuxer. If there are any problems in the future, as a result of a windows update, Edius update or any other unforseen circumstance then who would you seek assistance from: GV or the makers of TSmuxer? Both could claim that their product works as it should yet the end user may not be able to use it as they would like to.
__________________
Mac Pro (mid-2010) 2.8GHz quad Xeon, Ati 5770 graphics card, 12gb ram 4 x 1TB HDD plus external eSata
MacBook Pro Retina (2014) 2.3GHz Nvidia 650M, 512 SSD, 16GB Ram external HDD on USB3 and thunderbolt.
gerbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 05:49 PM   #8
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Use it for what you need now. In a few years computers will once again be fast enough that this will be obsolete.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 01:15 PM   #9
gerbow
Senior Member
 
gerbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 116
Default

I need something that will output directly from Edius a bluray compliant file that will import into encore/dvd architect without requiring additional transcoding and without needing additional steps to allow it to be imported into these very popular dvd authoring apps. It is a big shame that currently Firecoder Blu cannot do that. If in the future it offers that capability then I will buy one again. For now it is no good for my needs and has been returned.
__________________
Mac Pro (mid-2010) 2.8GHz quad Xeon, Ati 5770 graphics card, 12gb ram 4 x 1TB HDD plus external eSata
MacBook Pro Retina (2014) 2.3GHz Nvidia 650M, 512 SSD, 16GB Ram external HDD on USB3 and thunderbolt.
gerbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 01:45 AM   #10
rando
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 2,302
Default

Does it take long for DVD archtech to rerender the audio? Its just audio right? that shouldnt take long.
rando is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius5.10 and firecoder blu exprot Sebastian FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 66 06-01-2009 07:41 PM
FCB install trouble UlfLaursen FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 6 04-24-2009 12:04 PM
Is multiple FCB cards supported now? shueardm FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 3 03-18-2009 08:34 AM
FCB plugin for edius? sashamed FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 0 03-01-2009 09:03 PM
procoder and FCB? sashamed FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 2 02-18-2009 02:34 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.