Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2011, 04:58 PM   #1
Mike Truly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Crested Butte, CO USA
Posts: 619
Default Mask Filter Question

I am experimenting with the Mask filter to pixelize certain areas of the image. I have this basically setup using the Mosaic filter and it pixelizes just fine.

But what I'm wondering is, how do I make the effect disappear for a while then come back later. For example, I want to show the pixel effect, then have it go away, then return later. I tried animating the Opacity, but when I turn it to zero, the shape gets dark. I simply want to use the pixelate effect in some portions of the video and not in others.

Thanks for any pointers on this!
__________________
Sincerely,

Mike Truly
----------------------------------------------------------------
Truly Media
970.349.5651
www.trulymedia.com

System1: Edius 7.41|Storm Mobile|Dual Xeon 3.1 (20 cores w HT OFF)|128GB RAM|Dual 512 SSDs|7TB RAID5|Dual Quadro5000s|Win7_64

System2: EdiusNX+Exp|Edius 6.03|Procoder3|XP32|Dual Xeon 3.6|4GB RAM|U320 RAID0 15K
Mike Truly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 05:09 PM   #2
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,908
Default

Cut the video and remove it on the clips where you don't need it?
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 05:17 PM   #3
Mike Truly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Crested Butte, CO USA
Posts: 619
Default

Thanks for the ideas Steve.

This Mask filter is being applied to the finished video. I have no desire to slice and dice at this point. I merely want to make the Mask/Pixelize effect fade in and out. Opacity would seem to be the way to do this but keying Opacity from 100% to zero makes the shape turn black... not exactly zero opacity.

Are you saying it's impossible to make the filter fade in and out during the clip?

Thanks again.
__________________
Sincerely,

Mike Truly
----------------------------------------------------------------
Truly Media
970.349.5651
www.trulymedia.com

System1: Edius 7.41|Storm Mobile|Dual Xeon 3.1 (20 cores w HT OFF)|128GB RAM|Dual 512 SSDs|7TB RAID5|Dual Quadro5000s|Win7_64

System2: EdiusNX+Exp|Edius 6.03|Procoder3|XP32|Dual Xeon 3.6|4GB RAM|U320 RAID0 15K
Mike Truly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 05:24 PM   #4
Khoi Pham
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,071
Default

Can you put an exact same clip without the mask on a higher track and use the opacity to fade it in so that it looks like the mask pixels clips is fading out? I don't have E6 so this way should work for all version.
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 05:24 PM   #5
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,908
Default

If you keyframe the opacity an alpha channels is created this is working as as it should.
Put a color matt under-need it and you will see the color where you put opacity to 0.


Are you saying it's impossible to make the filter fade in and out during the clip?
Yes if the filter is not keyframe-able by it self.


But if you tried what I wrote first logic would have it that if you copy the video portion of the clip and put it underneath you will see the original clip trough the created alpha channel.
This would create a fade from pixelated to normal.

Sometimes as an editor you have to sit and think how you can achieve certain things.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support

Last edited by GrassValley_SL; 07-22-2011 at 05:30 PM.
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 06:01 PM   #6
Mike Truly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Crested Butte, CO USA
Posts: 619
Default

Thanks very much for all the ideas. I think I understand how this works now.

All the methods seem to work OK, it's just I have some particular issues that make this a bit cumbersome and time consuming. I think Steve's original method of cutting up the clip may be the best route.

For example, this video involves two aircraft. The scenes transition from one to another and both aircraft need to be pixelated. Sometimes there's only a single aircraft in the frame, other times there are two aircraft. This necessitates 2 mask shapes. But the individual shapes don't seem to be opacity keyframable so the whole mask is keyframed for opacity which won't work.

Steve's method of slicing up scenes then isolates what happens to each scene which is fine. If they moved the Opacity function under each shape, then the mask filter would work directly.

Thanks again for the info!
__________________
Sincerely,

Mike Truly
----------------------------------------------------------------
Truly Media
970.349.5651
www.trulymedia.com

System1: Edius 7.41|Storm Mobile|Dual Xeon 3.1 (20 cores w HT OFF)|128GB RAM|Dual 512 SSDs|7TB RAID5|Dual Quadro5000s|Win7_64

System2: EdiusNX+Exp|Edius 6.03|Procoder3|XP32|Dual Xeon 3.6|4GB RAM|U320 RAID0 15K
Mike Truly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 06:16 PM   #7
Philip
Senior Member
 
Philip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Truly View Post
Thanks very much for all the ideas. I think I understand how this works now.

All the methods seem to work OK, it's just I have some particular issues that make this a bit cumbersome and time consuming. I think Steve's original method of cutting up the clip may be the best route.

For example, this video involves two aircraft. The scenes transition from one to another and both aircraft need to be pixelated. Sometimes there's only a single aircraft in the frame, other times there are two aircraft. This necessitates 2 mask shapes. But the individual shapes don't seem to be opacity keyframable so the whole mask is keyframed for opacity which won't work.

Steve's method of slicing up scenes then isolates what happens to each scene which is fine. If they moved the Opacity function under each shape, then the mask filter would work directly.

Thanks again for the info!
Another option would be to use the Blend Filter function within the "inside" of the mask filter. You can then key frame using the Blend Filter function. Set one side to None and one side to Mosaic. I haven't tried it but it seems it may be a way to trick Edius into doing what you want it to without slicing and dicing. Just an idea.
__________________
Main System. MSI G33m Motherboard, Intel Q6600 CPU, 2GB Ram, GeForce 9500GT, 7200rpm System drive. WinXP. Lots of external eSATA drives.

Laptop. Sony Vaio. CPU- i7-Gen 3, 8gb RAM, 1tbb 5400rpm hard drive, AMD GPU
Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 06:17 PM   #8
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,908
Default

What you can do if you want more control over the 2 masks is apply the mask twice.
This way you can control the opacity separate for each mask.
You can have 2 instances of the Mask filter open to. :)

Cutting the clip is way faster.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 06:18 PM   #9
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip View Post
Another option would be to use the Blend Filter function within the "inside" of the mask filter. You can then key frame using the Blend Filter function. Set one side to None and one side to Mosaic. I haven't tried it but it seems it may be a way to trick Edius into doing what you want it to without slicing and dicing. Just an idea.
Try to move the cti in the blend filter. :D
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 06:42 PM   #10
Mike Truly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Crested Butte, CO USA
Posts: 619
Default

Thanks again for all the info! These suggestions give a lot of options. I just used the slicing and dicing method and I think it will be pretty quick once I am more familar with the controls in the UI.

One other related question. If I have drawn an oval shape, what do I have to do to be able to resize the proportion of the shape? I can change the size of the oval but can't seem to figure out how to make the shape change from say a tall oval to a wide oval.

Do I have to draw a new shape to make the desired shape?

Thanks again.
__________________
Sincerely,

Mike Truly
----------------------------------------------------------------
Truly Media
970.349.5651
www.trulymedia.com

System1: Edius 7.41|Storm Mobile|Dual Xeon 3.1 (20 cores w HT OFF)|128GB RAM|Dual 512 SSDs|7TB RAID5|Dual Quadro5000s|Win7_64

System2: EdiusNX+Exp|Edius 6.03|Procoder3|XP32|Dual Xeon 3.6|4GB RAM|U320 RAID0 15K
Mike Truly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Movie Filter question. Philip Editing with EDIUS 3 11-04-2008 02:36 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.