Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2011, 07:40 AM   #1
jimstamos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: houston
Posts: 854
Default trimming clip issue

heres one for you. have a clip on timeline by itself. i go to the left side and try to shorten it and the right side shortens?
a little help
jimstamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 09:46 AM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,883
Default

Highlite the clip to cut and press N. To ripple
the clip press alt N. For the right side press M
and to ripple press alt M.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 09:47 AM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,635
Default

and make sure ripple mode is off on the Mode Bar
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 11:42 AM   #4
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,929
Default

Yes it is ripple most likely. The trim is correct but the clip will move. This has always worked this way.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 12:00 PM   #5
kpot
Senior Member
 
kpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WN, Austria
Posts: 1,056
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_SL View Post
Yes it is ripple most likely. The trim is correct but the clip will move. This has always worked this way.
But I find this behaviour not intuitiv or logic !
Especially for *newcomers* this is very confusing!

Regards kurt
kpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 12:21 PM   #6
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpot View Post
But I find this behaviour not intuitiv or logic !
Especially for *newcomers* this is very confusing!

Regards kurt
Another reason we usually advise to leave Ripple mode off.
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 12:35 PM   #7
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,929
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpot View Post
But I find this behaviour not intuitiv or logic !
Especially for *newcomers* this is very confusing!

Regards kurt
There is a setting to change the behavior. Just turn off ripple mode.
Most people EDIT this way Sync ON/ripple OFF.

A lot of people run in to trouble or get confused by ripple mode.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 08:33 AM   #8
kpot
Senior Member
 
kpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WN, Austria
Posts: 1,056
Default

Hi GV:

Thats correct - of course.

To be VERY precise:
When using ALT+M then one must have set BOTH options:

Sync ON and ripple OFF.

If Sync is OFF and using ALT+M the same strange behaviour takes place.

BTW: I never ran into this trap, but tried it after reading here in the forum.
===> IMO the forum(s) are a necessesary part of the Edius-System (SW + Help + Tutorials + Forums + ...)

Regards kurt

Addendum:
Sorry, I have to correct myself: Sometimes it works and sometimes not - and it doesnt matter what combination of Sync/Ripple ON/OFF I have selected!
There is something strange (bug?? in 6.03).
The only way to get it working correct/intuitiv/logical seems to be that one clicks at a free TL-place so the highligthed clip becomes un-higlighted
bevore using ALT+3 (or anything else).

Regards kurt

Last edited by kpot; 07-09-2011 at 01:46 PM.
kpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue about clip speed nitrococuk Editing with EDIUS 6 04-16-2010 05:03 PM
Trimming a Clip in Slip Mode jerseymike Editing with EDIUS 4 12-31-2007 08:17 PM
Solution to the 'pausing issue' when trimming clips.. Bryan Fieldhouse Editing with EDIUS 1 09-19-2007 02:05 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.