Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2019, 06:37 PM   #1
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 289
Default Processor (9900K) not at 100%, why?

I am trying to figure out why my processor is only at 73% (using taskmanager) while playing the timeline (4K project, 25p, rec 709, XAVC) and stuttering. It just can't cope with this and maybe with the processor at 100% it can. Internal memory is at 50%. I am using M2 SSD's.
I expected it to be at 100% when stuttering.
I tried Cinebench and it maxes out all cores at 100%. Edius is not, why?

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

Chris
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.5WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 09:41 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,626
Default

Does it read 100% within the first 3 seconds of starting playback on a clip?
Does the Intel GPU show decode activity?
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 10:37 AM   #3
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,725
Default

Is the buffer down to 1? If not then EDIUS thinks it is not having problems playing the timeline and something else is causing the stutter. If it was just one layer of 4K with no effects I would not expect EDIUS to need all the power of that CPU to play it back.
I assume you are just looking at the picture on the overlay and don't have any Blackmagic device to put it out to a TV?
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 11:29 AM   #4
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 289
Default

It starts already at appr. 73% (it hovers between 65% and 80%). NO start at 100%. At idle it does 2%.
I am watching my computer screen (no BM card + TV) and the timeline has a few effects on it.
Intel GPU is at about 20% and the Nvidea card (1070) is at 8%.
The buffer starts at 250 and goes down to 1 and the stuttering starts.

I don't get why the processor is not at 100% and stills stutters (and other programs get the processor to 100%).

Chris

BTW: I changed hardware, swapped the SSD drive with the OS + Edius. It had this behaviour before. So I guess hardware and its drivers are not the problem (because I changed those). Probably something in the OS or Edius (they stayed the same).
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.5WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 11:45 AM   #5
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,030
Default

can I see a screenshot of project settings with all settings visible

also, make sure frame blending is set as slomo default handling (this has impacts on performance even when not applying slomo)
https://www.videoproductions.com.au/...mo-default.png
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 11:50 AM   #6
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,939
Default

I am using i9 9900k
using 1 layer of 4k with PCC i get RT and buffer climbs to 250
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K Win 10
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP6, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70
John Lewis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 11:52 AM   #7
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,725
Default

What kind of footage is on the timeline - MP4, ProRes etc. Some types of footage just don't use 100% processing power.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 03:29 AM   #8
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra427 View Post
I am trying to figure out why my processor is only at 73% (using taskmanager) while playing the timeline (4K project, 25p, rec 709, XAVC) and stuttering. It just can't cope with this and maybe with the processor at 100% it can. Internal memory is at 50%. I am using M2 SSD's.
I expected it to be at 100% when stuttering.
I tried Cinebench and it maxes out all cores at 100%. Edius is not, why?

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

Chris
Hi Chris.

One of my systems is near enough the same as yours, 9900 etc. I'm using E8.5 and I get 100% CPU utilisation when using UHD with XAVC S, XAVC and other h.264 based camera files even if the project is set to 10 bit. I will typically have PCC and layouter applied.

Even if I change to UHD sources in a 1080 timeline, I get the same results. My CPU ramps up to about 4.6 GHz, there's a varying load on my Nvidia GPU, presumably that's PCC and my Intel iGPU is about 20% for QS.

While I generally edit UHD, I'll get the same results with 4K as it's not that much more. If I go beyond PCC and layouter for a single video channel/track, I'll start losing realtime. If I'm just tipping the CPU with any small additions, dropping to 8 Bit sorts that out.

Using dissolves or applying more heavy effects, using more than one video channel/track or using Edius titles will tip it all right over the edge. In that instance I'll progressively go from dropping bit depth down through resolutions and will usually find something that maintains real time, all be it at less than ideal monitoring resolutions. I very rarely have to temp render.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
Dave.

BTW. I wouldn't advise OC-ing. It's only likely to be small gains over turbo and at the expense of a stronger cooling system and possibly a truck load of grief depending on your bios and memory.
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?

Last edited by Liverpool TV; 06-01-2019 at 03:34 AM.
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 10:24 AM   #9
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 289
Default

Anton,

sorry for the wrong picture. I have attached the correct one plus the Mediainfo of one of the clips.

Thanks John and Dave to confirm it is possible to get al least one layer 4K with the PCC on it in RT with this processor.

Now I still have to find the reason why mine does not go to 100% load in Edius. My Cinebench score is appr. 4640. This is ok for a system like this. I had it run for 15 min. with all the cores at 100%. I also used OCCT and this program also maxed out the cores to 100%. Both gave no errors.
I still wonder if there is a setting in Win10 or in Edius that is preventing my processor to go to 100% in Edius. Maybe there is something funny with my clips or projectsettings.
Anyone seen this behaviour before?

Thanks for the help.
Attached Images
File Type: png projectsettings.png (76.1 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg Mediainfo.jpg (180.8 KB, 22 views)
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.5WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 11:03 AM   #10
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,030
Default

your project settings are incorrect for the files used

please set the same as in my previous screenshot
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Experience with EDIUS 9 and i9 9900K? Roland Schulz EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 92 05-10-2019 04:41 PM
Audio Processor?? videogreg Editing with EDIUS 3 02-07-2019 02:02 AM
processor reelmoments EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 2 04-19-2010 12:30 AM
Opinion on this Processor Please MT02MHT Editing with EDIUS 4 03-28-2008 04:01 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.