Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2018, 06:08 PM   #1
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 289
Default How to check 2020 and HLG on TV?

I can record in 4K, REC2020, 8bit and HLG (Sony FDR-AX700). I made a short testfilm with these projectsettings.

I made a few exports of this film as a test (USB stick) and went to a shop to try this out on a Samsung Q7F 2018 model.
My direct export out of Edius with 4K, H.264, AVC, 8bit, REC2020, HLG, 4.2.0. worked ( there was a picture + sound)
My direct export with the same settings but 10 bits did not work (video codec not supported)
I did an export in HQX out of Edius and converted that to H.265 HEVC (using Handbrake). This one had showd a picture, but no sound and looking at it with Mediainfo showed it was only 8bit and there was no info on sound. So sound was probably lost in the conversion.
Then I asked the salesman: how can I see the TV is showing the wider gamut and HLG. He did not know.

So before spending to much money:
- How can I check the tv is not doing some sort of downsizing, but is showing me HLG and the wider gamut
- Any suggestions what to export to make this work

Chris
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.5WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 06:57 PM   #2
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,745
Default

I think that the TV spec sheet should give you a good Idea what it supports and what it will play out.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 07:40 PM   #3
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,634
Default

I'm using an LG set for my HDR HLG 10bit content. It tells me when I am viewing HDR 10 or HLG.
This is very easy to create natively in Edius if you have a 7700k-8700k chip. The 6700k only does 8bit.

If you are using Handbrake, or any other transcoder, it becomes a PITA.
I use Handbrake and get good results with this 10bit preset:
FULL SPREAD Settings for HLG.zip
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 09:21 PM   #4
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 289
Default

Anyone knows weather a Samsung 2018 model tells you the content is HLG?

@Steve, the specs are to general. There is also nothing on knowing or seeing that the content shown is HLG, but I can easily have missed something since the manual has about 150 pages. It does tell you it can show HLG.

@Jerry: this zip file contains a *.json file. I remember I have seen this format before, but cannot remember where and how. What program does one use for this?

Chris
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.5WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 08:41 AM   #5
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 289
Default

I thought I could use the files in the sticky. The HDR files for Sony. This way I can see what a Samsung 2018 tv does when you feed it with a HDR file (Does it say the content is HDR??)

There are no files to be found. So, either remove the sticky or better: please renew the files (and let me know when this is done, please?).

Chris
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.5WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 08:23 PM   #6
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 289
Default

Do you need a 10 bit signal or an 8 bit signal for the 2018 tv's that say they can do HLG?
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.5WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 12:07 PM   #7
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,634
Default

The .json file is a preset for 10bit HLG output within Handbrake. If you have the correct settings within Edius and export either an .mp4 (I use the 10bit 4:2:2 setting)or an XAVC file and then import that into Handbrake, this preset will create a viable 10bit HLG example for you.
Do not use HQ or HQX for HDR intermediates. You should always use HQX MXF as your rendering format as well.
Your description of how you did your exports in post #1 says you used HQX. Your exported file was not HDR, but just a standard BT709.
Check your file with Media Info and see if it matches the marked settings:
HLG settings.png
Your file will probably say BT.709.

My LG 2017 model accepts 8bit and 10bit files and shows it as either HDR or HLG HDR in the upper right hand corner of the screen.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 05-22-2018 at 12:25 PM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 12:22 PM   #8
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 289
Default

Jerry,

Many thanks. I tried this preset. At first I got an error message. After upgrading Handbrake from 1.07 to 1.10 it was o.k.
I changed the setting for frame rate to "same as source". I live in PAL country. Media Info showed the file as 4K, REC2020, 10 bit, HLG

In the TV-shop I tried the file on a new Samsung (Q7F 2018), a Sony and a LG Oled.
All played the file. LG automatically switched to HLG HDR and showed that in the upper right corner. The Sony and the Samsung had to be switched to HDR manually.
I had a nice looking picture on all three of them.

Anyone know why Sony and Samsung had to be switched by hand. Is that normal?

Chris
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.5WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 02:28 PM   #9
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,634
Default

They have a manual setting so that you can tell the TV what type of HDR is coming into that input.
I wish the LG had that. Most I/O cards aren't set up for HLG yet. There isn't a flag to tell the tv what to do.
You manually tell the TV that you are using HLG HDR and all works well. Same goes for HDR 10.

What did you use as your intermediary file? I've been using XAVC. It encodes pretty fast.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 08:19 PM   #10
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 289
Default

I used a *.mp4 as intermediary, but that took very long with my hardware. Next time I will try XAVC
I am glad I was able to output a file that can be played in its full glory on a tv.

I like the Samsung Q7F. Maybe I will go for that one. Next is to convince my wife the next tv will be much bigger :-)


Chris
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.5WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Settings to export a BT.2020/HDR file kpot Editing with EDIUS 1 08-31-2017 01:27 AM
Check Out/Check In problem bhouse Editing with EDIUS 14 07-14-2013 07:31 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.