Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2008, 04:47 PM   #1
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,161
Default Offline Clip Window Problem

This has been driving me crazy for a long time now...

I have a project preset that I use and in the "Restore Offline clips", there are about 50 clip names that it says is being used in the timeline. The timeline count for some of them are up to 15 times!

My problem is that can't find these offline clips anywhere! I used the search function, I looked through every sequence 10 times, I checked ALL the project folders, bins, cache folders, I even searched my whole computer for any match of any kind but I can't find anything.

I KNOW that I don't have any offline clips in my project, so how can I get these offline clips out of the "restore window" that pops up every time I open the project?

Thanks
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 06:05 PM   #2
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

Delete all offline clips from the bin and save project.
If you're unsure save the project under a different name, Delete all clips in bin, select all clips on time lime and update bin again, done, save as different name again.
Close Edius, open Edius, open latest saved project.
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 09:35 PM   #3
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,161
Default re

1. I don't have any offline clips in the bin.

2. The only footage I have in the bin are assets I use in my projects like mov clips and Audio clips. I don't have ANY video footage clips in the bin but in the "restore offline clips" window, it is showing offline VIDEO FOOTAGE of projects that are long gone and have I no trace of them anywhere in the project.
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 12:03 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,617
Default

you may have offline clips in a subfolder of the bin

be sure to view the folder tree on the left of bin

you may also have offline clips in another sequence, how many sequences do you see at top of timeline
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 03:06 AM   #5
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zvit View Post
1. I don't have any offline clips in the bin.
When Edius refers to offline clips It could be Video / Audio / Graphics / Text etc.
There is 1 clip for sure in the bin that the link to the file is missing, Edius is always right :)

Just try the above suggested, make sure you back up your existing project and then re save as, give it another project name, delete everything in the bin and save the project again, close Edius, open the last saved Project, the one with empty bin and let us know if there is any clip restoration dialog popping up.

p.s. Maybe someone can post an image of an off line clip in the bin, I don't have my own web page, other wise I would do it.
It could be what Anton sugested, sequence or sub folder related.

Last edited by SoundFreak; 10-14-2008 at 03:13 AM.
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 05:05 PM   #6
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,161
Default re

It seems by some of the answers that my question wasn't fully read. There is no way that there is an offline clip in any bin folder, sequence or subfolder, because like in my question I said that I checked all of those more then twice.

I cannot do what some said about deleting and relinking everything because I have many nested sequences and assets and it would just take too long.

I have been using EDIUS for almost 2 years now and I am almost sure that it is a bug in the EDIUS project file. I must have had clips that became offline over the time but even though I had deleted them from all sequences AND bin folders, it still comes up in the offline restore window.

Here is something I did that proves a bug:

I had about 60 clips showing as offline in the restore window. Adding up the "sequence reference count", it came to about 80. (Some were reported as being 5 times and some 13 etc)

I relinked ALL 60 clips that were showing as offline clips to a video clip I put aside for this test. Now that all clips were linked to this video clip, they disappeared from the restore window. Great! Now I deleted that one clip I had used to link everything to, and now only that clip is showing in the restore window. But what makes me think that this restore window has a bug is the fact that the "sequence reference count" for that clip is 3,165!!!

Anyway, I don't mind that only one clip is in the window. It's just annoying that the window pops up every time I open a project.
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 06:59 PM   #7
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Remember that you can have clips in the timeline that are not in the Bin.

Create a new Bin folder, then go to each Sequence, select ALL clips (Shift-A unless you have remapped the keys), and Add them to the Bin.

Then check your Bin for offline clips.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 09:30 PM   #8
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,161
Default Resolved

Ok, finally!!! I figured it out. There WERE offline stuff on some of the timelines but the reason I didn't notice them is because they were pieces from nested sequences that THOSE sequences were offline. And in the timeline, that nested clip doesn't show as offline but just colored the same color as the original sequence was when it was online. (Edius should fix this!)

And by the way, to GrassValley_BH, I HAD done what you said, (Shft-A, Shft-B), but those "offline nested sequences clips" didn't show as the regular "Offline clip" grey icon, but as a regular sequence icon but slightly colored. Strange.

Anyway, thanks you guys for helping.

Last edited by zvit; 10-14-2008 at 09:36 PM.
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 10:43 PM   #9
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Very strange, but glad to hear you got it figured out!
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clip restoration problem after edl import mikejiggins Editing with EDIUS 0 04-02-2008 01:05 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.