Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2010, 08:38 PM   #1
pschoenb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Burgthann, Germany
Posts: 18
Default Problem with VST Plugins

Hi,

I am using EDIUS 5.51 on Windows 7 x64. When trying to add a directory to the VST plugins search path, I only end up with a new entry consisting of randomly garbled characters (see screenshots).

What am I missing?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Choosing a folder.jpg (19.5 KB, 72 views)
File Type: jpg VST Bridge Settings.jpg (18.4 KB, 71 views)
__________________
Regards,
Patrick
pschoenb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 12:35 AM   #2
sunflow
Member
 
sunflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: michigan
Posts: 97
Default

If i may ask which audio programmed VST are you trying to install.
__________________
Window7, 64bit,Edius6.03,5.51,HDStorm, VisTitle,AMD Phenom11X4 Quadcore Asus CrossHair Motherboard,8Gigs of Ram,1TbCdrives,3Tb Videodrives SoundBlasterX-fi
http://vimeo.com/channels/sunflow
www.sunflows.com
http://www.sunflowphoto.com/


sunflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 12:41 AM   #3
shoeman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: middle east
Posts: 14
Default

maybe edius can't read correctly the folder's name because your windows is in not in english?
shoeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 10:50 AM   #4
pschoenb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Burgthann, Germany
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunflow View Post
If i may ask which audio programmed VST are you trying to install.
Itt happens independently from the chosen VST, since at this stage, I am not loading a VST, but I am just adding a folder to the list.
__________________
Regards,
Patrick
pschoenb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 11:00 AM   #5
pschoenb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Burgthann, Germany
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoeman View Post
maybe edius can't read correctly the folder's name because your windows is in not in english?
I have a German version of Edius, and I see no reason why it should not work on a German version of Windows. ;) And no, the path to the VST neither contains spaces nor non-ASCII characters.
__________________
Regards,
Patrick
pschoenb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 11:15 AM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,600
Default

how exactly did you go about adding the VST?

normally, all I do is install the software in its default location

then copy the vst.dll file to Edius/Plugins/vst folder

one file is all you add to Edius
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 12:22 PM   #7
pschoenb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Burgthann, Germany
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
how exactly did you go about adding the VST?

normally, all I do is install the software in its default location

then copy the vst.dll file to Edius/Plugins/vst folder

one file is all you add to Edius
I am mainly an audio engineer, that means, I have tons of VSTs in a central folder structure, and I would like to add them to Edius. It would be even nicer, if it would be enough to add the root folder of the VST tree and all subfolders would be scanned for VSTs automatically.
__________________
Regards,
Patrick
pschoenb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 12:49 PM   #8
mattie
Senior Member
 
mattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 991
Default

you can add folder paths to VST files from within Edius

go to the PLUG-INs menu and find VST
mattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 12:55 PM   #9
pschoenb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Burgthann, Germany
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattie View Post
you can add folder paths to VST files from within Edius

go to the PLUG-INs menu and find VST
That is exactly what I was trying to do. See my original post including the screenshots. :-)
__________________
Regards,
Patrick
pschoenb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 04:07 PM   #10
caminostereo
Senior Member
 
caminostereo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Perú
Posts: 359
Default

Sometimes is not good to insert all the main root of the VST, but must go directly to the folder where the *. dll VST... in my case when I run the installation of the VST "32 bit" I do directly to the folder you select "VST" EDIUS default schedule.

He must also bear in mind that not all iZotope VST compatible with EDIUS 5, here I leave a list of those who are supported:

- IZotope RX
- IZotope Ozone
- IZotope Bundle (attached to the bonus software EDIUS 5)
- IZotope Vinyl
- IZotope Spectron

And here's a list of all VST compatible and tested in EDIUS 5, I posted on a Spanish forum, check in point 5:

http://clubpremiere.com.ar/foro/viewtopic.php?t=7323536
__________________
CSXD2 l For EDIUS Pro 6.5
http://cinemasuite.blogspot.com/
caminostereo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
izotope VST plugins antonsvideo Editing with EDIUS 26 06-20-2011 10:29 PM
Ozone 4 VST PLugins sunflow EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 7 07-19-2010 03:36 AM
VST plugins emmanuel_f Editing with EDIUS 4 10-24-2007 04:21 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.