Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2016, 02:56 AM   #1
Roland Schulz
Senior Member
 
Roland Schulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 232
Default anyone using a DJI Phantom 4 Pro???

Hi there,
I'm having some annoying problems with my new Phantom 4 Pro.
Importing UHD 25p H.264 100Mbps footage works fine, but playing from the timeline always stutters after a few seconds, the screen connected to my BMD Intensity Pro 4K flickers green while playing this footage. EDIUS response to JKL shuttle is also somewhat unresponsive sometimes. After waiting some time (imported ten clips and waited about 2mins. or so), everything seems to works fine and plays without stuttering and green blinking.
I have no such problems with similar footage of my other cams like Sony alpha 6500, PXW-X70, FDR-X1000, FDR-AX53, Panasonic LX100, iPhone 6s and my former DJI Phantom 3 Pro.
Does anybody else have a P4 Pro and similar problems??
__________________
Intel i9 9900K@5.0GHz/XPX LC, ASUS MAXIMUS HERO X Z370, 32GB RAM, Samsung 850PRO 512GB/850EVO 1TB, 18TB RAID1/10, EVGA GTX1070 FTM, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, EIZO CG276, EIZO CS240, SONY KD-65ZD9, SONY PXW-X70(4K), SONY a6500, SONY RX100M5a, 2x SONY FDR-X1000, SONY FDR-AX53, DMC-LX100, GoPro HERO6, 2x GoPro HERO7 Black and HERO5 Session, DJI Ronin-S, MOZA Air Gimbal, Nikon D4, DJI, Mavic 2 Pro, DJI Phantom 4 Pro
EDIUS 9.3WG, NB Titler Pro 5, Neat Video, NB FX, Adobe CC2018
Roland Schulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 11:48 AM   #2
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 481
Default

Have you tried to preview playback in lower quality setting, say 1/2 quality rather than full.

Or could try converting a UHD 25p H.264 clip to GV HQX codec to see if that helps.
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 03:40 PM   #3
Roland Schulz
Senior Member
 
Roland Schulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peterjames View Post
Have you tried to preview playback in lower quality setting, say 1/2 quality rather than full.

Or could try converting a UHD 25p H.264 clip to GV HQX codec to see if that helps.
No help to reduce to 1/2 the resolution, still very jerky with "losts of signal" (output of IP4K flickering green).

I dont know yet who to blame, DJI since clips from other cameras are running fine or GV since a rendered clip is fine and free of any flickering or chopping.


Transcoding is no option for me.
__________________
Intel i9 9900K@5.0GHz/XPX LC, ASUS MAXIMUS HERO X Z370, 32GB RAM, Samsung 850PRO 512GB/850EVO 1TB, 18TB RAID1/10, EVGA GTX1070 FTM, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, EIZO CG276, EIZO CS240, SONY KD-65ZD9, SONY PXW-X70(4K), SONY a6500, SONY RX100M5a, 2x SONY FDR-X1000, SONY FDR-AX53, DMC-LX100, GoPro HERO6, 2x GoPro HERO7 Black and HERO5 Session, DJI Ronin-S, MOZA Air Gimbal, Nikon D4, DJI, Mavic 2 Pro, DJI Phantom 4 Pro
EDIUS 9.3WG, NB Titler Pro 5, Neat Video, NB FX, Adobe CC2018
Roland Schulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 04:24 PM   #4
Roland Schulz
Senior Member
 
Roland Schulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 232
Default

Also found the flickering seems to be caused by Intel QuickSync. When the onboard i530 graphics is deativated there is no flicker but even on my 6700K I get very bad performance. Buffer ist showing numbers on ~10 with no increase, using files from a a6500 shows much higher numbers that are increasing fast.
__________________
Intel i9 9900K@5.0GHz/XPX LC, ASUS MAXIMUS HERO X Z370, 32GB RAM, Samsung 850PRO 512GB/850EVO 1TB, 18TB RAID1/10, EVGA GTX1070 FTM, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, EIZO CG276, EIZO CS240, SONY KD-65ZD9, SONY PXW-X70(4K), SONY a6500, SONY RX100M5a, 2x SONY FDR-X1000, SONY FDR-AX53, DMC-LX100, GoPro HERO6, 2x GoPro HERO7 Black and HERO5 Session, DJI Ronin-S, MOZA Air Gimbal, Nikon D4, DJI, Mavic 2 Pro, DJI Phantom 4 Pro
EDIUS 9.3WG, NB Titler Pro 5, Neat Video, NB FX, Adobe CC2018
Roland Schulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 04:32 PM   #5
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 481
Default

Are your video clips on an internal Drive or external usb drive as external drives can cause problems with data transfer speed.

Also the GoPro codec could be another area to check. Have you looked at file properties in MediaInfo, if so a screen grab of this may help people isolate problem.

