Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2019, 05:37 PM   #1
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 282
Default Processor (9900K) not at 100%, why?

I am trying to figure out why my processor is only at 73% (using taskmanager) while playing the timeline (4K project, 25p, rec 709, XAVC) and stuttering. It just can't cope with this and maybe with the processor at 100% it can. Internal memory is at 50%. I am using M2 SSD's.
I expected it to be at 100% when stuttering.
I tried Cinebench and it maxes out all cores at 100%. Edius is not, why?

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

Chris
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.4WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 08:41 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,294
Default

Does it read 100% within the first 3 seconds of starting playback on a clip?
Does the Intel GPU show decode activity?
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 09:37 AM   #3
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,700
Default

Is the buffer down to 1? If not then EDIUS thinks it is not having problems playing the timeline and something else is causing the stutter. If it was just one layer of 4K with no effects I would not expect EDIUS to need all the power of that CPU to play it back.
I assume you are just looking at the picture on the overlay and don't have any Blackmagic device to put it out to a TV?
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 10:29 AM   #4
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 282
Default

It starts already at appr. 73% (it hovers between 65% and 80%). NO start at 100%. At idle it does 2%.
I am watching my computer screen (no BM card + TV) and the timeline has a few effects on it.
Intel GPU is at about 20% and the Nvidea card (1070) is at 8%.
The buffer starts at 250 and goes down to 1 and the stuttering starts.

I don't get why the processor is not at 100% and stills stutters (and other programs get the processor to 100%).

Chris

BTW: I changed hardware, swapped the SSD drive with the OS + Edius. It had this behaviour before. So I guess hardware and its drivers are not the problem (because I changed those). Probably something in the OS or Edius (they stayed the same).
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.4WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 10:45 AM   #5
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,646
Default

can I see a screenshot of project settings with all settings visible

also, make sure frame blending is set as slomo default handling (this has impacts on performance even when not applying slomo)
https://www.videoproductions.com.au/...mo-default.png
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 10:50 AM   #6
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,864
Default

I am using i9 9900k
using 1 layer of 4k with PCC i get RT and buffer climbs to 250
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP6, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 10:52 AM   #7
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,700
Default

What kind of footage is on the timeline - MP4, ProRes etc. Some types of footage just don't use 100% processing power.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 11:50 AM   #8
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,780
Default

What level of OC are you running with that chip? waste of time if your not pushing it hard

Paul :-)
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

System 1: Edius 7.5 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX1070Ti Decklink HD Extreme. 3X Sony AX53 Sony AX700

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 12:51 PM   #9
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,294
Default

David, he said he was using XAVC.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 03:11 PM   #10
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 282
Default

Thanks everybody for helping me out on this 'quest'.

I have the project settings attached.
My camera records in XAVC-S. I think nothing special, funny is going on. It is a standard setting of my camera.
I am using Win 10 Home with powersetting = performance
It is on 'frame blending' as default.

I was looking to overclock my chip, but with a potential gain of 27% in standard mode (it is actually turbo at 4.7GHz because the setting is 'performance', but only at 73% load), this is something for another moment. Not doing a 100% load when it should is a real problem that has to be solved first.

Thanks again,

Chris
Attached Images
File Type: png projectsettings.png (97.1 KB, 18 views)
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.4WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700

Last edited by Cobra427; 05-31-2019 at 05:32 PM.
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Experience with EDIUS 9 and i9 9900K? Roland Schulz EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 92 05-10-2019 03:41 PM
Audio Processor?? videogreg Editing with EDIUS 3 02-07-2019 01:02 AM
processor reelmoments EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 2 04-18-2010 11:30 PM
Opinion on this Processor Please MT02MHT Editing with EDIUS 4 03-28-2008 03:01 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.