Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2018, 09:53 PM   #11
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,487
Default

If you mean what graphics card do I recommend to get real time on the GPU transitions then I can't really say. I use an nVidia 1060, which is a really nice graphics card and not too expensive but I can't tell you how well it does for GPU transitions at various resolutions because I don't really use the GPU transitions.

Anyone else got a recommendation?
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 3.7Ghz Coffee Lake processor, 32GB RAM, ATI 7800 GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 04:23 PM   #12
engineer16
Member
 
engineer16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois , USA
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
If you mean what graphics card do I recommend to get real time on the GPU transitions then I can't really say. I use an nVidia 1060, which is a really nice graphics card and not too expensive but I can't tell you how well it does for GPU transitions at various resolutions because I don't really use the GPU transitions.

Anyone else got a recommendation?
Yea thanks, I will have to do trail and error, funny many posts say edius does not use gpu like vegas but here we go.
__________________
1st System: Edius 5.0, HP xw4600, XPpro, ADVC-300
New System: Edius 7.53.31 Win7-64 Xeon W3520 2.6GHz , 16GB Ram, Lenovo 4157W Nvidia FX 380 ADC-110 Quicktime 7.6
engineer16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 04:44 PM   #13
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,487
Default

EDIUS does not do much on the GPU. You have the GPU transitions in EDIUS 7, and then in EDIUS 8/0 the primary colour corrector can be speed up using the GPU and various formats are decoded on the GPU where possible.

EDIUS can also use an Intel GPU (i.e. Quick Sync) to help playback and encode H.264 and H.265 (some to the latter only added in EDIUS 8 or 9).

You can add plug-ins which use the GPU as well like ProDad Vitascene and VisTitle.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 3.7Ghz Coffee Lake processor, 32GB RAM, ATI 7800 GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 11:02 PM   #14
engineer16
Member
 
engineer16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois , USA
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
EDIUS does not do much on the GPU. You have the GPU transitions in EDIUS 7, and then in EDIUS 8/0 the primary colour corrector can be speed up using the GPU and various formats are decoded on the GPU where possible.

EDIUS can also use an Intel GPU (i.e. Quick Sync) to help playback and encode H.264 and H.265 (some to the latter only added in EDIUS 8 or 9).

You can add plug-ins which use the GPU as well like ProDad Vitascene and VisTitle.
I am going to order the same card you have, I hope my power supply is enough it is 425watts
__________________
1st System: Edius 5.0, HP xw4600, XPpro, ADVC-300
New System: Edius 7.53.31 Win7-64 Xeon W3520 2.6GHz , 16GB Ram, Lenovo 4157W Nvidia FX 380 ADC-110 Quicktime 7.6
engineer16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:10 AM   #15
AndyW69
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 53
Default

Hi, just a thought, I had a sudden loss of performance. I wondered if I had a virus. A friend said have you selected optical flow as thedefault in speed settings. I had, turned it off and back to normal

Andy
AndyW69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius Running Slow and Stuttering Alpha Video Editing with EDIUS 20 06-05-2017 09:54 AM
Stuttering multicam timeline STORMDAVE Editing with EDIUS 36 05-19-2017 08:37 PM
EDIUS 7.21.822: stuttering timeline with prodad VITASCENE 2.0 filter wielmoonen EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 7 04-14-2014 08:30 PM
Weird stuttering conversion problem rodpike Editing with EDIUS 6 06-05-2012 01:10 AM
Performance issues - Stuttering with clips on Timeline bluprojekt EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 5 01-09-2010 12:27 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.