Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2007, 01:26 AM   #1
jerseymike
Member
 
jerseymike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 85
Default Trimming a Clip in Slip Mode

Ok, Is it me or are the keyboard commands reversed for trimming a clip in slip trim mode. It works as expected in all other modes like slide and roll, in and out but in slip mode when I trim -10 frames [Shift+,] the clip moves forward in time ie: timecode numbers are getting higher. Shouldn't timecode be going in the opposite direction??
I know it's adding and subtracting frames from the in and out points but it just seems it's working in reverse. Could someone please explain??
__________________
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, Edius 7.53, Antec DF-85
Corsair 850Watt P/S,ASUS P6X58DE,
Intel Core i7 960 3.20 Ghz Bloomfield,Corsair 12 GB RAM TR3X6G1600C8D-R,PNY GeForce GTX570
WD 600GB 10k RPM System Drive,
WD Caviar Green Video Drives 1GBx2,G-Raid 2GB Backup Drive,Pioneer BDR-206 Blu Ray Drive
jerseymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 02:52 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,635
Default

lets assume a car moves from left to right on the monitor with locked off camera

start of clip shows bumper bar just entering screen

now if you slip with "Shift+," once, 10 frames of the clip are trimmed at the beginning (left), meaning you will see more of the car than just the bumper bar because the clip has advanced 10 frames

does that make sense now?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 04:17 PM   #3
jerseymike
Member
 
jerseymike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 85
Default

I guess it's just me.
If I want the clip to start and end earlier in time by slipping it (assuming enough handles on either end) then when I press the key combo of Shift+, which is also back arrow on my keyboard, I would expect it to go back/earlier in time/reverse motion but it goes forward. I could re-assign key commands but that would mess up the other modes then I'd really be confused. Guess I'll have to think backwards. Thanks for the reply.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, Edius 7.53, Antec DF-85
Corsair 850Watt P/S,ASUS P6X58DE,
Intel Core i7 960 3.20 Ghz Bloomfield,Corsair 12 GB RAM TR3X6G1600C8D-R,PNY GeForce GTX570
WD 600GB 10k RPM System Drive,
WD Caviar Green Video Drives 1GBx2,G-Raid 2GB Backup Drive,Pioneer BDR-206 Blu Ray Drive
jerseymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 07:03 PM   #4
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

When you slip, you're moving the clip's content, not the clip. So slipping -10 frames, moves the clip contents left, which increases the timecode of the start position.

Take a sheet of paper and cut out a rectangular "window" in it. This represents the clip's position in the timeline, which is fixed.
Now take another sheet of paper with text on it and place it under the sheet with the window so you can see text through the window.

Now, let's slip -5 letters, or 5 letters to the left, which means we're trimming 5 letters off the head of the clip, so we move the sheet with text to the left so 5 letters disappear.

The underlying sheet is moving left, which is why it's -5 and not +5.

Hope that makes more sense.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 08:17 PM   #5
jerseymike
Member
 
jerseymike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 85
Default

Ok I get it now!! Thanks for clearing that up.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, Edius 7.53, Antec DF-85
Corsair 850Watt P/S,ASUS P6X58DE,
Intel Core i7 960 3.20 Ghz Bloomfield,Corsair 12 GB RAM TR3X6G1600C8D-R,PNY GeForce GTX570
WD 600GB 10k RPM System Drive,
WD Caviar Green Video Drives 1GBx2,G-Raid 2GB Backup Drive,Pioneer BDR-206 Blu Ray Drive
jerseymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clip Markers (ver. 5) 7hbg Editing with EDIUS 0 09-12-2008 11:12 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.