Another possible cause is filters on the clip that will slow playback down and may need render first.
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 05:43 PM   #6
Roland Schulz
Senior Member
 
Roland Schulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peterjames View Post
Are your video clips on an internal Drive or external usb drive as external drives can cause problems with data transfer speed.

Also the GoPro codec could be another area to check. Have you looked at file properties in MediaInfo, if so a screen grab of this may help people isolate problem.

Another possible cause is filters on the clip that will slow playback down and may need render first.


Everything is on internal SSD wirh no filters applied.
__________________
Intel i9 9900K@5.0GHz/XPX LC, ASUS MAXIMUS HERO X Z370, 32GB RAM, Samsung 850PRO 512GB/850EVO 1TB, 18TB RAID1/10, EVGA GTX1070 FTM, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, EIZO CG276, EIZO CS240, SONY KD-65ZD9, SONY PXW-X70(4K), SONY a6500, SONY RX100M5a, 2x SONY FDR-X1000, SONY FDR-AX53, DMC-LX100, GoPro HERO6, 2x GoPro HERO7 Black and HERO5 Session, DJI Ronin-S, MOZA Air Gimbal, Nikon D4, DJI, Mavic 2 Pro, DJI Phantom 4 Pro
EDIUS 9.3WG, NB Titler Pro 5, Neat Video, NB FX, Adobe CC2018
Roland Schulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 06:32 PM   #7
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,769
Default

What driver are you using for the Intel?
Can you post a sample of the footage?
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 10:32 PM   #8
Roland Schulz
Senior Member
 
Roland Schulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 232
Default

Hi Jerry,
Im a step further...

Im using EDIUS WG 8.31.1333 and Intel VGA driver 21.20.16.4542. Until now I encountered 0 problems with that using QuickSync. The BMD driver is 10.8.3, also no problems to see here.

I only have one file here that would be small enough for download, but with this file alone EDIUS shows no problems :-(!

Problems occour with a timeline full of files, about 1 hour.
But know something new: I wanted EDIUS to generate Proxy files, never used them before. After rendering some I found these were of to low quality (had expected FHD at least) and switched back. Everything worked "ok", performance still worse than with Sony files but no flickering any more. Even after a restart I could manage to get it "working" with switching to Proxy once and back. Curious!!
__________________
Intel i9 9900K@5.0GHz/XPX LC, ASUS MAXIMUS HERO X Z370, 32GB RAM, Samsung 850PRO 512GB/850EVO 1TB, 18TB RAID1/10, EVGA GTX1070 FTM, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, EIZO CG276, EIZO CS240, SONY KD-65ZD9, SONY PXW-X70(4K), SONY a6500, SONY RX100M5a, 2x SONY FDR-X1000, SONY FDR-AX53, DMC-LX100, GoPro HERO6, 2x GoPro HERO7 Black and HERO5 Session, DJI Ronin-S, MOZA Air Gimbal, Nikon D4, DJI, Mavic 2 Pro, DJI Phantom 4 Pro
EDIUS 9.3WG, NB Titler Pro 5, Neat Video, NB FX, Adobe CC2018
Roland Schulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 11:08 PM   #9
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,769
Default

Roland, there are 3 proxy settings for quality in 8.31.1333.
3 Proxy settings.png

Settings>System Settings>application>proxy
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 01:06 AM   #10
Roland Schulz
Senior Member
 
Roland Schulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
Roland, there are 3 proxy settings for quality in 8.31.1333.
Attachment 16592

Settings>System Settings>application>proxy
Thank You!!! Always were only on the way in user settings :-(!
But, I NEVER needed this before with very similar files, also got my project done with switching to proxy without generating files, disabled the automatic generation.
DJIs codec seems a bit "complicated" and GV...??? Working, not working, working...
__________________
Intel i9 9900K@5.0GHz/XPX LC, ASUS MAXIMUS HERO X Z370, 32GB RAM, Samsung 850PRO 512GB/850EVO 1TB, 18TB RAID1/10, EVGA GTX1070 FTM, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, EIZO CG276, EIZO CS240, SONY KD-65ZD9, SONY PXW-X70(4K), SONY a6500, SONY RX100M5a, 2x SONY FDR-X1000, SONY FDR-AX53, DMC-LX100, GoPro HERO6, 2x GoPro HERO7 Black and HERO5 Session, DJI Ronin-S, MOZA Air Gimbal, Nikon D4, DJI, Mavic 2 Pro, DJI Phantom 4 Pro
EDIUS 9.3WG, NB Titler Pro 5, Neat Video, NB FX, Adobe CC2018
Roland Schulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
movie look for Gimbal / DJI Osmo Captain Editing with EDIUS 0 11-01-2016 11:55 AM
DJI aliasing when played in Edius 8 ph19 Editing with EDIUS 21 07-11-2016 04:09 AM
DJI Osmos in Edius 8 Johann Editing with EDIUS 19 01-18-2016 09:32 PM
Phantom Audio Tracks DigitalDave Editing with EDIUS 3 09-28-2014 08:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.