Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2017, 09:13 AM   #1
Ulisse
Senior Member
 
Ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Moroni
Posts: 1,384
Default Edius 8 and Win 10: after Win 10 update I got a worry with NX PCI Express card

Hi, I got a strange problem after Windows 10 Creators Update. I'm using the latest version of Edius 8 with Windows 10. I use Canopus NX PCI Express and Expansion kit. Yesteday everything was OK. Today I made the update to Windows 10 Creators and NX PCI Express doesn't work anymore. I don't have the output to TV anymore. Yesterday there was a flag on NHX-E2 Bay - Output: I saw the video from timeline to TV and there was audio from timeline too. Today (after Win 10 update) I see the output to TV is OK but is disappeared the audio from timeline. I had to choose GENERIC OHCI - Output if I want to listen audio from the timeline but video output disappeared.
I did not update Ediu 8 because I already used the latest version.
Can I solve that problem?
THANKS
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Edius.JPG (50.4 KB, 37 views)
__________________
A lonesome traveler looking for lost tribes around the world: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoD...6FduohA/videos
CPU: Intel i9 7940X
MOTHERBOARD: Asus PRIME X299-DELUXE
VIDEOCARD: NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1080Ti
SSD Drive:
(C) 512GB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe (for Windows 10)
(D) 1TB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe
Ulisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 09:26 AM   #2
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,281
Default

I cant help but saying I'm not surprised. I have two legacy systems running NX and I wouldn't dream of updating them to Win10 or Edius 8. That fact that it worked at all was luck!!!!
I dont think NX was actually supported in Edius 7.
Simplest thing will be to replace the NX with a BM Intensity.
EDIT Might be worth looking at Audio Devices - will check in a moment. Maybe you need to loop the audio to the soundcard/device IN from the audio OUT of the NX which was a trick around since the Canopus Storm.
EDIT 2 looked at my NX settings (on a legacy system) - thought there was a select audio device in the setup but appears I'm wrong. Plug speaker/Headphones directly into NX Out, if you can hear sound then loop back into soundcard....if you cant it's time to get an update to a BM.

Last edited by DigitalDave; 06-19-2017 at 10:16 AM.
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 11:50 AM   #3
Ulisse
Senior Member
 
Ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Moroni
Posts: 1,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalDave View Post
I cant help but saying I'm not surprised. I have two legacy systems running NX and I wouldn't dream of updating them to Win10 or Edius 8. That fact that it worked at all was luck!!!!
I dont think NX was actually supported in Edius 7.
Simplest thing will be to replace the NX with a BM Intensity.
EDIT Might be worth looking at Audio Devices - will check in a moment. Maybe you need to loop the audio to the soundcard/device IN from the audio OUT of the NX which was a trick around since the Canopus Storm.
EDIT 2 looked at my NX settings (on a legacy system) - thought there was a select audio device in the setup but appears I'm wrong. Plug speaker/Headphones directly into NX Out, if you can hear sound then loop back into soundcard....if you cant it's time to get an update to a BM.
THANKS for your help! Believe it or not, now everything works fine after unplugging the audio cables and plugging them again on the back of my PC.
__________________
A lonesome traveler looking for lost tribes around the world: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoD...6FduohA/videos
CPU: Intel i9 7940X
MOTHERBOARD: Asus PRIME X299-DELUXE
VIDEOCARD: NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1080Ti
SSD Drive:
(C) 512GB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe (for Windows 10)
(D) 1TB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe
Ulisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 12:01 PM   #4
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulisse View Post
THANKS for your help! Believe it or not, now everything works fine after unplugging the audio cables and plugging them again on the back of my PC.
Oh you were visited by "The cable unplugging fairy"...Hang a Garlic Bulb over the case fan.
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 12:18 PM   #5
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,639
Default

My NX is in a box with my Rex RT. It's been there for years.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2018, 10:57 PM   #6
oswaldbobb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 215
Default

Jerry, trying to remember, did the storm software work with the NX card?
__________________
Win10 Pro64, EDIUS 9, Intel i7 8700K @4.9GHz/ OC,Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E GAMING Motherboard, Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB 4 x 8GB DDR4-2666 PC4-21300 ,Hard Drives all SSD M2 type 1 Samsung 960 EVO 250 GB, 1 Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, 1 Samsung 850 EVO 500GB, 1 WD 256GB, G-Drive USB SCSI Storage external drive 5TB for File storage, Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Sony PMW-EX1R, Sony PXW-Z150.Vistitle, Newblue Titler Pro 4 & 5, Neat Video, Proshow Producer 9, TMPGEnc Movie Plug-in AVC for EDIUS.
oswaldbobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 04:28 AM   #7
kartheekboss
Junior Member
 
kartheekboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1
Default Edius not open

Dear GV

EDIUS 8 not it

not working any time open issue treble it

how can my windows upgraded

after problem ediusSystemReport create only

Edius not working
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (63.7 KB, 8 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip EdiusSystemReport-20180923-074157.zip (299.8 KB, 14 views)
kartheekboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 05:28 AM   #8
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,755
Default

Ignore this box. It opens if EDIUS does not open in a specific amount of time. It does not necessarily mean that EDIUS crashed. Just wait a bit longer and see if EDIUS opens.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 06:05 AM   #9
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,058
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kartheekboss View Post
Dear GV

EDIUS 8 not it

not working any time open issue treble it

how can my windows upgraded

after problem ediusSystemReport create only

Edius not working
Can you disable AVAST Anti-Virus and see if EDIUS starts

Maybe your AVAST firewall is blocking EDIUS from internet access?

Also, make sure all three Grass Valley folders are excluded in Defender and AVAST https://www.videoproductions.com.au/...exclusions.png

Also, there are lots of EDIUS errors about missing Internet Connection which is needed for the Pro version in order to authorize EDIUS periodically
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro

Last edited by antonsvideo; 09-26-2018 at 06:24 AM.
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NX pci express, Edius 8 and Windows 10. plasma_video EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 35 09-22-2016 03:04 AM
Edius Pro 8 after Win 10 update: I get problem with licence: Activation failed Ulisse Editing with EDIUS 10 07-12-2016 11:56 AM
Edius 7.5 slow-down on newest Win 10 update k8_fan Editing with EDIUS 3 04-01-2016 06:54 PM
Windows Update and drivers in Win 10 Jerry Editing with EDIUS 8 09-02-2015 03:29 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.