Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2007, 02:20 AM   #1
Martin_Gleeson
Senior Member
 
Martin_Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 227
Default HD timeline to SD DVD - pretty bad

I'm kind of gutted here - and hoping I'm doing something wrong. I have just created my first SD DVD from a HD timeline. The footage was captured as HQ PAL 1440 x 1080i from two Canon XH A1's.
I then converted to MPEG2 SD from the Edius timeline using Procoder 3.0. My settings are attached.

The quality on the finished DVD is quite poor. I compared it to one of my SD projects which was created from a Sony V2100 (4:3).

The new 16:9 project (from the Canons) is not near as sharp and blurs much more detail. There are artifacts, "dot crawl" and so on. The 4:3 VX2100 project has much better color, is much sharper and clearer. The whole point of me getting the Canons is that I would have widescreen; and also have much higher quality source material, and thus lead to higher quality SD DVD's.

Next thing I did as an experiment was to change the output settings in Edius from HD (where the project looks fantastic) to SD output. The quality drop is far more drastic than a normal switch from HD to SD. It really is unacceptable.

Where am I going wrong? How could this (expensive) switch from SD to HD result in much poorer quality SD output.

I'm just feeling sick and depressed about this (it's the last nail in what's been a terrible few months). Have I just wasted a lot of money here?


Procoder Settings.jpg
__________________
Windows 10 Pro. Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming mainboard, Intel i7-8700K processor, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz RAM, Radeon R9 270 2GB DDR5 Graphics.
Samsung SSD Drives for system and mixture of SSD and 7200 SATA for video storage.

Edius 9.50. Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4k
Dublin, Ireland. PAL.
Martin_Gleeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 02:43 AM   #2
Angelo
Senior Member
 
Angelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 247
Default

Your settings look fine, other than I close GOP (shouldn't effect quality). I'm guessing you are using ProCoder3? Have you tried to use ProCoder2 for mepeg2 encoding?

I'm editing in SD with the DVStorm and I notice a great improvement with HDV 1440x1080 down-converted to HQ 720x480 16:9 over DV 4:3 converted to 16:9.

...Angelo
__________________
Canopus/GV: DVStorm2 w/component-out board, ADVC300, Edius 4.61, ProCoder 3.05, Imaginate2
System: MSI B75A-G43 (v2.0), i7-3770K, 4GB, HD6850, Pyro1394 pci-e, 6 Disks 2.4TB non-raid, Win7-32bit, Dell 24" & 19" LCD
Angelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 02:46 AM   #3
mattmatt
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 587
Default

Martin, that soesn't sound nice at all. But even though all seems bleek - you havn't wasted any money, or time. You're cannon's ability to shoot HDV is an investment in itself, no waste there. Your experimenting is only teaching you things you will be able to use in the future, so no waste there.

The fact that there are artifacts is alarming, especially at that bitrate. How long is the video? How complex is it (i.e. moving water? Smoke? Fire? Detailed trees?)

The things that come to mind are...

1). Try Variable bitrate (2pass, max 8kbps)
2). Is the content from both videos comparable? (no point comparing low light, in doors, to beaturiful afternoon light, out doors)
3). Do you have an older version of edius? (like 4.1xx???) try the same thing there....might be a new proplem to ad the to list of 4.5xx.

As far as I've heard, you should be getting lovely results....

Good luck!
__________________
When I go out, I wear my EDIUS T-Shirt.
mattmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 02:46 AM   #4
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

The 16x9 vs 4x3 thing you can't really get around. 16x9 DVDs will always lose some amount of sharpness because of the anamorphic nature of proper 16x9 DVD encoding. Of course it's way better than encoding a letterboxed image, but it still being horizontally stretched.

The downscaling process should result in a bit of a sharpening effect, but it can also introduce weird scaling artifacts if there's a lot of detail in the original image. That's why I sometimes recommend adding a slight blur to the image before downscaling.

The sharper and more detail there is in the original image, the more difficult it is for the encoder. That said, 7 Mbps should be providing a near visually-lossless image.

Can you post a few stills from the encoded result?
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 03:13 AM   #5
Martin_Gleeson
Senior Member
 
Martin_Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 227
Default

Hi Guys,

Thanks a lot for the replies. Just some points:

1. The DVD from the HD Canon's is a wonderful outdoor scene in bright sunlight. The one from the SD Sony is inside a bride's bedroom. The bride's room video looks much better.

2. The DVD from the Canon is much softer than the one from the SD Sony. It has trees, a pebble-dash wall and lots of cars. There is shimmering, combing and blurring whenever the camera moves.

