Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2008, 01:14 AM   #1
jimstamos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: houston
Posts: 854
Default edius 4.5 buffer setting with ohci

a friend who has 4.5 wants to set her buffer. she says it shows a range from 128-512. that cant be right. what is the max she can set it on using ohci?
is it under settings>hardware settings>buffer? how can i access it to make sure shes at the right spot
jimstamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 01:43 AM   #2
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

512 is the max which will show 600 to 702 frames in sd ntsc
or 130 to 160 frames hd

Why do you say that it can't be right?
Attached Images
File Type: png buffer set.png (34.0 KB, 21 views)
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 02:31 AM   #3
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

I wouldn't recommend 512, it takes too long to fill the buffer.

The buffer comes in handy when you have areas of the timeline that your system can't normally handle, so it fills up the buffer.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 03:25 AM   #4
GrassValley_MD
Mike Downey... The Jollymon
 
GrassValley_MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lehi, Ut
Posts: 968
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimstamos View Post
a friend who has 4.5 wants to set her buffer. she says it shows a range from 128-512. that cant be right. what is the max she can set it on using ohci?
is it under settings>hardware settings>buffer? how can i access it to make sure shes at the right spot

That is Megs of memory to use not the amount of buffers :) Like SR said, it will give you a very LARGE buffer at 512.

Jimbo... I need to talk to you and lost your number... could you private mail me your number?


Mike
GrassValley_MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 03:32 AM   #5
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

I use 512 all the time no ill effects. :)
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
another Edius 4.5 q.. saving my setting?? sheilaorsi Editing with EDIUS 3 11-09-2007 08:13 PM
Edius 4.5 and Premiere CS3 on the same system joliverio Editing with EDIUS 7 11-08-2007 03:51 PM
EDIUS v4.5 Update and 30-day Trial Now Available! GrassValley_KH Editing with EDIUS 0 08-07-2007 12:26 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.