Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2020, 05:19 PM   #21
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 416
Default

I have edius 7.53 and I can export out to prores. no issues for me!
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 05:23 PM   #22
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ulyssesvideo View Post
I have edius 7.53 and I can export out to prores. no issues for me!
How from the timeline?
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 05:37 PM   #23
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
The rule of thumb for performance for any NLE is to use the native codec that the system is designed around. HQ/HQX for Edius, DNxHR/HR for Avid, ProRes for Final Cut, etc., but Edius can use the ProRes as a source for you to work with.

However if you are talking 4K, then the best solution for performance is to select all the prores files in the bin, right-click and choose the convert option in the popup menu. This will make new files in the HQ/HQX codec (use HQX superfine as suggested by Kurt) for you to edit with. Just make sure you use the new generated HQX files in your edit.

4K ProRes will play in edius, but not nearly as efficiently as HQX. These points have been laid out many times on the forum in posts from me and David Harry (LiverpoolTV). Dave even has some videos up showing the performance gain for 4K HQX using a fairly underpowered laptop.

HQ/HQX is comparible in quality to ProRes and DNxHD/HR, so you will not loose any noticeable amount of quality (I always use HQX unless dealing with old standard definition footage.)

Once you are finished your edit, export as an HQX file for your master. This is where the points I was making about delivery come into play. Don't expect the people you are passing the video onto, to have to install codec packs or special players to deal with it. It is best to provide them with a video that is made to their specifications in a professional environment, or in the consumer world, it's bet to provide a file that is the most compatible and simple to use for people.

If you are passing this back to your friend on the Mac, ProRes is the best option, for the average user, an MP4 is probably the better choice, and for a TV station, the choice is whatever their specifications call for.

Once you have the master HQX file, it is easy to convert it into other formats, using a combination of Edius and Xmedia Recode or a similar tool. I mention Xmedia because it is free, and can make ProRes files from your master, as well many other formats. Broadcast files are probably best made in Edius.

Edius can make MP4s, but due to the lack of the web optimized option with Edius 8 and the lower quality native encoder, even those are better made by Xmedia or Handbrake, unless you have the TMPGEnc plugins for Edius.
Can Xmedia Recode convert HQX files from edius?
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 05:39 PM   #24
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
How from the timeline?
yes from the timeline using the Miraizon codec pack.
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 05:54 PM   #25
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,057
Default

Vladiciu, I would not get carried away to much as I think you may find the lowest quality link in the chain is in fact the GH4 internal recorded file. If you record externally to something like ProRes that is different. Both HQX and ProRes are much higher quality than the internal recorded GH4 file so any editing you do will not compromise that.

If you edit with HQX as BernH has suggested then use Handbrake or something else you can encode to a file of your choosing. Even an mp4 at a greater data rate than the GH4 used would maintain quality for a finished file that you are going to view on a TV or PC. High quality is important in editing and colour grading but the human eye is not that good with colour. It can identify fine changes in light level so can see the difference between 8bit and 10bit but not between 4:2:0 or 4:2:2 or even 4:4:4 at the same bit depths. However you need that extra colour information for grading.


It is worth looking at process of acquisition to delivery.

1 Acquisition codec--best you can afford to get quality you need with low file size. h264, h265 or external ProRes/DNxXX.

2 Intermediate codec for editing to make it easier for the PC to edit without doing too much decode work. Also used to export for other people to carry on editing. HQX, ProRes, DNxXX

3 Delivery codec. Match quality to the display used with smallest file and load on end unit. If it is a SD TV it will be 8bit 4:2:0 as that will be close to the limit of TV and people watching. HDR TV 10bit 4:2:0 again limit of technology and peoples eyes. Likely these days h265 at fairly low data rates compared to the file recorded on the camera.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 05:56 PM   #26
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ulyssesvideo View Post
yes from the timeline using the Miraizon codec pack.
Not available anymore though.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 06:07 PM   #27
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ulyssesvideo View Post
yes from the timeline using the Miraizon codec pack.
Mirazon codec pack is no longer available for purchase, do for those that don't have it, there is no direct ProRes option prior to Edius 9
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 06:10 PM   #28
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
Not available anymore though.
yes i know...
lucky I still have the pack and serial key :)
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 06:13 PM   #29
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ulyssesvideo View Post
Can Xmedia Recode convert HQX files from edius?
Yes it can. Like Handbrake, it is simply using an embed ffmpeg to do the conversions, so anything that version of ffmpeg can read, it can convert, but unlike Handbrake, it gives you access to a lot more options than H264/265 in an MP4 or MKV container. It can write just about anything you can make ffmpeg do at the command line.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 06:15 PM   #30
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 416
Default

if you want to give your final export to a station for broadcast maybe export to MXF HD 422 in edius
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EDIUS 7.51 support ProRes 422 codec tingsern Editing with EDIUS 9 01-17-2016 07:04 AM
Edius and Apple Prores 422 vgtah Editing with EDIUS 3 08-14-2012 12:10 PM
Edius 6.07 + Apple Prores 422... panosole Editing with EDIUS 4 06-03-2012 05:51 PM
ProRes 422 Counterpart in Edius haitham786 Editing with EDIUS 1 12-20-2011 08:57 PM
Prores 422 Files in Edius 6.06 X-trem production Editing with EDIUS 21 12-11-2011 05:39 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.