3. I don't think it's a DVD encoding issue. When I change the Edius project to SD and output to my monitor, the quality is very poor. Much poorer than switching from a HD to SD on say cable TV.

4. The stills don't look too bad, because there is no movement.

5. I reminds me of the quality drop when try to switch a 4:3 camera to 16:9 (like the VX2100). It's a real step back from the quality I had.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro. Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming mainboard, Intel i7-8700K processor, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz RAM, Radeon R9 270 2GB DDR5 Graphics.
Samsung SSD Drives for system and mixture of SSD and 7200 SATA for video storage.

Edius 9.50. Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4k
Dublin, Ireland. PAL.
Martin_Gleeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 04:17 AM   #6
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,453
Default

Gosh,

I am sorry to hear of this situation for you Martin.

I hope this gets resolved for you and for the rest of us.

HD sounds great, but the reality is that SD DVDs will be delivered for quite some time.

From Canopus' point of view, is this atypical?

Or this an over looked topic in the enthusiasm to shoot in HD?
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 04:23 AM   #7
NHaskett
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 44
Default

Yes it all seems a bit of a problem.
I was looking at a demo of the new Sony PMW-EX1 camera which uses flash memory, yesterday. Produces a magic result but then I guess it should for $9k. Looks like I need to upgrade to a 47 inch HD LCD tv to veiw the result, and I'm waiting on the new generation of ICs to build a new editing machine with Edius NX express. As well I need to upgrade to Edius Broadcast. Then I have the problem of being over 60yo. Hmmmm

Nev
__________________
Edius 8.5, Asus P9X79-PRO, Intel i7-3820 3.6Ghz, Samsung 256Gb SSD, 16G RAM, Asus GTX560, 750w XFX psu, Win 10 64b home prem.,ASUS BW-12B1ST black writer, Rode USB Podcaster mic
NHaskett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 05:32 AM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin_Gleeson View Post
Hi Guys,

Thanks a lot for the replies. Just some points:

1. The DVD from the HD Canon's is a wonderful outdoor scene in bright sunlight. The one from the SD Sony is inside a bride's bedroom. The bride's room video looks much better.

2. The DVD from the Canon is much softer than the one from the SD Sony. It has trees, a pebble-dash wall and lots of cars. There is shimmering, combing and blurring whenever the camera moves.

3. I don't think it's a DVD encoding issue. When I change the Edius project to SD and output to my monitor, the quality is very poor. Much poorer than switching from a HD to SD on say cable TV.

4. The stills don't look too bad, because there is no movement.

5. I reminds me of the quality drop when try to switch a 4:3 camera to 16:9 (like the VX2100). It's a real step back from the quality I had.
can you upload 3 - 5 seconds of your hdv file somewhere, I will then encode it to DVD compliant file with Tmpeg4 so that you can compare

maybe this problem is only related to similar issues in 4.5, I will try it in 4.03 for you
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 08:38 AM   #9
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default HD to SD

Martin
Something is really wrong, I have been doing this for ages using Edius and Procoder 3
Cameras as below including XHA1 and HV20 which are a mega sharper than the Sony FX1 and the DVD's are definately sharper than the 4x3 I used to make from a Sony TRV900.
Coming from HDV to SD seems to just be that bit better.
Settings I use are as follows
Project HDV 1440x1080 Canopus HQ, are you using HQ or Native HDV
Pro Coder 3
the only difference to your settings are as folloows
Audio is encoded separately as Dolby ac3 256 kb
Video 2 Pass
Video Bit rate 8000
Max Bit rate 8000
Min Bit rate 0
Audio Dont use - encoded separately
Authered in DVD Lab Pro 2.3
Results are perfect - Perhaps its the Authoring program are you using Encore a friend of mine is having real problems with it regarding quality
Hope this helps
Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 09:08 AM   #10
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

One other thing Martin I use Edius as software only, I have had nothing but trouble with editing cards so will not go near them. I notice you are using EDIUS NX Express card, is there a driver problem or something wrong with the card?
Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quality of SD DVD from HD Timeline Martin_Gleeson ProCoder 3 03-05-2008 06:02 AM
HDV to SD DVD best methods and color space coversion Peterjames Editing with EDIUS 7 12-15-2007 08:10 PM
HD to first-quality SD DVD - finally! AJL14 Editing with EDIUS 3 10-20-2007 06:15 AM
HD timeline to SD DVD AJL14 Editing with EDIUS 2 09-29-2007 10:06 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.