Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2007, 06:34 AM   #1
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default Background music in EDIUS?

I wonder how you folks do incorporate background sounds into EDIUS workflow? Currently, I use SmartSound's SonicFire Pro software. But, is a pain - because I have to export the entire timeline into AVI - use standalone SonicFire Pro software to master the background music (by reading that AVI), export that music as 48Khz WAV, put it back into EDIUS by another audio track. I have lots of SmartSound's library of sounds here. In Adobe Premiere, they have a plugin - but, none for EDIUS.
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 07:10 AM   #2
Roy Colquitt
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Columbia, Maryland
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingsern View Post
I wonder how you folks do incorporate background sounds into EDIUS workflow? Currently, I use SmartSound's SonicFire Pro software. But, is a pain - because I have to export the entire timeline into AVI - use standalone SonicFire Pro software to master the background music (by reading that AVI), export that music as 48Khz WAV, put it back into EDIUS by another audio track. I have lots of SmartSound's library of sounds here. In Adobe Premiere, they have a plugin - but, none for EDIUS.
You may feel that you need the precision of working with the video in Sonicfire, but something that can help--at least with feeling out/trying different cuts--is that the Edius timeline and Sonicfire can run simultaneously.
Roy Colquitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 08:25 AM   #3
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Thanks for the info. But, I do I incorporate the data files of SonicFire into Edius? They still need to be converted to WAV first, then I import each "small" audio WAV into Edius - right? If I do that, I loose the Smart Razar and Smart Extend ability of SonicFire Pro software. But - yes - I haven't thought about it until you mentioned it to me. Will try it out the next video editing session.
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 05:24 PM   #4
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,089
Default

Have you tried this workflow?

1. Finish your video editing in Edius

2. Export the whole timeline

3. Import it into SFP and do your whole audio work there

4. Export the master
Zorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 06:20 PM   #5
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

That's exactly what I have been doing all this while. A big problem with this approach is with HD ... I hit the 4GB AVI file limit and is making things very messy. Basically, I have to split the export of long timelines into several portions and it is almost impossible to know beforehand (because of compression) when you are getting near the 4GB AVI file limit.
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 06:22 PM   #6
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,089
Default

4GB limit??? Do you still use FAT32?
Zorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 07:32 PM   #7
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

No FAT32. I am using NTFS all these while. But, I thought AVI files has a limit of 4GB per file? Yes? I hope I am wrong ...
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 07:50 PM   #8
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

No, there is no limit on the size of AVI files. I routinely work with files much larger than 4GB.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 03:06 AM   #9
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Thanks for killing one scared cow for me. I was under the perception (old times) that AVI files have a 4GB limit. I guess that was the old rules that has to be tossed into the dustbin. If that is being the case, I will continue to do my music as per normal - finish editing the timeline using EDIUS, then export the entire file to AVI and then use SonicFire Pro to score the video.
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 03:18 AM   #10
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

4GB is only about 20 minutes of DV25/HDV, or as little as four minutes of DVCProHD. The AVI container format wouldn't be viable if it still had a 4GB limit.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.