Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2008, 09:13 PM   #1
drogers
Junior Member
 
drogers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 6
Default Advice for laptop installation?

I am currently editing using a desktop (see below) but have recently acquired a FZ series Sony laptop. I did not acquire for the purpose of doing editing but have toyed with the idea recently. The laptop is a Core 2 Duo 2 Ghz 4 Gb RAM. I am contemplating purchasing a portable eSata Raid drive for it, but before I haul off and do that, I wanted to check with you to see if any are doing something similar. After all, it does run Vista. Is that a killer?

Secondly, is capturing live to the hard drive viable today? The more I read, the more confused I get. I shoot with an FX1 and a HC3.

Thirdly, is anyone using camera control software with their laptop in the field?

I guess that covers a broad range of subjects, but I greatly respect the advice of forum members and wanted to get it before I venture off on my on and possibly err.

I recently retired and intend to spend much more time with my video pursuits.

Thanks,
David
__________________
David

Sytem 1: Asus CG5290, i7 920 @ 2.67 GHz, 9Gb RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 260, Edius 5.12, Vista x64 SP2
System 2: Edius NX Workstation, Dual 3.4 Xeon, 3.4 GHz, 2Gb RAM, Nvidia GeForce 6600, Edius 5.12, XP Pro SP3
Laptop: VAIO Core 2 Duo T7250 @ 2.0 GHz, 4.0 Gb RAM, Edius 5.12, Vista x32 SP2
drogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 06:45 AM   #2
mattmatt
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 587
Default

Hi David,

I plan to do the same thing, and I have a laptop with similar specs. The E-sata drive is a good idea becuase most internal HDD's in laptops these days arn't reading faster than 5400rpm (minimum spec).

Edius Pro is not entirely compatable with Vista as far as I know. But, it is useable. Apparantly Edius NEO will work with less hassels because it doesn't use a vide overlay mode that causes some of the problems you get with Edius Pro. So I will be using Edius NEO and will have to get used to no Audio mixer, No overlay modes and no 3d Picture-in-picture. Those things can be sacrificed for portability I reccon. HDV realtime editing should be no problem - unless someone can tell us otherwise.

More time to work on private work? That would be awesome :)
__________________
When I go out, I wear my EDIUS T-Shirt.
mattmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 08:11 AM   #3
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,813
Default

Hi Guys,

I've got a Sony AR15m 2g duo, 4gig ram, dual sata 160gb internal running vista home, which is happy to run Edius 4.6, although Titlemotion Pro crashes the computer, but Quick title does not. Otherwise it works just fine, it seems to be the drivers for the NX etc which are not available for Vista, so on a laptop running OHCI, there's not too many issues, that said, technically it's not supported.

This machine plays a couple of layers of EX1 HD (1920x1080) with colour correction, before it gets sloppy, but SD footage is really great, many layers and filters.

Paul
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

Edius 9.5 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX1070Ti Decklink HD Extreme. 3X Sony AX53 Sony AX700

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 03:46 PM   #4
drogers
Junior Member
 
drogers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 6
Default Great feedback!

Thanks for the encouraging words. I guess I will give it a try, then. It will be different from editing with a 3 monitor setup, but will be able to do so on the road. Any advice on the raid? I haven't resaearched that very much, but clearly there seems to be good availability.

Let me clarify on the camera control question. I have it in my mind that you should be able to hook up your camera to a laptop and use it as a monitor and view exposure metrics and the like. I know there is professional gear that does such a thing, but I was thinking, with firewire connectivity, that there ought to be software to handle such a thing. My googling has been to no avail, though. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Great hearing from you,
David
__________________
David

Sytem 1: Asus CG5290, i7 920 @ 2.67 GHz, 9Gb RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 260, Edius 5.12, Vista x64 SP2
System 2: Edius NX Workstation, Dual 3.4 Xeon, 3.4 GHz, 2Gb RAM, Nvidia GeForce 6600, Edius 5.12, XP Pro SP3
Laptop: VAIO Core 2 Duo T7250 @ 2.0 GHz, 4.0 Gb RAM, Edius 5.12, Vista x32 SP2
drogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice on buying PC screen and external monitor fluppe85 EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 0 12-15-2008 10:13 PM
Is there selector language when doing the installation of EDIUS 5? caminostereo Editing with EDIUS 1 09-15-2008 02:11 AM
advice on workstation shahzadraja Editing with EDIUS 2 02-29-2008 03:33 AM
Help with salvage op and new pc advice please drgagx Editing with EDIUS 5 12-18-2007 11:26 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.